My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:44 p.m. - 2009-01-29
DAYS END....
Hey, kids...it's been nearly a week since I last posted my blog! I can't believe how quickly the time went. I don't think I really accomplished much either but here it is...Thursday again.

I read THE LEGS ARE LAST TO GO over the weekend by Diahann Carroll. She has had an interesting life. She is still performing in some areas. She was a guest star on Grey's Anatomy for one season and came back for an episode or two recently as well. She was on Dynasty a few years back and also did a play in Toronto as Norma Desmond in Sunset Boulevard.

On Monday, I read a book of over 660 pages in one day. Yes, I couldn't put it down. It was so interesting. The title is THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL by Phillipa Gregory. I saw the movie and of course, could picture the two actresses...Scarlett Johansson as Marianna and Natalie Portman as Annemarie as I read the book. I will be checking out other books by Phillipa Gregory when I return to the library next time.

I really like that era of time. The kings and queens and royalty. It certainly was not a good time for women and yet several of them managed to get into power and do quite well. I would also recommend the Queen Elizabeth movies if you enjoy history.

Cate Blanchett did a wonderful job portraying Elizabeth the First.in these movies. The costumes and the scenery is just breathtaking.

So, yesterday I got a blood test for my doctor's appointment next Monday. Tuesday I have a dental appointment. So much fun in such a few days.... Lucky me...it will soon be done for another few months.

***

Today I went to the grocery store and also stopped at a well-known clothing store. I had purchased some gift cards for my niece, nephew and step-grand daughters for Christmas. Because of the amount I spent, I got two $5 gift cards that had to be used by January 31st. I didn't want to spend much of my own money but thought I could find something. I did... I found a sweater for $29.50 on sale for $20. I gave the clerk my 2 cards and he said I could only use one per purchase. I told him he needed to read the fine print on the back of the cards because I had checked and it said up to 3 cards could be used in a single purchase. Then he told me my remaining balance was $20 plus. I told him the sweater was on sale and showed him the large sign saying the cost was $20 per sweater. So, I got the sweater for $10.70. I normally don't shop in this store because the clothing is not very good in my opinion but I know the teens like it because it is so trendy. They carry mostly t-shirts, sweaters, jeans and sweats.....

Since the end of January is nearly here, I thought I would give you the rest of the list of things to do this month from Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach.

***

Pay a visit to a junk store....or GoodWill and look around for simple treasures. You never know what you might find on the shelves. It's also a great time to go through your closets and take your cast-offs to donate while you are there.

Bake a pan of dense, dark, moist gingerbread or brownies. Nothing tastes as good as that.

Visit the local library and check out some new magazines that you have never read before.

Force some spring bulbs to blossom. Miniature daffodils, paperwhites, hyacinths and tulips. They will brighten your home and your spirit and they smell so wonderful too.

Browse through some seed catalogs and make plans for a secret garden...even if it is only in your mind for now.

Make a big bowl of homemade soup using up all the leftovers in your refrigerator. Those brownies or the gingerbread will taste great after the soup too.

Have a great evening.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!