My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:26 p.m. - 2008-12-16
BOOKS

SO MANY BOOKS, SO LITTLE TIME.

I am addicted to reading~! I love to read~!

I can remember how excited I was when I was told that "I" could have my own library card when I was about 8 years old. I remember practicing to neatly print so that I could fill out the library card information and receive my very first library card. That was probably over 55 years ago.

Yes, KIDS, there were real libraries back then....with books in them!

I can remember in 3rd or 4th grade that we had reading time in the library at least once a week. I could often reread one book over and over. I can't remember the title but it was about 2 sisters who were orphaned. One was like Rose White and the other was like Rose Red.


They were twins but they were different in coloring, hair color, favorite clothing. I just loved their names.....Tricia and Tracy. It was then that I knew I would have twin daughters some day and those were the names I would choose. Tricia was like Patricia which was my mother's name and Tracy was close to my name...Terri.

Of course, I married a man whose last name would have been perfect for those names but we never had twins and we never had daughters..... ::sigh::

So anyway...that began my love of reading and to this day, I can't wait to go to the library. Just walking in and seeing all the possibilities....all those books, all those words...all those places to visit and things to ponder and lives to live by reading.... It just makes me so happy!

I took all my previous books back to my favorite library branch last September. This particular branch is having a new library built. Therefore, although the old library is still open...the parking was moved into a dirt area and it was a long walk to the library. Since we were leaving on a 3 week vacation at that time, I didn't check out any books.

When we returned from our vacation; we were busy getting things put away and then we started the countertop plans and I just didn't go back to the library. Finally, I realized that my mood was crabby and I was restless. I did read a huge stack of magazines until it got to the point that I didn't want to read magazines any longer.

I needed big books, lots of pages, stories to get into, imagination to start working again, picturing the people's faces and their lives and their decisions. My own little fantasy world....

So, yesterday I went back to the library branch. I walked in and it was like I had never been away. All my favorite little nooks and crannies to check out.... I did....and it was good!

In about 10 minutes, I had checked out 6 books.

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

The Friday Night Knitting Club

A Gentle Rain

Another Mother's Life

The Hour I First Believed

Speak Softly, She Can Hear You.....

****

Reading can be sooooo relaxing....
You are never too young.....or too old to read.

In the 3 months I was away from the library, I made a list of 38 books that I want to read and added that 38 to the other list of 60 I already had made.

I hope you have a good book to read tonight too.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!