My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

12:13 a.m. - 2005-08-27
-

Friday, August 26, 2005

Currently Listening
Feels Like Home
By Norah Jones
see related

I am dedicating this rant to my two favorite sisters. Well, two out of three isn't bad. This is for one sister who found a delightful link to Hilda.com. I hope she is soon going to enjoy life as much as Hilda does. The other sister does have her love of life back and is a strawberry blonde who could easily become more of a redhead like Hilda. Enjoy!
She is a very cute redheaded girl with a little chubby figure.

You will recall I mentioned I have 3 sisters. One sister, who is older than the other two and younger than I, has removed herself from the family. She has "issues". Since I didn't agree to join her in her campaign to dis-associate from our mother, she washed her hands of all of us. Our mother passed away about 12 years ago.

There is no need to go into all of the reasons she feels as she does or even all the arguments I would have to oppose her feelings; all I ever wanted was for the two of us to have a relationship...but I guess it is not to be. I am always sending her a birthday card, Mother's Day card, Christmas card trying to get her to keep in touch but she won't or can't or probably just doesn't want to make the effort.

If you have been reading my little story in previous blogs; she is the baby who came home crying and I wasn't interested in hearing her and went to play......hmmm....could that mean something? Am I trying to make up for walking away from the dining room table on her first day home???? No, I have gone to extraordinary measures to get our relationship back and she won't do even try.

My point is that we all have dysfunctional family members. If it isn't one of your siblings or a parent; it is probably an aunt, uncle or grandparent. I have read several blogs lately where the topic is the dysfunctional person who is driving everyone crazy. No matter what you do, it isn't right, it isn't enough, it should have been something else, why didn't you?, you should have, you shouldn't have, you will never do it right, it is not what they wanted, or just who do you think you are? Ever notice the dysfunctional person is the only one who is dissatisfied with what you did?

At some point, I think we all just get overwhelmed with the drama. Sometimes you have to pull away to survive. Sometimes it isn't worth making an effort just to spend all your time trying to please a person who will never be pleased or thank you for your efforts or even acknowledge that you tried to do something for them.

So....SNAP OUT OF IT. Live your life for yourself and the loved ones who appreciate you for who you are and what you do and why you do it.

Have a great weekend.

How To Stay Young

1. Throw out nonessential numbers.
This includes age, weight, and height. Let the doctors worry about them. That is why you pay them.

2. Keep only cheerful friends.
The grouches pull you down (keep this in mind if you are one of those grouches!)

3. Keep learning.
Learn more about the computer, crafts, gardening,
whatever. Never let the brain get idle.
"An idle mind is the devil's workshop," and the devil's name is Alzheimer's!

4. Enjoy the simple things.

5. Laugh often, long, and loud.
Laugh until you gasp for breath. And if you have a friend who makes you laugh,
spend lots and lots of time with him/her.


6. The tears happen.
Endure, grieve, and move on. The only person who is with us our entire life is ourselves. LIVE while you are alive and praise God.

7. Surround yourself with what you love,
whether it's family, pets, keepsakes, music, plants, hobbies, whatever.
Your home is your refuge.

8. Cherish your health.
If it is good, preserve it.
If it is unstable, improve it.
If it is beyond what you can improve, get help.

9. Don't take guilt trips.
Take a trip to the mall, even to the next county, to a foreign country, but NOT to where the guilt is.

10. Tell the people you love that you love them at every opportunity.

And if you don't send this to at least 4 people -- who cares?

But do share this with someone. :o)

I AM


I am a piece of everything beautiful
in the world.
this is why I am larger than you
I am made of so many wondrous things
you could never imagine
sometimes, you pause to look at me deeply


I am everything in my past
My childhood house rests on my shoulders
The neighbors' yards, no boundaries
I am a Chinese maple tree, with stairs in its boughs
I am those first stars


I am the water fountain, outside
that I made a wish in thirty minutes ago
I am the portrait artist who tries to catch twinkles inside your eyes


I am the wings of all the last breaths
of flight
I am the child skipping without reason
I am a gentle newborn sigh


I am the Virtuous Lion outside The New York Library
I am the angel who pushes shadows out of harm's way


I am the moon shimmering on the pond
The stick the dog laps into its happy mouth
I am the moment before two hands join


So as for your comments: "Look at the Fat Girl,""You have such a pretty face, if only you would lose weight",
"Such a face, gone to waste"...


They reflect back to you... for I am a mirror among precious other things


Yes, I am the fat girl
and... "I am".


analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!