My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

12:06 p.m. - 2008-09-28
Sunday stuff.....
Sunday, September 28, 2008


RH (Retired Husband) told me he has had enough of this. He is tired of it all and can't stand by watching anymore. He has done all he can and doesn't have any more answers to the problem. He is feeling bad about the whole situation and just can't take it. He is concerned that our friends and neighbors might think he has been hurting me and he is going to put a stop to it once and for all.

So he made a decision.....


Yes, I am going to be the proud owner of an adult 3 wheeled bicycle.....with a basket, I might add!

OK, OK.............YES. IT IS A TRICYCLE!!!!

RH felt that falling 8 times in 4 rides on the 2 wheeler is just too much. I have to admit I was starting to have anxiety attacks when I was on the bike because I was afraid I was going to fall when I had to stop! The last 4 falls within one ride were really the worst. I have 3 black and blue toes with bruising that continues onto of the top of my left foot....I have a painful rib area on the left side and I have a sore spot on my head so I must have hit it also when I fell. Thankfully, I fell on some grass at the side of the bicycle path.

I never thought it would be so hard to get back on a bicycle. I guess the fact that I hadn't ridden a bicycle for over 30 years had a lot to do with it. And, as I was analyzing what the problem was....I realized I have had a balance problem for a few years and also have weaker lower legs so I just couldn't rely on my left foot to stand on when I was braking. Maybe it would have been easier if I had hand brakes on the 2 wheeler but we won't know.

We gave the 2 wheeler to my DIL who is thrilled ....and much younger! Now she can ride or one of our granddaughters can ride.

I should have the new bicycle next week. I understand there will be a little adjustment in turning and stopping because of the 3 wheels but......if a toddler can ride a tricycle, I should be able to also!

According to the advertisement....

"Just the ticket for an enterprising new rider or a cyclist revisiting the freedom of his or her youth, the Westport adult tricycle is sturdy, comfortable, and a surefire attention getter. The Westport boasts a strong steel frame with a low step-through design for easy mounting, along with a suspension fork that cushions the ride when you encounter bumps.

The handy cargo basket is great for transporting groceries.
Even better, it's easy to reacquaint yourself with the wonders of a tricycle thanks to the super-stable three-wheeled design. And when you're not out enjoying your trike, the well-engineered frame folds up for easy storage, so you won't have to clear a ton of extra space in your garage.

Riders will love the extra-wide, comfortable seat, which is ideal for long, lazy afternoons, and the upright handlebars, which you can adjust to your preferred position. Best of all, the Westport comes with a handy cargo basket safely tucked behind the rider for hauling along all types of cargo--from groceries to school supplies to a small suitcase. Other details include strong linear pull brakes to handle the stopping, 20-inch wheels, and a front fender. There's no better way to have fun, get valuable exercise, or visit a friend's house.

It does make me feel older but maybe I will become the talk of the neighborhood in my cute little blue bicycle!

***
In other news, what did you think of the debate last week? I thought both candidates made some good points but I do think one of them sounded much more like the leader I would want to head my country. He was confident and thought-filled. I think the next debate with the VP candidates is going to really make a huge impact. Knowing that one of the VP candidates "could" have to make some very tough decisions is going to make me consider strongly which party I will be casting my vote towards.
***

RH and I have been told that our granddaughter is now engaged to her baby's father. They are planning a wedding in late January, 2009. He is in the National Guard and will be deployed to Afghanistan in May. I think we will all be relieved when they are married and have made some firm commitments to each other. Not to mention, it will be good for the baby to have both parents together. I suspect there has been a lot of growing up going on since Michael Alexander was born in late August. There is going to be even more maturity required in a short time now. It won't be easy for them, especially when A. is shipped out. We wish them all lots of blessings and good things.

***

Our hummingbird feeder has sprung a leak! Of course, RH was worried if any hummingbirds were still around and came to feed, we wouldn't have a feeder for them. So....off we went to the store and bought another feeder. It's a little different from the original but we think it will do the trick. We did see a hummingbird fly by yesterday so I think one is still in our area.
***

We had another nice surprise on our front porch yesterday morning. Our neighbors left 2 burgundy colored mum plants for us. RH often mows their lawn or does other little things to help them out. They are in their late 70's and have had quite a few medical problems this past year so RH tries to help them when he can.

***

RH has put the feeder up so I need to have some "porch time" with him. Hope your Sunday is wonderful.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!