My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:27 p.m. - 2006-10-09
misc. stuff
Monday, October 09, 2006

I wanted to talk about our front porch. Our house is about 6 years old. It was a model for a couple of those years.

Unfortunately, the installation of the porch was not done correctly and/or the wood that was used was not good wood.

We discovered rot in the posts and bees nests in the railings. My husband spent all weekend knocking down the railings and cutting them up. We have ordered new composition posts which he will install in a week or so. The posts are covered with a vinyl sleeve and will not have to be painted or protected in any additional way. We haven't decided if we want to spend another $600 to put in new railings.

The porch would have just the white posts. we face a street but we do have a nice lawn and flowers.

My thought was to put large flower boxes between the posts on the front of the porch.


What do you think? If we don't like just having the posts, next Spring, we can put railings back up.

On another note, I am getting a flu shot this week. Last year as you remember, there was a "shortage" and by the time the government realized there were overages in some areas, it was almost past the flu season. Thankfully, there was not a serious outbreak of flu in our area.

and even more fun facts about me...... I have applied for Social Security and it should start next January, 2007. My husband is going to work only 32 hrs a week instead of 40 hrs. He will take Fridays off and enjoy having a long weekend. We are easing into retirement and checking out how much we will have financially to work with.

####

####

This is political and I am not taking sides but it is funny.

http://i.euniverse.com/funpages/cms_content/13180/HillaryCondi_HoDown.swf

####

Murphy's Lesser-Known Dictums:

Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

He who laughs last, thinks slowest.

Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine.

Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't.

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

The 50-50-90 rule: Anytime you have a 50-50 chance of getting something right, there's a 90% probability you'll get it wrong.

If you lined up all the cars in the world end to end, someone would be stupid enough to try to pass them, five or six at a time, on a hill, in the fog.

If the shoe fits, get another one just like it.

The things that come to those who wait will be the things left by those who got there first.

Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat all day.

Flashlight: A case for holding dead batteries.

The shin bone is a device for finding furniture in a dark room.

A fine is a tax for doing wrong. A tax is a fine for doing well.

When you go into court, you are putting yourself in the hands of 12 people who weren't smart enough to get out of jury duty.

#######

A golfer was involved in a terrible car crash and was rushed to the hospital.

Just before he was put under, the surgeon popped in to see him.

"I have some good news and some bad news," says the surgeon.

"The bad news is that I have to remove your right arm!"

"Oh God no!" cries the man. "My golfing is over! Please Doc, what's the good news?"

"The good news is, I have another one to replace it with, but it's a woman's arm. I'll need your permission before I go ahead with the transplant."

"Go for it doc" says the man. "As long as I can play golf again."

The operation went well and a year later the man was out on the golf course when he bumped into the surgeon.

"Hi, how's the new arm?" asks the surgeon. "Just great," says the businessman.

"I'm playing the best golf of my life. My new arm has a much finer touch and my putting has really improved." "That's great," said the surgeon.

"Not only that," continued the golfer, "my handwriting has improved, I've learned how to sew my own clothes and I've even taken up painting landscapes in watercolors."

"Unbelievable!" said the surgeon, "I'm so glad to hear the transplant was such a great success. Are you having any side effects?"

"Well, just one problem," said the golfer. "Every time I get an erection,
....
I also get a headache!

####

A blonde lady motorist was about two hours from San Diego when she was flagged down by a man whose truck had broken down.

The man walked up to the car and asked, "Are you going to San Diego?"

"Sure," answered the blonde, "do you need a lift?"

"Not for me. I'll be spending the next three hours fixing my truck.
My problem is I've got two chimpanzees in the back which have to be taken to the San Diego Zoo. They're a bit stressed already so I don't want to keep them on the road all day. Could you possibly take them to the zoo for me? I'll give you $100 for your trouble."

"I'd be happy to," said the blonde. So the two chimpanzees were ushered into the back seat of the blonde's car and carefully strapped into their seat belts. Off they went.

Five hours later, the truck driver was driving through the heart of San Diego when suddenly he was horrified!! There was the blonde walking down he street and holding hands with the two chimps, much to the amusement of a big crowd.

With a screech of brakes he pulled off the road and ran over to the blonde. What the heck are you doing here?" he demanded, "I gave you $100 to take these chimpanzees to the zoo."

" Yes, I know you did," said the blonde," but we had money left over---so now we're going to Sea World.

####

GUESS THAT IS ENOUGH FOR NOW.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!