My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:51 p.m. - 2005-05-19
different choices
IF WE DON'T CHANGE DIRECTION, WE ARE LIKELY TO END UP WHERE WE ARE HEADED....chinese proverb.


Well, that is profound....but it did start me thinking...what if I had "changed direction", made a different choice in my life. Where would I be now and who would I be?

If I had gone to college instead of secretarial school...would I have had my first real job at age 18? Would I have married my senior year high school boyfriend 2 1/2 years later?

If we had decided to have more than one child, who would they have been? Would our only child, a son, have had a different life with siblings?

If I had not gone back to work when our son was 6 years old, what changes in our lives would have occurred? Would we now own a home free and clear? Would I have three associate degree programs connected to my career? Would I have traveled for 2 week stretches to help train employees on the computer for insurance claim adjusting for 10 trips over 2 years.

Would I have moved up from a claims secretary to a senior claims representative and specialized in Workers Compensation claims for the last 8 years?

If my company had not been sold, would I have left that job after 25 years - a job that I loved and still would love to do and people in our office that were very special to me.

I don't regret my life and in fact, I think we have been very fortunate. We have worked hard to get where we are and hope we can enjoy our senior years together.

But what if I had done something different....hmmm

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!