My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

12:36 p.m. - 2006-10-15
EVERYTHING AND NUTHIN'
Saturday, October 14, 2006

Currently Reading
Roseborough
By Jane Roberts Wood


THIS ENTRY IS ABOUT EVERYTHING AND NUTHIN'

It's a beautiful October afternoon, a bit cool but sunny. The breezes are blowing the leaves off the trees and soon our yard will be covered again.

The autumn leaves have not been as brilliantly colored as in years past...

I sometimes wonder how the leaves can be such a contrast to the normal greens of spring and summer. When we lived in the country, we had some gorgeous golden and red leaves. When it rained just a little, it looked like a technicolor painting.

Of course, after enjoying all the beauty of the leaves, then they have to be raked away....


I know we all "enjoy" this part of Autumn. Raking and bagging and dragging and then hoping the leaves will stay at the curb long enough for them to be picked up by the Street Dept.


####

Today, my husband and his friend put up our new posts on our porch. They didn't have any trouble and it didn't take as long as they had planned. I want to put some mums out for decoration but I haven't found any at the price I want to pay.

#####

I got notice that Social Security does have all my paperwork so my first check will be direct deposited in our account on the 3rd week of February, 2007. Wow, that just doesn't seem possible. As I had mentioned before, my husband is going to continue to work (for 32 hours per week) starting in January, 2007, in order for us to keep our medical insurance.

####

And....now we qualify in some places as Senior Citizens and get 10% off our meals. LOL

####
I bought a crock pot last week. I haven't had one for years so I bought it......because it was on sale...

####
Dusting

Remember...a layer of dust protects the Wood beneath it.

"A house becomes a home when you can write "I love you" on the furniture."

I can't tell you how many countless hours that I have spent CLEANING!

I used to spend at least 8 hours every weekend making sure things were just perfect -- "in case someone came over."
Then I realized one day that no-one came over; they were all out living life and having fun!

Now, when people visit, I find no need to explain the "condition" of my home. They are more interested in hearing about the things I've been doing while I was away living life and having fun.
If you haven't figured this out yet,
please heed this advice.

Life is short. Enjoy it!
Dust if you must, but wouldn't it be better to paint a picture or write a letter, bake a cake or plant a seed, ponder the difference between want and need?

Dust if you must, but there's not much time, with rivers to swim and mountains to climb, music to hear and books to read, friends to cherish and life to lead.

Dust if you must, but the world's out there with the sun in your eyes, the wind in your hair, a flutter of snow, a shower of rain. This day will not come around again.

Dust if you must, but bear in mind,
old age will come and it's not kind.
And when you go -- and go you must --
you, yourself will make more dust!

Share this with all the wonderful people in your life!
I JUST DID.

It's not what you gather, but what you scatter that tells what kind of life you have lived.

####
MY WOMEN FRIENDS

Alone they might be washed away, but together they stand strong. Thank you each for holding my hand somewhere along the way when I was facing a wave of my own. I hope you will reach for my hand when your own wave threatens.

All of us girls..
Old and young...
Near and far...
Hold special memories of good times we've shared.

We've had our share of hard times when our friends were there to make us feel better.

We've shared...
our hearts
our time
our secrets
our fears
our hopes
and our dreams.

Let us never break the chain of friends!

HAVE A WONDERFUL WEEKEND.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!