My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

12:13 p.m. - 2008-12-19
Nobody knows the troubles I've seen
Sing along with me...boys and girls

OMG....my house is a complete disaster!

Because of the new countertops, sinks, and faucets in our two bathrooms and the kitchen, we have had to put "stuff" in the guest room and it has overflowed into the other room where I have this computer. Then we had to take everything off the counters and from under the sinks that we were using on a daily basis yesterday morning about 7:30 A.M.

The one good thing was the countertops did arrive about 9:15 A.M. and the installer started working. He worked and sawed and measured and fine-tuned for about 5 hours straight. He did a good job considering that he was working alone and had to carry the countertops back and forth from the garage where he was "tweaking" them to the room where they were going. He only hit one wall and scratched one cabinet...

Then, it was RH's (retired husband) turn. He had removed the last of the old countertops and sinks early in the morning. As it always goes, it was a real chore. About 3:00 P.M., he was trying to get all the sinks and faucets connected again.

It's so strange how having new sinks caused all the water lines and drains to MOVE out of place and then you have a real chore lining everything up. The first thing RH discovered was the kitchen sink did not have any drain covers in the bottom. There were the two holes but no hardware. He asked the countertop man about that since the countertop man helped him caulk and lift the kitchen sink into place. The man said the sink companies don't do that anymore. So off RH went to the Depot of Home looking for the drain covers and a garbage disposal cover. He came home with what he thought would work...and of course...it didn't, the supply lines were too short and other problems continued to occur.

I was not a big help - according to RH - so I just listened while he ranted and then left the room quietly when I could make my escape! He called me back into the room a few times to hand him some tools. It isn't easy to be wedged under a small space on the floor trying to connect lines when RH can't move his shoulders.

RH then decided he would try to get one of the bathrooms completed so we could at least wash our faces and brush our teeth. But, that didn't go so well either. By this time, it was almost 7:00 P.M. We were both tired and hungry so we ate sandwiches AGAIN, took showers (Thank goodness we still had water in the shower) and decided to call it a day and retreat to the television.

Because of the time of the year, there is little on TV except reruns so that didn't make the evening much better.

And RH had just received a new computer and wanted so much to get into it....but he decided to wait until he has plenty of time to do that too.

I finished reading The Story of Edgar Sawtelle and watched Top Chef, Iron Chef and LA Ink. By then I had a headache from the fumes of the stuff used on the countertops to seal them, the dust and sawdust that is all over the house and just being tired from having stuff all over....for 5 whole weeks.

We went to bed and started again this morning. RH has already been to the Depot of Home to exchange the supply lines, get other necessary stuff and to return one of the new bathroom sinks because it had a chip in it!

Luckily they had another bathroom sink in stock and he is back at it again. He is currently working on the kitchen sink. He has the faucets and sprayer on, the garbage disposal is connected and he is running the supply lines and whatever else is under there. Of course, we haven't turned on the water yet!!!!!

Once that is done, hopefully, I can start putting the kitchen back in order. Nope, wait a minute, he has to put some trim on the walls where the countertops are because the old trim came off when he removed the old counters...and he has to figure out how to cover about 2 inches of space where the new countertop doesn't cover the top of the dishwasher. Arrgh!

I have some Christmas snacks to prepare and both of us are so tired of seeing everything all over the house. It seems like debris gets tracked in from one end to the other.

I started the laundry, took the Christmas wrapping paper and bows and all Christmas related stuff back downstairs. I have checked the small number of gifts I wrapped to be sure I have them all in order for Christmas. I can't vacuum or clean the bathrooms yet because of all the remaining work RH will be doing. The whole house is covered with sawdust and stuff that has been falling off shoes and boxes and everything that has been moved and moved again.

Why I thought having new countertops and faucets and sinks was a great idea, I don't know. It definitely is not a job to be done during the holidays. Of course, it was supposed to be done almost two weeks ago but you know how that always works out.

Back again.... we just tested the kitchen sink...so far no leaks, water comes out where it is supposed to, the sprayer works as does the garbage disposal. Only one teeny little problem.....the hot and cold water supply lines are switched.... I told RH it is FINE just the way it is.....it's our little secret...!

I know in the grand scheme of things, this is not a real problem...it's just an annoyance. We have our home, our family, a Christmas gathering planned and life is really very good.

I hope you were not bored with reading this but RH loves it when I talk about him in my blog so....

THIS ONE'S FOR YOU......RETIRED HUSBAND! Thank you for all the hard work you do to make our lives better.

Have a great weekend.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!