My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:09 p.m. - 2008-11-22
Is THAT all?
Saturday, November 22, 2008


Hey kids, lots of stuff going on around here. Just when you think you have it all figured out and will have plenty of time to do it all....more stuff comes your way, doesn't it?

As you will recall, we decided to change countertops in our kitchen and 2 bathrooms. This, of course, means that we will be installing new sinks and faucets. And this also means that RH (retired husband) will be busy taking out the old countertops, and dismantling the sinks, garbage disposal and all.

I thought I had a picture of our kitchen when it looked nice to show you for the before picture. But the only pictures I can find are during holidays when there are way too many people in the kitchen with all kinds of boxes and containers piled up as we do a "bring a dish to share" kind of meal. So I won't be posting those.

However, I did find a picture of the house the day we signed the papers to buy it. This was a model home and also was used as the office so there is some "staging". At least you can see the cabinets and some of the countertops.


This is looking from the dining area into the kitchen. You can see the countertops and darker tile pieces on the edges of the counters and as a small backsplash.

So, any way, RH has removed the backsplash tiles and is now working on getting the countertops themselves loosened up. Of course, he has already discovered that the countertops were stapled in and also screwed in so it is going to be a slow process See the triangular cabinet on the right? We have one on each side of the refrigerator. The cabinet on the left is full of drawers and it is on one side of our stove. The dishwasher is next to the stove, then comes the longer countertop where the sink is. In the corner is a "garage cabinet" . This is one large corner cabinet. RH is going to have to cut about an inch off the bottom of the garage so the new countertop can be pushed in underneath. It's not going to be an easy task. Then you can see the other long length of countertop across the back of the kitchen which is next to a pantry cabinet. Currently the two lengths come together on the right side of the garage. The new countertops will come together in the middle of the garage.
We did take pictures as RH is working but I don't have the heart or the nerve to ask him to load those pictures now because he is in the midst of all this work. We have about 2 or 3 weeks to get this done. And remember we have two bathroom countertops to remove also. One is a double sink. RH had planned to work on one countertop a day and we thought we would have ample time to get this done. We can postpone the installation if we need to do so because of the holidays. I know RH would like this to be done by Christmas as we are hosting the annual Christmas Eve gathering. Also it would be nice to have the mess all cleaned up by then.

So, oh yes...the additional stuff..... RH has been helping his friend remodel a house that the friend has purchased to rent to his daughter. His daughters and grandchildren have been living with him and his wife for a very long time. Naturally, he would like to get her into this house by the end of the year. The friend doesn't ask for help very often but sometimes it is on a few hours notice. Today, for example, they were going to move a shed and some other items and we are still waiting for the phone call.

And the other stuff is the usual holiday preparations. I don't know when I will be doing the Christmas decor. I sure don't want all that stuff out, in the way, if the countertops are being installed. Probably I will be putting things up around the middle of the month which is when I usually do it.

And more stuff...RH's previous employer just sent an e-mail asking if he would come back to work about 20 hrs a week in December to get some data entry in the computer and do the year end reports. It seems the person who took over his job hasn't been doing any quarterly reports. We expect there has been little, if any, data put into the computer since he retired the end of May. He is looking forward to doing it. It will be nice for him to do a job that he feels some accomplishment and get paid for it.

But, of course, this is all coming at the same time. So, the next few weeks will be busy ones.

We are invited to a relative's home for Thanksgiving and are looking forward to that. I still want my own turkey leftovers so I purchased a turkey to roast over the holiday weekend. I will be addressing Christmas cards that weekend too. I also have a few small gifts to wrap and ship out. I like to get that all done by the first week of December. I think I mentioned we are cutting way back on Christmas gifts this year. There are plenty of things I could buy but money is tight right now.

We paid for the countertops, sinks and faucets in advance, we have property taxes that will soon be due, we need to pay for our medical insurance for the coming year since we are now retired and we have to pay for Christmas. And, then there are always unexpected things that come up.

