My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:05 p.m. - 2008-12-29
CARE TO JOIN ME?????
Currently reading....
The Hour I First Believed: A Novel
By Wally Lamb

*****

THE PESSIMIST SEES DIFFICULTY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY AND THE OPTIMIST SEES OPPORTUNITY IN EVERY DIFFICULTY.

I was thinking about the holidays....Christmas to be exact...... and realized that even though we had cut down on the gifts, it was really a good time. I wanted to give more "things" to my loved ones. After it was over, I realized I was happy with what I did receive and with what I gave as a gift. I think everyone who came to our Christmas Eve and Christmas morning gathering felt the same. We got some nice little gifts and I didn't have to pretend to like something and I didn't have to find a place for lots of the "stuff" that I really don't need. I only had one gift that I probably wouldn't use and I know just the person to give it to.....(yes, I do regift from time to time).

RH (retired husband) got a DVD for a movie that he would probably not care to watch and it just so happened that our dear BIL mentioned meeting the actor and we gave him the DVD which I know he will enjoy very much.

So, anyway, I was thinking about my perspective of my life and that it really IS a good one. RH and I have often said how lucky we have been. We worked hard, we didn't overspend for the most part, we paid all our bills and didn't accrue debt. Our house is paid off, our truck and car are paid off, our credit cards are few and paid off. We don't eat out in fancy restaurants, we don't buy expensive jewelry or clothing and we don't spend a lot on extras. We are happy and content with our lives.

I did read a really good blog which mentioned that their immediate family handmade gifts for each other. It might be gathering several items as a theme and making a container to hold the items. It might be to knit or sew or draw something. It could be downloading special music into a CD or making a DVD of photos for someone. Whatever it was, it was special and thoughtfilled and took personal time to think of it, create it and present it. I could imagine what each special person in my life could do...except for me. I don't feel I have a talent that lends itself to a handmade gift. I do think, however, I could come up with a theme and put items into a special basket or box and made a gift of that. So, in 2009, I am going to come up with ideas for special gifts and start gathering them.

I have been reading blogs for over 3 years now and I find it interesting how the patterns of lives seem to stay the same. I have my favorite blogsites, of course. They change from time to time. Some of my favorites drop out of the scene as their lives get busy or other circumstances change their direction. Some of my favorites always have something cheerful and upbeat to share. A few of my favorites seem to have a black cloud that just follows them around. No matter what they do, they can't seem to get a break.

I try to make positive comments on their blogsites and give them encouragement. They just continue to go along, trying to make the best of the bad situations. This really helps me to appreciate what I have on a daily basis.

And then there are some bloggers who, no matter what, have drama in their lives. And I have noticed that even when there are comments left for them to give them suggestions or answer their inquiries about what to do....they don't pay any attention to the good advice and just keep on having the drama.

I DO feel bad about what happened in their lives. I keep waiting for them to do something to change it. Make a decision, take some advice, seek legal assistance, change your way of dealing with it....S.O.M.E.T.H.I.N.G.!!!!! But, apparently, that is the life they have chosen to live and will continue to live.

But I digress....

So....anyway....I was thinking that this year, ONCE AGAIN, I would be making the same resolutions to lose weight, get into better shape, be happier, read more books, write more blogs, do good things.....

Sooooooo, kids........this time I am going to make G.O.A.L.S. This time I am going to just work towards one or two accomplishments and give myself a shorter time period to reach them. Like 90 days....

"THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN LIFE AND TRIUMPH IS A LITTLE UMPH!"

I am not even going to tell anyone what the goals are for the first 90 days of 2009. But I am going to keep track of my triumphs.

My youngest sister once told me that she lists several things she wants to work on during the year and seals it into an envelope. Then on New Year's Day when she is preparing her new list, she opens the old envelope to see how she did on the previous year's list. She said it is often interesting to see how her ideas have changed over the course of the year and if she accomplished any of the goals she had.


analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!