My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:49 p.m. - 2008-11-16
OOOPS!!!!!!!

I may regret posting this blog but it is on my mind and I need to get it out.

I am sure this has happened to some of you too. It doesn't make it any easier and it still doesn't stop the feelings I have but here it is.

Have you ever been reading one of your favorite blogsites and read the comments. You are interested in something the commenter has said - so you click on their blogsite, read a few blogs and make a comment to them.

Sure you have!

I generally offer that I came from Blog A. to visit Blog B, I was interested in what Blog B said, offer a compliment and leave.

Usually that is how I find new blogsites to subscribe to and sometimes the new Blog writer will visit my site and I have another reader.

So....Blog B.... I had read this blog a few times over the past several months but never subscribed. I recently read a favorite Blog A, saw a comment from Blog B., went to Blog B's site, made a nice comment and left.

Then, I got a comment from Blog B. asking a question about some words and their meanings. Since one of the words I had used in a recent blog and since Blog B. is in the educational field, I thought I had made an error in grammar. Not such a big deal... but I decided I needed to look up the two words. I did...they are used interchangeably and I didn't see any problem. Further, the word really had little impact on the theme of my blog so I couldn't understand the question I had received. I did respond to the question on Blog B's site and I also said, in jest, that since she was a teacher, it must have made her cringe if I had made an error. I concluded with another compliment about Blog B's current blog.

Imagine my surprise to get a comment from her that ...."even if she WAS a teacher, she wasn't an encyclopedia and that her question was sincere. Well....slap me silly. I didn't know that my remark offended her.

So, I looked up the two words, copied their meanings and sent them back in a comment to her ....and yes.... I also said I wasn't an encyclopedia. I wanted to add that I wasn't a dictionary either but .....MY BAD!

After I posted my comment, I decided to go back and read what I had said prior to this little exchange to see if I had come across as sarcastic. What I found out was that in her blog before this last one, she had asked about these two words to ALL her readers....so. Did she ask me first or did she ask in the blog first and does it really matter? I guess because the words she asked about were used in my blog first, I thought she was asking me personally. So now I have replied and she probably thinks I am being sarcastic too.

The biggest drawback to blogging is that when you write about something, sometimes the intent is lost because you don't have person to person contact with the reader and misinterpretations can be made. Also if some details are left out, the original blogger may not understand why the question is being asked or why certain words are being used.

WHATEVER....

I am not asking any of you dear readers to take sides. I am sure the people who regularly read Blog B. would understand her way of writing and would not have thought anything of the question. I am also sure that the people who regularly read my blog know I do not intend any disrespect when I post my blog or my comments.

I do hope if Blog B reads this blog entry, she will agree that we disagreed on the intent of the comments made by both of us and we can move on.

The last thing I want to start is a flame war. I have read too many of those "Blog A said and then Blog B said" and then it starts. Maybe we can just say the stresses and pressures of last few days just got to us and we misunderstood any comments made between us.

I hope this clears it up..

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!