My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:37 p.m. - 2005-10-31
Halloween stories

I have two TRUE stories to tell for Halloween.

About 12 or 13 years ago, my mother was dying in a hospital. I had been caring for her in my home for a few months when her terminal disease had taken over and she was going into a semi-coma. Finally, I decided on a Sunday that I would go to work and clear up all my files because I was sure she would be gone by Monday. After I had worked all day, I stopped at the hospital on my way home.

I had decided I would talk to her even if she was unconscious and tell her it was alright to go. I knew from other situations that sometimes the dying person needs to hear from a loved one that they can "let go" and pass. A nurse was in the room with me, I went to my mother's bedside. She didn't even look like my mother. Her body had become smaller, she was very pale and very fragile looking. There was really no life in her and I could almost see her spirit or soul leaving her. I held her hand and told her it was time for her to go. I told her of all the people who were waiting for her and wanted to see her, hug and kiss her, and sing and dance with her. I told her that her little grandson who had already died wanted her to read him a story and let him sit on her lap and be cuddled. It was very difficult and even the nurse was crying. I told her to pass but I needed one more thing. I wanted her to find a wonderful woman for my son, her only living grandson, to marry. I wanted him to have his own family. She was very close to my son - as he was with her - so I felt if she heard anything she would hear that request.

A year or so later, my son did meet someone who seemed to be the perfect partner. However, she had just come through a divorce and didn't want to get permanently involved again. She had 2 small daughters and didn't want them to lose another "daddy" if it didn't work out. They parted. They saw each other again a year or so later but she didn't want to make a commitment so they parted again. About 4 years ago, the younger daughter asked her mother if she knew where my son was working. She demanded that her mother contact him. She told her mother that he had promised when she was 4 years old that when she was old enough that the daughter could see him and talk to him. So, to make a long story short, they did reconnect. About a year later, on Valentine's Day, she asked my son to marry her. They just celebrated their 2nd anniversary.

The connection is that she had no intention of getting married again....but on Valentine's Day, she suddenly had this thought in her head. "Don't let him get away this time." So she suddenly proposed.

I believe that it was my mother who made a 4 year old remember a promise when she was 11 years old and that it was my mother talking to my daughter-in-law in her head on Valentine's Day, 2003. I just got chills again.

THE SECOND STORY IS ABOUT A GHOST.

My husband had started going to Utah once a year - usually in early October -- for a week long horseback ride, sleeping outside, cooking over a campfire and enjoying the company of others who liked the same experience.

Since my husband had been a policeman for 20 years and had worked nights for several of those years, I was used to being alone at night. It never bothered me.

About the 5th time he went to Utah, I had been alone for a few nights. I was working so I was usually tired when I went to bed. One night I had been sleeping in our bedroom when I suddenly woke up. I opened my eyes and saw a small stocky man standing by the side of my bed. I had the feeling that he had bumped the bed or touched my hand. He was dressed in old style railroad or bib overall farmer pants. He had a old style cap on his head. He had a short beard. It was such a shock that I was frightened. I had the impression that he was a railroad man. He was just standing there for the longest time. He started to reach forward and I said, "NO!" and closed my eyes. When I finally opened them again, he was gone.

We lived about 150 feet from a double railway crossing. I had the feeling he had been killed on the railroad.

I never saw him again but I was always worried after that to sleep alone in the bedroom.

66666666666666666666666666666666666666
We do not stop playing because we grow old;

we grow old because we stop playing.

Never Be The First To Get Old!!!!!


analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!