My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:56 p.m. - 2008-12-21
You can't fool Mother Nature


Happy Sunday.....the holidays are getting closer and closer. I hope you are ready.

So, kids.... RH (Retired Husband) worked so hard and for so long but we do have water hooked up. In one place, we have a little too much water but RH is fixing that...if you get my hint.... a teeny, tiny leak under his side of our double sink countertop.

Actually, he thinks it is just a bad washer, RH said...so no problem! I think RH must have made a minimum of 6 trips to the Depot of Home or Lowe's on Friday. He worked about 12 hours on all those sinks, and supply lines and so on. Not to mention that he worked about 6 hours on Thursday too.

We both have been exhausted trying to get things back in place and working again. I was on my feet for about 4 hours yesterday alone putting things back where they were before....and of course, I couldn't remember where some of the stuff had been before the big countertop changes.

Needless to say, we made a huge deposit at GoodWill when we were done. I finally gave up a lot of my stuff that I have been holding onto for a long time. It's amazing how much we can cram under the sinks and forget we have. It was sort of like we added water and it grew and grew and grew. LOL...a plumbing joke!!!

Ok, on to other subjects.
******

I finished another book yesterday....SPEAK SOFTLY, SHE CAN HEAR by Pam Lewis. Let me just say that I sat up until 1:00 A.M. to finish it. It's a story of a young woman who is profoundly affected by keeping a secret.... If you want to know the secret, you will have to read the book!!!

My next book selection is ANOTHER MOTHER'S LIFE by Rowan Coleman. I hope to start reading it today.

Tomorrow and Tuesday, I have some Christmas snacks to prepare for Christmas Eve and Christmas morning. Of course, one of the recipes is the famous Chex mix. I add M&Ms and salted peanuts to it. OMG, it is so good and so addictive. I LOVE IT!

I am also making a chocolate Chex mix. Did you know that Chex now has a chocolate flavored cereal?

There is a recipe on the box..

1/4 cup butter or margarine

2 tablespoons sugar

1 chocolate Chex Latte flavored blend pouch (in the box)

In large microwavable bowl, melt the butter 20 to 30 seconds. Stir in sugar and seasoning packet and microwave 45 seconds....

4-1/2 cups Chocolate Chex

3 cups microwave popcorn (popped)

1 cup pretzel sticks

and optional is 1/2 cup slivered almonds*.

Stir in the cereal, popcorn, pretzels and almonds. Microwave for 2 minutes, stirring after first minute. Spread on paper towels to cool and then store in tightly covered container.

This makes 18 -1/2 cup servings. 100 calories per serving, 5 mg. of cholesterol.

OR you can make peanut and chocolate chex bars..

4 cups of chocolate Chex

1/2 cup salted peanuts

1/2 cup light corn syrup

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1/4 cup M&Ms

Butter bottom and sides of 9 in. square pan or use cooking spray.

Mix cereal and peanuts in large bowl

Heat corn syrup and sugar, stirring constantly just to boiling, remove from heat, stir in peanut butter until smooth.

Pour over cereal mixture and stir until evenly coated. Stir in candy and press firmly into pan. Allow to cool for one hour and cut into bars. Store loosely covered.

Makes 24 bars if cut into 6 rows of 4 bars each.

1 bar is 120 calories and 0 cholesterol.

Here are a couple of non-christmasy jokes.

This guy was lonely and so he decided life would be more fun if he had a pet. He went to the pet store and told the owner that he wanted to buy an unusual pet. After some discussion he
finally bought a centipede, (100 leg bug), which came in a little white box
to use for his house. He took the box home, found a good location for
the box, and decided he would start off by taking his new pet to the bar for a drink.

So he asked the centipede in the box, 'Would you like to go to Frank's place with me and have a beer?' Silence; there was no answer from his new Pet. This bothered him a bit, waited a few minutes and then asked him again, 'How about going to the bar and having a beer with me?'
Again there was no answer, nothing but silence came from his new friend and pet. So he waited a few minutes more, thinking about the situation.

He decided to ask him one more time. This time putting his face
up against the centipede's house and shouting, 'Hey, in there! Would you like to go to Frank's place and have a beer with me?

A little voice came out of the box:

'I heard you the first time ! I'm putting my damn shoes on!'

::snicker::
GOTTA LOVE LITTLE BOYS

Two young boys walked into a pharmacy one day, picked out a box of tampons and proceeded to the checkout counter.
The man at the counter asked the older boy, "Son, how old are you?"
Eight," the boy replied.
The man continued, "Do you know what these are used for?"
The boy replied, "Not exactly, but they aren't for me. They're for him. He's my brother. He's four. We saw on TV that if you use these you would be able to swim and ride a bike. Right now, he can't do either one."

*****

Next posting, I should have pictures of the new countertops available. RH is now trying to get about 6 inches of ice off our driveway. While he was working inside, Mother Nature was working outside and he is trying to catch up with her.

RH is back inside...so far Mother Nature is winning.

****
Ok, we just made a run to Meijer's superstore. We bought $30 worth of concentrated ice melter so RH can get the ice ruts off the driveway before we have our next snowstorm. We also bought some additional food products so I can make Christmas morning brunch....and a few misc. items. A grand total of over $88..... And I thought we were cutting back this holiday.

Have a great day.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!