My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:19 p.m. - 2008-12-03
OOPS, THEY DID IT AGAIN!!!

If you want to see the pictures I copied for this blog - please go on
google.com, put in myseniormoments and click. That is my blog site on Xanga.com.

*****
I have a RANT to share... Oh....Yes, I do.....

You know, Kids..... Computers are wonderful things. They provide companionship to people who can't get out for various reasons....illness...the cost of gasoline...responsibilities at home. Computers bring the world to us with just a touch or two of the keys. We can read about subjects that interest us, we can learn more about ourselves and our planet, the world and people. We can communicate quickly via e-mails and blogs, of course. We can look for pictures and jokes and cartoons to amuse us. Yes, computers are good.

BUT....and you KNEW there would be a but, didn't you? Yes, you did!

I have a confession to make. Years ago, when my MIL was in a nursing home; we got a subscription to a gossip magazine so she would have something to look at and read that wasn't too technical. And, I decided to have it delivered to my house so it wouldn't get taken from her before she could read it. Even though she has passed away, I continued to get this magazine.

THE NATIONAL ENQUIRER..... And....yes, I know it is a stupid thing to read but I do.

I like the pictures.....LOL! Anyhow, I do enjoy seeing the pictures of the celebrities and reading some of the silliness that they get involved in....and you know...sometimes the National Enquirer really DOES have a story that comes out well before the regular media broadcasts it but I digress......

Occasionally, there is a really stupid story about someone who lived in another country.....usually England for some unknown reason....and it really is way over the top.

So, I just finished reading the issue for December 8th and there is a story that I HAVE to pass on.

After you read it, just tell me....Am I crazy to think this is probably the epitome of ignorance?

Here goes....

There is a cyber place where people go to have an alternate life. They chose their "alter egos" and live a life in whatever way they wish. The site is called SECOND LIFE.

Apparently this cyber site is one of the most popular among adults. You can create your new life, run a business, meet all types of people and have virtual control over most of what happens. All you need to do is join...
and create your avatar. Apparently it is quite popular with over 300,000 members. It is more advanced than THE SIMS.

According to some of the information about Second Life, your avatar arrives dressed in jeans and a white t-shirt and then you can start choosing how you wish to look and dress.


Now, I have no problem with this. It might be fun and I am sure most of the people involved enjoy their time playing fantasy games. It might even be therapeutic for those who are very shy and frightened of venturing out into the real world. It might give them a chance to practice how they would behave or react to real life situations. It might help people find a way to reach some real life goals and figure out what career path they want to follow.

But, this is what is just making me crazy... I have copied this article off the Internet because, apparently, this IS a huge story and wasn't made up by the National Enquirer.

****

"As relationships go in the wired world, it�s been a weird week.

Real-life husband and wife, Dave Pollard and Amy Taylor, of Newquay, Cornwall - who originally met in virtual online world, Second Life - divorced after Mr Pollard was caught having cyber sex (to be precise, his Second Life persona and avatar, Dave Barmy, was) with another virtual person. For those who haven�t experienced Second Life, divorce might seem a bit extreme, as amorous avatar-ing is about as physical as a saucy text message, if not less so.

But activities in virtual worlds, like Second Life, are becoming increasingly a part of people�s lives. Think 3-D chatroom, which allows you to bump into a myriad of other virtual people seeking virtual fun. And- literally -whatever you want to do...., you CAN... in Second Life, without suffering any of the ill after-effects (or so Mr Pollard thought)."

*****


This is a picture of the avatars.....Modesty McDonnell, a hostess in a cyber nightclub and
Dave Barmy - the alter ego of David Pollard.

Amy Pollard also had an avatar named Laura Skye. They had a virtual wedding of Laura...I mean, Amy's dreams. After the avatars were married in virtual life, Dave had other "affairs" with other virtual female avatars. Laura got upset, hired a virtual attorney and the entire sordid virtual cheating story was revealed....

****

Laura Skye married to Dave Barmy who cheated with Modesty McDonnell

So, Laura divorced Dave and Amy Pollard divorced David Pollard because he cheated.... Huh?

In real life, David is 40 years old, 6' tall, weighs 360 lbs and is an unemployed computer junkie. Amy is 28 years old, 5'4" tall, and weighs 225 lbs and is also unemployed. They live on Welfare in England. They met via a Web site chat room. Amy knew that David had been involved with a cyber hooker (yes, cyber) before they got married. They got married soon after that. They spent hours apart in their home. They used their avatars to communicate via the virtual world instead of having a real conversation with each other in their real life.

Amy said. "I could tell by the way DAVE (the avatar) was dressing that he was trying to impress other women. His trousers were becoming tight and he was unbuttoning his shirts to reveal his chest and stomach. Then when he started to go country and western dancing...that's when my suspicions really started to grow."

REMEMBER....... THIS IS THE AVATAR SHE IS TALKING ABOUT!!!!!!

One night Amy caught the avatar, Dave Barmy, with his cyber pants down with another avatar, Modesty McDonnell.


She said, "I walked into the room and on the computer was Dave having sex with Modesty. My head started to spin and I thought I was going to be sick! David (the real husband) turned off the computer but there was no denying what had happened.:"

"I started yelling at him, saying that he had betrayed me. He tried to tell me that it was only a game but it wasn't. I screamed and cried all night long. I knew I could never trust him again."

David, in his own defense said "Amy never did anything with me. She didn't do anything around the house. She played World of Warcraft all the time. I just needed some company."

The avatar, Modesty McDonnell was created by Linda Brinkley, 55 years old mother of 4 in Arkansas.

David told Amy that he had fallen in love on Second Life and that was why the avatar Dave Barmy fell in love with Modesty. He confessed he had been talking to Linda Brinkley for a couple of weeks. They are continuing a romance through the avatars, Dave and Modesty. The real people, David and Linda talk on the phone about 2 hours every night. Linda is also unemployed and has been married twice. She is working on a online degree in religious studies. (Yes, that's right........... RELIGIOUS STUDIES!)

Amy Pollard ended the interview with this. "I've felt so much better since I bought my avatar, Laura Skye an online divorce. Now all I need is my real life divorce for my happiness to be complete"

Here's what David and Amy Pollard look like in real life.

So........is it just ME or is this just S.T.U.P.I.D.????

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!