Ok, time for a mini-rant.....

I just hate those little subscriptions cards that so many magazines put inside. I wouldn't mind one but when you turn pages and have 3 or 4 of them falling out all the time, it gets on my last nerve. I also used to hate the old TV Guide which had so many cards stapled into the book. I used to tear them out so I could turn the pages each day.

So, what else....hmmm.

We have several birthdays in the month of December. My sister, my step-grand daughter, a good friend, a BIL, myself..... Thankfully, most of those are card sending acknowledgements only. We just bought some small items to make a gift bag for our step-granddaughter yesterday.

Oh yes, we had 9.2 inches of snow 2 days ago.

It WAS pretty but I quickly remembered how much I don't like winter!

Well, in the time I have written this blog, RH loosened one small countertop and I sorted through all the contents of the cabinet and put back what I still want.

However, he moved on to the cabinet with drawers and has been cussing for about 15 minutes....He just went through to the garage and announced it was a piece of excrement..... I hope he can get it done and take a break so his entire day is not also a piece of excrement. Oh, guess it is time for a cigarette break for RH.

Since the cussing continued, I ventured into the kitchen and found out that the little drill bit that RH was using to try to get the screws out had fallen into the depths of the cabinet. Even using a magnetic pick up tool, he couldn't find it and of course, it was the only size that would work. Even worse, he found out what a crappy job was done when installing this particular cabinet. But, I offered to try to find it and even when I couldn't...he had a chance to cool off. And then HE found it so all is good....well......better.

****

Here's a good joke about women's ingenuity.

THIS IS WHY WE LOVE OLD PEOPLE


A farmer stopped by the local mechanic shop to have his truck fixed. They couldn't do it while he waited, so he said he didn't live far and would just walk home.

On the way home he stopped at the hardware store and bought a bucket and a gallon of paint. He then stopped by the feed store and picked up a couple of chickens and a goose. However, struggling outside the store he now had a problem - how to carry his entire purchases home.

While he was scratching his head he was approached by a little old lady who told him she was lost.. She asked, 'Can you tell me how to get to 1603 Mockingbird Lane?'

The farmer said, 'Well, as a matter of fact, my farm is very close to that house I would walk you there but I can't carry this lot.'

The old lady suggested, 'Why don't you put the can of paint in the bucket. Carry the bucket in one hand, put a chicken under each arm and carry the goose in your other hand?'

'Why thank you very much,' he said and proceeded to walk the old girl home.

On the way he says 'Let's take my short cut and go down this alley. We'll be there in no time.'

The little old lady looked him over cautiously then said, I am a lonely widow without a husband to defend me.. How do I know that when we get in the alley you won't hold me up against the wall, pull up my skirt, and have your way with me?'

The farmer said, 'Holy smokes lady! I'm carrying a bucket, a gallon of paint, two chickens, and a goose. How in the world could I possibly hold you up against the wall and do that?'

The old lady replied, 'Set the goose down, cover him with the bucket, put the paint on top of the bucket, and I'll hold the chickens.

and finally.

2008's First Christmas Joke

Three men died on Christmas Eve and were met by Saint Peter at the pearly gates.

'In honor of this holy season' Saint Peter said, 'You must each possess something that symbolizes Christmas to get into heaven.'

The first man fumbled through his pockets and pulled out a lighter. He flicked it on. 'It represents a candle', he said.
'You may pass through the pearly gates' Saint Peter said.

The second man reached into his pocket and pulled out a set of keys. He shook them and said, 'They're bells.'
Saint Peter said 'You may pass through the pearly gates'.

The third man started searching desperately through his pockets and finally pulled out a pair of women's panties.

St. Peter looked at the man with a raised eyebrow and asked, 'And just what do those symbolize?'

The man replied, 'These are Carols.'

And So The Christmas Season Begins...

******



analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!