My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:28 p.m. - 2008-12-14
Dreaming of a white christmas?
Happy Sunday! It's just a few more days until Christmas. Are you ready? I THINK I am.

Yesterday RH (retired husband) and I decided we were going to do the inside Christmas decorating. We picked a spot in the living room. He brought up the tree and we started bringing up the boxes...all of the boxes...OMG...how did we get so many boxes...!!!

We put our tree up near the TV area.

I have red lights on the tree and mostly Santas and angels on it. I do have a few ornaments that have special meaning to me on the tree as well. I have 5 little gold-colored ornaments that I bought when we got married, some Santa bells that my mother had and an old faded and discolored reindeer that belonged to my mother as well. I used to also collect "couples".... a male and female mouse dressed up, or a cowboy and cowgirl to represent RH and myself. After we had our son, I looked for 3 piece sets. I have given some of those 3 piece sets to my son and DIL.

Also, we put up a collection of angels and another collection of Santas on our dry sink and on our hutch. Not to mention all the "stuff" that gets placed out on the end tables. I usually keep the Christmas decor mostly in the living room and part of the dining area. But I do have a set of Christmas towels and a teddy bear and a couple other things that I put in the bathroom. Since we still don't have our countertops, I am waiting to decorate the bathroom closer to the big day...so I won't have to move everything IF the countertops are installed.

My son and DIL came by yesterday while we were decorating. RH has asked me for years to go through the Christmas boxes and get rid of things I don't want any more. I did that a couple of years ago and my DIL took most of it. Since we seem to have less room and RH was anxious to cut down; I filled a couple more boxes with items. Lots of stuffed animals for the holidays. I used to put them on the steps to the 2nd level of our previous home. Now I don't have a second level so no place for the animals. I thought our son and DIL might want them for their new grandson.

I gave our son the navitity scene that one of his grandmothers had made in 1974 in ceramics class. He recalled that he used to be the one to arrange it for display. And that made me remember that he used to move the camels and donkeys and wise men and shepherds every few days. What a nice memory to recall.

It only took about 3 hours to get all the stuff out and arranged. Now it looks like Christmas inside. Outside it is cold and drab and wet. We had a lot of snow last month and earlier this month. Now, it is just ugly and bleak and chilly.

Speaking of cats and Christmas.....or weren't we?

Anyway, we have been fairly lucky with our cats and the tree and the decor. They usually don't do more than knock a few ornaments off the lower part of the tree. So, I put nonbreakable ornaments there. They like to go behind the tree and take a nap on the tree skirt or watch each other. Guess they think they are invisible back there. Since we have an artificial tree, there is no water to get spilled and I don't think they are drawn to the scent of the dusty tree as they might be to a real tree that they could use as a scratching post.

*****

Miss Beatrice, the church organist, was in her eighties and
had never been married. She was admired for her sweetness and kindness
to all.

One afternoon the pastor came to call on her and she showed
him into her quaint sitting room. She invited him to have a seat while
she prepared tea.

As he sat facing her old Hammond organ, the young minister
noticed a cut-glass bowl sitting on top of it. The bowl was filled with
water, and in the water floated, of all things, a condom!

When she returned with tea and scones, they began to chat.
The pastor tried to stifle his curiosity about the bowl of water and its
strange floater, but soon it got the better of him and He could no
longer resist. 'Miss Beatrice', he said, 'I wonder if you would tell me
about this?' pointing to the bowl.

'Oh, yes,' she re plied, 'Isn't it wonderful? I was walking
through the Park a few months ago and I found this little package on the
ground. The directions said to place it on the organ, keep it wet and
that it would prevent the spread of disease. Do you know I haven't had
the flu all winter.'

****

It's a romantic full moon, when Pedro said, "Hey, mamacita, let's do Weeweechu."

Oh no, not now, let's look at the moon!" said Rosita.

Oh, c'mon baby, let's you and I do Weeweechu. I love you and it's the perfect time," Pedro begged.

"But I wanna just hold your hand and watch the moon." replied Rosita.

Please, corazoncito, just once, do Weeweechu with me."

Rosita looked at Pedro and said, "OK, one time, we'll do Weeweechu."

Pedro grabbed his guitar and they both sang.....

"Weeweechu a Merry Christmas,

Weeweechu a Merry Christmas,

Weeweechu a Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year."

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!