My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

12:40 p.m. - 2007-04-21
COUNT YOUR BLESSINGS!!!!
Saturday, April 21, 2007

and so the theme today is ......

BLESSINGS.....

SO, I was driving Miss Daisy..... with the daisy wheels. (my new VW Beetle convertible and thinking, I really have a lot to be thankful for and I am blessed.

I have my new car with the cute little daisy wheels....a real attraction to some people.

I have a lovely home which is paid for and furniture to fit our wants and needs.

I have a wonderful husband of 42 years who is very good to me.

I am so lucky that he is able to work just 4 days a week so we can spend three days a week together and he still gets all his benefits from his job.

I have a son who is married to a wonderful woman....someone we would have picked ourselves.

Our daughter in law loves us very much and has become such a special member of our family.

I have two step-grand daughters who are both unique and special in their own way.

I am retired and able to do just about anything I want.

I have two great sisters who I love very much and visit about once a year.

I have three cats who are each different in their personalities and make me smile and sometimes laugh every day.

I have enough money to have what we want and need.

I am going on a 3 week vacation very soon and will be visiting Alaska on a cruise ship.

I live in a state where we have all four seasons and sometimes all four of them in the same day!

I have access to a wondeful library and can read to my heart's content.

I am fortunate to be healthy at this time and able to do most anything I wish.

I will be taking better care of myself so the future is just as bright.

I am happy that today is Saturday and the weekend is predicted to be warm and sunny.

I am lucky that nearly every day is Saturday for me because I am retired.

I am happy to have special blogger friends to remind me of how lucky I am.

and

I have jokes....


For the politically correct....

Hurricane names coming at you again .

Well, it appears our African American friends have found something else to be pissed about. A black congresswoman from Houston (Sheila Jackson Lee) reputedly complained that the names of hurricanes are all Caucasian sounding names. She would prefer some names that reflect African-American culture such as Chamiqua, Tanisha, Woeisha, Shaqueal, and Jamal. She would also like the weather reports to be broadcast in language that street people can understand.

Can you hear it now coming?

A Weatherman in Houston says,... -Wordup, Muthas! Hehr-i-cane Chamiqua be headin' fo' yo ass like Leroy on a crotch rocket! Bitch be a category fo'! So, turn off dem chitlins, grab yo' chirren, leave yo' crib, and head fo' de nearest government office fo' yo' FREE shit.
^^^^^^^

An old southern country preacher had a teenage son, and it was getting time the boy should give some thought to choosing a profession.
Like many young men, the boy didn't really know what he wanted to do, and he didn't seem too concerned about it.

One day, while the boy was away at school, his father decided to try an experiment. He went into the boy's room and placed on his study table four objects: a Bible, a silver dollar, a bottle of whisky and a Playboy magazine. "I'll just hide behind the door," the old preacher said to himself, "when he comes home from school this afternoon, I'll see which object he picks up. If it's the Bible, he's going to be a preacher like me, and what a blessing that would be! If he picks up the dollar, he's going to be a businessman, and that would be okay, too. But if he picks up the bottle, he's going to be a no-good drunkard, and, Lord, what a shame that would be. And worst of all, if he picks up that magazine he's gonna be a skirt-chasin' bum."

The old man waited anxiously, and soon heard his son's footsteps as he entered the house whistling and headed for his room. The boy tossed his books on the bed, and as he turned to leave the room he spotted the objects on the table. With curiosity in his eye, he walked over to inspect them. Finally, he picked up the Bible and placed it under his arm. He picked up the silver dollar and dropped it into his pocket. He uncorked the bottle and took a big drink while he admired this month's Centerfold.
"Lord have mercy," the old preacher disgustedly whispered, "he's gonna be a Congressman!"

^^^^^^

There will only be 49 contestants in the Miss Black America Contest this year, because no one wants to wear the banner that says, IDAHO.

^^^^^

HOW DO YOU DECIDE WHO TO MARRY? (written by kids)
>
>You got to find somebody who likes the same stuff. Like, if you like sports, she should like it that you like sports, and she should keep the chips and dip coming.
>-- Alan, age 10
>
>No person really decides before they grow up who they're going to marry. God decides it all way before, and you get to find out later who you're stuck with.
>-- Kristen, age 10
>
>WHAT IS THE RIGHT AGE TO GET MARRIED?
>Twenty-three is the best age because you know the person FOREVER by then.
>-- Camille, age 10
>
>HOW CAN A STRANGER TELL IF TWO PEOPLE ARE MARRIED?
You might have to guess, based on whether they seem to be yelling at the same kids.
>-- Derrick, age 8
>
>WHAT DO YOU THINK YOUR MOM AND DAD HAVE IN COMMON?
>Both don't want any more kids.
>-- Lori, age 8
>
>WHAT DO MOST PEOPLE DO ON A DATE?
>Dates are for having fun, and people should use them to get to know each other. Even boys have something to say
if you listen long enough.
>-- Lynnette, age 8
>
>On the first date, they just tell each other lies and that usually gets them interested enough to go for a second date.
>-- Martin, age 10
>
>WHAT WOULD YOU DO ON A FIRST DATE THAT WAS TURNING SOUR?
>I'd run home and play dead. The next day I would call all the newspapers and make sure they wrote about me in all the dead columns.
>-- Craig, age 9
>
>WHEN IS IT OKAY TO KISS SOMEONE?
>When they're rich.
>-- Pam, age 7
>
>The law says you have to be eighteen, so I wouldn't want to mess with that.
>- - Curt, age 7
>
>The rule goes like this: If you kiss someone, then you should marry them and have kids with them. It's the right
thing to do.
>-- Howard, age 8
>
>IS IT BETTER TO BE SINGLE OR MARRIED?
>It's better for girls to be single but not for boys. Boys need someone to clean up after them.
>-- Anita, age 9 (bless you child)
>
>HOW WOULD THE WORLD BE DIFFERENT IF PEOPLE DIDN'T GET MARRIED?
>
>There sure would be a lot of kids to explain, wouldn't there?
>-- Kelvin, age 8
>
>And the #1 Favorite is........
>HOW WOULD YOU MAKE A MARRIAGE WORK?
>Tell your wife that she looks pretty, even if she looks like a dump truck.
>-- Ricky, age 10

****
Please link on this...it's wonderful.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xgHmSdpjEIk

There is an awesome dance, called the Thousand-Hand Guanyin, which is making the rounds across the net. Considering the tight coordination required, their accomplishment is nothing short of amazing, even if they were not all deaf. Yes, you read correctly. All 21 of the dancers are deaf. Relying only on signals from trainers at the four corners of the stage, these extraordinary dancers deliver a visual spectacle that is at once intricate and stirring. Its first major international debut was in Athens at the closing ceremonies for the 2004 Paralympics. But it had long been in the repertoire of the Chinese Disabled People's Performing Art Troupe and had traveled to more than 40 countries. Its lead dancer is 29 year old Tai Lihua, who has a BA from the Hubei Fine Arts Institute. The video was recorded in Beijing during the Spring Festival Celebrations this year.

^^^^

Today I hope YOU can count some blessings in your life too!


analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!