My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:09 p.m. - 2009-01-02
So far, so good.....

It's all over now. A few days ago, when the temperature was higher and the sun was shining, RH (retired husband) took down the outside Christmas decorations and packed them away again until next time.

Yesterday, I took down the inside decorations and RH and I put them away too. Isn't it funny how everything looks so plain for a few days after all the lights and bright colors and Christmasy stuff is gone?

Today, I went to the library again and got more books. I got 3 biographies.... Tony Curtis - AMERICAN PRINCE, Lynn Spears (Britney's mother) THROUGH THE STORM, Maureen McCormick - HERE'S THE STORY and Jodi Picoult's most recent novel - CHANGE OF HEART.

I did finish FRIDAY NIGHT KNITTING CLUB last night. It had a sad ending but it was an interesting story. It made me want to learn to knit. I taught myself to crochet just a little bit about 35 years ago but never continued. My fingers would get all cramped up. Maybe I should try knitting this year.

I also stopped at K-Mart on the way home. I haven't gone shopping at all for weeks. I needed a couple of things and thought it might be fun to see what is on sale. I checked about 6 aisles filled with Christmas related items. I could have bought a lot of things but I decided not to. I did get a couple of boxes of Christmas cards. We sent out 74 cards this year and got 47 back. I didn't even use up much Christmas gift wrap so I didn't buy any more.

And best of all, I managed to walk past all the 50% off candy.....I never saw so many different types of candies made for Christmas before. But....I have to say even over a week since Christmas, the shelves were filled with stuff. I bet it goes to 75% by next week.

I did find a very nice velour hoodie. It was 50% off. It's got the cutest cuffs and pockets in the front. They are ruffled. It's heavy and a gorgeous shade of scarlet. I also found a sweater with black, grey and red stripes on sale for 50% off as well as a pair of blue bedroom slippers on sale. It was a good day.

When I got home today, I cleaned the house. It's the second time in cleaning the new sinks and countertops. I noticed a few little things about the new sinks....just the shape makes a big difference in how they clean up. I still love the color and enjoyed how nice they look. Now that the Christmas decor has been removed, it really shows off the colors even better than before.

Over the Christmas holiday, two of our cats started sneezing. I was really worried about our calico because she is so feral; we couldn't get her in to the vet in 2008. We tried everything, using a towel, trying to get her into a pillowcase, putting the cat carrier next to the food dish to catch her first thing in the morning, trying to get her when she was asleep...nothing worked. So, we decided (since she gets so upset when we try to pick her up) that it was useless to put her through the trauma. The other 2 cats did get their yearly exams and all 3 cats are inside the house all the time. We hope the chance of Callie being exposed to anything was very small.

But, when first Samurai (Sam) the Siamese and then Callie started sneezing, I was concerned. Sam got over his illness within a week. His nose returned to being moist and pink, his eyes cleared up and he was back to his usual self. Callie looked so bad. I was thinking if she didn't get over it very soon, we would have to catch her some way and take her in. Fortunately, after sleeping all the time and hissing at anything that moves towards her, she came out of it. Last night, she was racing around the house and playing tag with Sam again. It was good to see her eyes cleared up and no sneezing.

I thought the cats illnesses might have been an allergic reaction to our synthetic Christmas tree. We keep it in our basement. We have had it several years but this year, when I decorated it, I could smell it. It smelled kind of mildewy.....RH told me yesterday that he had been storing it next to the sump pump this past year! OMG! I think that was the cause of the smell and maybe why the cats were sneezing. Next season, we are going to take it outside and blow it off with the air compressor. I think I will spray it with Frebreze too. I wonder if that will help?

So, anyway, now the laundry is going, RH is working on the year-end reports for the City (his previous employer), I have plenty of reading material. I Tivoed a bunch of Home improvement shows yesterday, we have two new Netflix movies to watch, no company is expected and a weekend to enjoy together.

Life in 2009 is good so far.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!