My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

11:24 a.m. - 2009-01-10
ON THE RED CARPET.....

Hey, Kids. I'm back and feeling more like myself today. I haven't watched the news for a couple of nights and I am trying not to read the newspaper about all the sad stuff. I think it is helping. I also got plenty of sweet comments and e-mails from my friends who were concerned about me.

I did clean up my house and do laundry yesterday. RH (retired Husband) and I also made some greeting cards from a software program we bought a few months ago. RH made the first one and then helped me figure out how to do it. I wrote a check and sent out two of the cards yesterday. Two more will be mailed out later this month. I also made dinner (well, warmed up some precooked chicken, mashed potatoes and made oatmeal muffins). I watched some TV and finished my book. CHANGE OF HEART by Jodi Picoult.

Oh BTW, for those who asked what the other book was that Jodi Picoult used characters from....it was SAVING FAITH which is probably one of my favorites from all she has written. The characters were just part of some background but it was fun to realize who they were and what their back story was.

I just started Lynn Spears' biography THROUGH THE STORM last night. It looks like an easy read and should be interesting.

I was reading nevragn's blog on Xanga recently and she mentioned how the award shows seem to be a bit over the top when there are so many people struggling in the real world with financial problems and loss of employment. It really made me think.

I have to agree. I understand that many people reply on those award shows for their own financial gain. You just have to watch the "red carpet" to hear "who are you wearing" to realize how many names are thrown out there for us to acknowledge.

The designers loan out those fancy dresses, the jewelers offer millions of dollars in gems, the accessories are also loaned out. The hair and makeup people need and want the recognition for what they do for the stars. The advertisements on the televised programs are very costly and the after parties with the famous chefs and restaurants get a lot of publicity too. I will admit that I usually tune in to see the "stars" and what they are wearing and how they look. In the past, it was a thrill to see them. Now, not so much. First of all, many of the "celebrities" are not "stars" in my opinion. Not that "I" could act or portray a character as they do...but....the glamour of the old Hollywood is long gone.

I find it difficult to keep the various younger celebrities straight. I often don't know who they are or what they did. Sure, there are some...Dakota Fanning, Kate Hudson, Jennifer Aniston, Queen Latifa, Jennifer Hudson, that I recognize. Just to prove my point, I couldn't even think of any others. And most of those I did name are not actually "young Hollywood". Even Dakota Fanning has been acting for years.

But here's what I don't like. The gift bags, the bling, the give-aways to the celebrities who have so much already. I do realize that most of them work very hard and work very long hours to make their movies or tv shows. I know they have to put up with a terribly invasion of their personal lives. I realize that some of them are stalked by the paparazzi and by deranged people. I know they can't take their children out for a fun day without being mobbed, I know they can't shop in peace or privacy. I know their personal business is thrown out for all of us to read or see. I can't imagine how difficult it must be to have a bad day and have everyone in the world see an unflattering picture within hours. But.....

Giving these celebrities thousands of dollars worth of stuff in a gift bag to attend a award show or premiere is just annoying to me. They get free ipods, cell phones and cameras, jewelry, clothing, handbags, shoes, eyeglasses, vacations, perfume...you name it and it is probably given away. I know not all the stars take the gifts. I also know some of these so-called celebrities take more than their share...bringing along their assistants and family to grab extra bags from the gift rooms.

I expect these award shows will continue as long as there is an audience to watch. I expect there will always be an audience because it is a form of escapism for some of us. But I don't think I will be watching as many as I did before. I just don't enjoy it like I did a few years ago.

So....kids..... I am off to get ready for a bridal shower this afternoon. Yes, my step-grand daughter is getting married the end of this month. Her baby is now almost 5 months old and weighs a healthy 15 lbs. He is a very sweet baby. Her fiance is very good with their son. He takes excellent care of him and has been a big part of the baby and my step grand daughter's lives for over a year now. I do hope they are going to be very happy together. I think they have a lot of growing up to do but I am hopeful they will have a long and happy life. He is in the National Guard and is scheduled to be shipped out to Iraq or Afghanistan sometime in the next few months. I know it will be a real change in their relationship to be apart and a lot of maturing will need to take place.

By the time he gets back home, they will have earned an award show and a gift bag of their own. And that is one that I will enjoy....

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!