My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:52 p.m. - 2008-10-03
TELL ME WHY.....
Friday, October 03, 2008

Currently Reading
More Than It Hurts You
By Darin Strauss

Hey Kids.....it's time for some................

SENIOR MOMENTS..............................

OMG! There really IS a game entitled SENIOR MOMENTS for us older folks....!

You can buy it on Amazon.com for $17.98 or $9.98 if it is used. And just think, there may be several that are hardly used because after all, we are older folks now!

But what I really meant to discuss were a couple of thoughts....ok.....more than a couple...
I have a few....ok....it's probably more than a few....

I have some, uh...several.... thoughts that I want to express.

First...... I was really impressed with the VP debate last night. I thought both the candidates did a good job. They mostly answered the questions. I think they both got their points of view across to the public. And even better, they both were dignified and interesting.

I think Sarah Palin got a couple of good remarks in...especially when she said "say it ain't so, Joe!" It was clever but not nasty. Joe Biden got in a dig about the "bridge to nowhere". I think they were even in that regard.

I didn't agree with everything each of them talked about but I did feel we do have two candidates who are sincere in backing their party and in fulfilling the promises made....as much as they can be -right before an election.

I was relieved that Sarah Palin pulled it together and obviously she worked very hard to be ready to debate. As Geraldine Ferraro said, we women wanted her to represent us well to pave the way for more female candidates in the future. I think she did a good job in that regard.

Sarah Palin does have a real great way of connecting with the audience. She does seem to believe everything she says. I don't know that I agree with all her beliefs but I do think she was sincere. The only thing I found annoying were the cute little expressions. "ya know,... ya darn right,.... back ya up there...and so on". I am sure it is how she talks in real life and would be difficult to break that habit. I don't know that I would be impressed if she spoke to Congress or a foreign dignitary or even continued to make speeches using those expressions.

But....on the other hand, I personally couldn't have done a 90 minute debate on national television so I give her a big compliment for that!

And Joe Biden,.....I was very impressed with him. I usually don't follow politics at all. I thought he got all the points across that he needed. I thought his explanation for things that he and Obama have done during their years of service were appropriate. I thought he continued to show good humor and friendliness and that he was a real gentleman.


Ok, on to other things.

Why is it that when I put clean sheets on our bed...that is when one of our cats decides she "needs" to crawl inbetween the clean sheets and sleep?

***

Why is it that I make all kinds of great plans on cleaning the house, or moving furniture or straightening out a closet the night before but when the day comes.....I am too tired and/or not very motivated?

Why is it that I love to read and bring home lots of good books from the library but I can't seem to settle down and read?

Why is it that I go to bed feeling fine and wake up with aches and pains or a headache?

How do my cats know that I have just put on a clean outfit because I am going out to do something and THAT is when they want to snuggle with me?

Why is it when I am involved with a project and using all my attention to work through it that my husband needs me immediately to help him with one of his projects?

Why is it when I decide I am not going to buy something on sale that as soon as it is NOT on sale, I need it?

Why is it that I had a lot of these very important thoughts to blog about and now I can't remember them?

Why is it that on Xanga.com I have all sorts of cute pictures and cartoons to add to the blog but I can't figure out how to do that on Diaryland?
***

We still have a hummingbird at our house. It has been cold this week and we were considering taking down the feeder and then today we say the hummingbird come by. We will keep the feeder going until we leave on our vacation in 3 weeks.

We are getting our flu shots next Monday at our City's Health Dept. I used to get them because I dealt with the public at my job. It was a common thing for a customer to come in and tell me as they were coughing and sneezing all over the counter that they had gotten out of a sick bed to come in! Argh! Lots of hand washing and spraying the counter after they left the building. Now, since we are both retired, we decided we still need the flu shots because our immunity system is probably not as strong since we stay at home most of the time.

While we are at the City offices, we are also going to cast our absentee ballots for President. We should be home from our vacation long before the actual election day but just in case......we want to be sure to cast our votes for our choices.

Oh, I almost forgot. I got my adult tricycle and I went for two rides yesterday. I did feel kind of dorky but I guess that it is all in my mind. I didn't fall over, I didn't get hurt, I enjoyed the rides and I will be going again.

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!