My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

12:22 p.m. - 2005-07-29
Too Many Books, So Little Time
What makes you select a book to read?

Do you base your decision on the type of book you like; biography, auto-biography, non-fiction, the subject matter, fiction, science fiction, fantasy, humor, mystery, photographs, self-help, decorating?

Do you look at the author's name and if you recognize it; you immediately know you will like or dislike the book? Do you go by the cover; whether it appeals to you? What about the title, does it attract your interest? Maybe you read the little blurb on the inside cover or on the back? Does it get you wondering what about the rest of the story?

OR, are you one of those people who READS THE ENDING FIRST? I just can't do that. The only time I have skipped to the ending is when the book was due at the library and it wasn't interesting enough to renew but I was curious to know how it turned out.

Are you a book addict? Do you have to buy books everytime you go to a store where books are displayed? Is the closest Barnes & Noble or Borders your best place to spend time. Do the clerks know you by your first name? Maybe you are like me, and get all your reading material from the local library or as hand-me-downs from friends and relatives.

By the way, when I recently visited my sister in Texas. We went to a $1 - $2 book store and I actually (gasp!) bought $8. worth of books. She must have put a literary spell on me. LOL

I love reading. I read almost every day. I eat on my lunch break at work. I read on the weekends. Sometimes I read while I am watching tv. I do read during the commercials... Reading is part of my DNA. My mother loved to read, all my sisters love to read, my son loves to read, my niece & nephew love to read so it had to be in the genes.

What better way to escape your own life for a few hours? Do you picture yourself as the main character in the book? Are you just an observer? Do you "hear" the words being spoken in your head as if someone were reading them outloud? Do you think about people you know in real life or on Tv or the movies as the characters and hear the dialog being spoken in their voices? I guess you can figure out that I have done all of the above when I read.

Maybe that is why I also love journaling. I get to read my own thoughts and I get to read about other peoples lives and their thoughts too.

Well, now that I have teased myself about reading...I must go READ!!!

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!