My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:37 p.m. - 2005-07-27
Time is wasting

Tuesday, July 26, 2005

Currently Reading
Walking with Her Daughter
By Jessica Barksdale Inclan


I am reading an very interesting book. Walking with Her Daughter. It just happens to be about a woman who loses her college age daughter in a foreign country. There is a bomb set off in a local bar/restaurant and her daughter is killed. It made me think of the Aruba situation, of course. How horrific it must be to lose your child.

All of us grow up losing favorite aunts and uncles and of course, our wonderful grandparents. Some of us never even knew the grandparents before they passed away. And, we know that some day we will lose our own parents too.

When you get to the point that you are the oldest one in your family of siblings, it makes you think about how much time you really have left in this world. It makes me want to reconnect with a sister who has withdrawn herself from the rest of us sisters. I have always tried to keep in touch with her. She doesn't live very far away from me, just a couple of hours drive. Most recently she has stopped communicating for about a year and a half. I often think of driving up to her high-rise apt and asking the doorman to ring her apt. But I always chicken out because I don't want to be turned away by her. Please, if any of you have estranged family members, think about trying to reconnect. No matter what the cause was that put a wedge between you....it isn't worth losing them to realize how much you miss them. That is the latest thing I have written to this sister that I don't want to have her see me next when I am gone and she might attend my funeral.

Getting back to losing a child...I have one grown son and I can't imagine what it must be like to lose your child before he or she has had time to have a real life. I would always wonder what would have become of them, what career would they have chosen?. Would they be married, have children, become famous or very sucessful or live in the same town they grew up in? What would their interests be, would they have artistic or musical talent? What would our relationship be as I grew older?

Lots of thoughts and I haven't even finished the book.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!