My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:41 p.m. - 2005-08-10
Memories
MEMORIES.....

I was having lunch today with a friend I have known for many years and it reminded me of memories we shared so long ago.

Do the smells of certain things take you back to another time? For me, it is..

Lilacs....remind me of my grandmother, the only one I ever knew, how sweet she was, gentle and caring and how much I loved her.

Noxema...it reminded me of how often I got sunburned as a young girl. I have irish skin, very white and very pale...I loved the smell of Noxema and it always felt so cool on my burned skin.

Suntan lotion...I always think of the sun, beach and beautiful weather. I never remember the bad sunburn!

Babies...who doesn't love the smell of a baby's neck or their little perfect little hands and feet. It takes me back to when my son was a baby. What a great time that was...even though at that period of my life, I am sure I didn't enjoy it every day!

sweet & sweaty...I always thought little boys about 2 or 3 had a special smell...It wasn't always appealing but it does bring back some great rememberences.

Oranges...what a great smell a fresh peeled orange can be. It makes my mouth water just thinking of it.

Fresh baked bread...see above...Ymmm!

Rain...I love the smell of a good rain, when it makes the earth smell so good and the air is heavenly to breathe.

Winter Snowstorm...what about that very sharp-cutting-below-zero smell in the air, when it almost hurts to breathe but it does smell so fresh and clean.

Bedsheets...if you are smart enough to dry the sheets outside; there is no smell quite as fresh and clean as that one.

Men's Aftershave...most of the time, this smell almost makes my knees weak! LOL.

Fall Leaves...I love the smell of Fall. The leaves are crisp and crunchy. A little bit of burning leaves is good but too much is annoying to the eyes and nose.

Turkey and Pumpkin Pie...I love the smell of Thanksgiving dinner. Yummy!!

and what about certain sounds...

Water...I could sit and watch and listen to water all day long. It makes me feel so calm and peaceful. It could be a little babbling brook, a river running by or the ocean...I love it all. And a waterfall...is the best of all.

babies again... I love the little snuggly noises they make and the cooing and jabbering is so precious.

The sound of a soda can popping open, the sound of the ice cubes cracking and the sound of the beverage pouring into a glass...mmmm...so refreshing.

Music...most music is very comforting to me. I should listen to it more but I sometimes get distracted.

Speaking of music, are there certain songs that put you back in time?

The Way We Were...what a beautiful song of love.

Yesterday...another song I love.

Almost any Beatle song brings me back to my younger years...

You Were Always On My Mind...is a good lesson to think about when you are upset with your mate.

Don't Stop Thinking About Tomorrow...no..not because of Clinton. I just like the song.

Any song that K.D. Lang sings is so beautiful, it can stop me in my tracks.

I hope I have caused you to think of some special memories, enjoy your day.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!