My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:47 p.m. - 2009-01-23
BUT I DIGRESS.....
Hey kids, if you want to see the pictures and cartoons I put on my Xanga site, please link here.


My Senior Moments.

Otherwise, you can read the blog below.

Friday, January 23, 2009

It's a beautiful, brand-new day! I felt the need to change my background to reflect my feelings of sunshine, flowers and good things.

Thank you to all of you for the lovely comments on both of my blogsites.

And on to better things.....

Remember when I mentioned the Georgia Cooking in an Oklahoma Kitchen cookbook? Here's the list of useful kitchen equipment Trisha Yearwood mentions in her book.

1. -3 sets of metal measuring spoons. Take them apart and store them together as 1/4 tsp, 1/2 tsp, etc. That way you don't have to wash the entire set when you only use 1 or 2 of the measuring spoons.

2. - 2 sets of dry measuring cups and 2 sets of wet measuring cups. And OXO makes a measuring cup that allows you to view the liquid measure from the top. (I have some of these and they are really helpful)

3. - 2 cookie sheets that fit in your oven and leave 2 inches of space on all sides. Dark, nonstick finishes will make the cookie browner and crisper faster than a light shiny sheet. If you choose the insulated sheet, don't put it in a dishwasher or soak in dish water. It can retain water inside.

4. - 2 jelly roll pans with low sides. Even if you don't make a jelly roll, these are good for recipes with juicy drippings and can also be used for cookies and biscuits.

5. -fat separator or basting bulb. When you can't let the broth cool and then lift off the fat on top...you can lower a ladle just below the fat line and let the fat flow into the ladle. A fat separator is a clear cup with a spout on the side near the bottom. When the cup is tilted, the broth pours off, leaving the fat behind. You can use a basting bulb the same way, draw the broth up into the bulb and it will leave the fat in the pan.

6. - Electric stand mixer. KitchenAid with attachments including a flat beater, wire whip, food grinder and roto slicer with shredder. 2 mixing bowls are handy.

7. - Kitchen blender. Oster with a glass, square topped pitcher for ease in blending and cleaning.

8. - Electric skillet. Rival 12 x 15 x 3 inch pan with a cover. Temperature control is useful for frying chicken or cooking pancakes.

9. - Slow cooker. One large, 4 quart for cooking and keeping large batches of food warm. A small Rival 1 pint dip pot for hot dips. A removable liner makes cleaning easier.

10. - Pressure Cooker. 4 to 6 quart is ideal.

11. - Roasting pan with rack and cover. Large enough to hold a 20 lb turkey or ham.

12. - Digital kitchen scale. A Salter weighs up to 11 lbs.

13. - Cookie press. Manual Mirro with attachments.

14. - Cast iron Dutch oven.

15. - Cast iron skillet. 9 or 10 inches in diameter. Following directions for seasoning the pan that come with the pan.

16.- Electric ice cream churn.

Please note the brand names are the ones that Trisha Yearwood and her sister and mother prefer.

Now I don't have most of these items but I don't cook that quantity of food on a regular basis either.

I do have #1, 2, 3, 4, 9, and 11.

I have never been able to fry chicken. I don't like the mess and I don't care to eat FRIED chicken. I do bake chicken.

Here's Trisha's recipe for CHICKEN BAKED IN CORNFLAKE CRUMBS.

Serves 4 to 6

2-3 shakes of Tabasco sauce (optional)*

1 - cup buttermilk, well shaken (remember the hint on making buttermilk in a previous blog if you don't have it on hand.)

1 - cup cornflake crumbs (you could probably use any cereal crumbs you have)

8 - chicken pieces (drumsticks, thighs, breasts with skin)

1 - teaspoon salt

1/4 - teaspoon pepper.

Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and spray the foil with cooking spray. Shake the Tabasco into the buttermilk and pour into a shallow bowl. Place the cornflake crumbs in another bowl or on a piece of waxed paper. Dip each piece of chicken into the buttermilk and then roll in the crumbs. Place the coated chicken pieces on the cookie sheet and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Bake the chicken for 1 hour or until the crust is golden brown and the thigh meat is no longer pink at the bone. You can check this with the tip of a sharp knife. Remove and serve.

****

You have all read about RH (retired husband). We have known each other since we were 15 years old. We didn't date until the last semester of our senior year in high school. We got married when he just turned 21 and I had 3-1/2 months until I was 21. Therefore, we have almost grown up together. Each of us had times in our childhood when things were rough. Yes, we both have good memories from our childhoods too. How we were fortunate enough to get together must have been part of a Grand Plan. We are so lucky. And yes, there are times when we drive each other crazy.

Case in point.....RH is very black and white....ok...let's tell it like it is. He's a anal retentive neat freak!

It really does disturb his soul when things are not done the way he believes they NEED to be done. I know it can drive him crazy when things are out of place. I like structure and order too but I think I am a bit more flexible....ok...I'm messier...than he is. He has tolerated it for all these years. He used to get very uptight and let me know in no uncertain words that his life was not in order. Over the years, he has realized that I probably will not completely change to his specifications and he continues to try very hard to let me have my spaces and my messes. He does, still, on occasion, go into his "let's clean it up and throw it away" modes but he is much more tolerate of my foibles. (neener!)

But I digress....and I love to do that....

For most of our marriage, RH has taken care of the outside things, mowing the lawn, removing the snow, washing the windows, maintaining the vehicles and doing maintenance around the house. I have done the cooking, the shopping, the laundry, the cleaning, making of the beds, caring for the baby/child, buying the gifts, sending out the cards for special occasions. It works out very well for us.

Since retirement, RH, has done all his work and also offers to help me on occasion. Today, he was helping me take the dirty sheets off our bed and put the clean sheets on..... I had to smile. Over the 40+ years we have been married, I have developed my own way of doing this task. It involves moving back and forth around the bed, tucking the sheets and blankets, quilts and comforters my way. I had figured out a way that I felt was quick and easy and involved less actions to accomplish the task.

As soon as RH started to help...it was all done differently! He wanted to smooth each corner down completely, He wanted to make sure the sheet was tucked down the sides of the bed the same. He wanted to remove each quilt or comforter fully and then put it back on to make sure it was even. I have gone through this with him before. Just as it drives him crazy when things are not done the way he thinks they have to be done....it drives me bonkers to wait while he does each part of the task to "infinity and beyond"!

But please note, RH (and I know you are reading this....!) that I am not complaining. I appreciate your help and I know that many times what you do is the right way to do it. And when it starts to make me nervous, antsy, unsettled, and about to scream...

JUST DO IT!!!!.....I try to walk away....

I have a great link for you to check out. This is absolutely the funniest thing I have ever seen. I hope you will get a laugh out of it too. Enjoy......

http://www.freakybestmanspeech.com/


Happy Friday.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!