My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:15 p.m. - 2008-08-19
Doolittle and do more
Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Currently Reading
Belong to Me: A Novel
By Marisa De Los Santos

One of RH (retired husband) and my favorite artists is Bev Doolittle. We love her work because you can see so much in it. Not only the obvious things like horses or eagles or Indians but things hidden in the rest of the paintings.

A high school art teacher first recognized her unique talent and suggested she try out for a scholarship to an art school. She won a scholarship and took classes while she was still in high school. After graduation, she continued to study. She met and married her husband who was also an artist and they worked together for many years. Neither of them were satisfied with advertising illustrations. They took off and started exploring the Western part of the USA. Bev would often paint and sell her paintings at the tourist sites.

They also tried selling paintings at outdoor Art Shows and finally had some success. Bev started adding some extra features to the paintings. The detail was time consuming and often the prices she would ask for the pieces was not popular with the outdoor art shows. Finally, she started working with a gallery and came into her own.

RH and I especially like the painted horses and Indian pictures.

THE FOREST HAS EYES...... is the name of the print that we own. ****

In other news, we have two hummingbirds. We have sighted both of them. One appears to be young as it can't seem to find the place to put its beak into the sugar water container. It flies all around a hanging chime and flits over to the feeder but just can't figure it out. The two haven't come to the feeder together so I don't know if they are in the same group or not.

Since sighting the Cooper hawks two afternoons in a row, the number of birds coming around has decreased. We think they are hiding out. We have seen one yellow finch, robins and sparrows so hopefully, the hawks didn't catch any of the other birds.

*****

Are any of you sick of all the e-mails and jokes and other material flying around about the two candidates for president? I don't even read them any more. It just makes no sense to me to read all this stuff that probably isn't true. I guess I will be watching them debate once they have been nominated and try to make a good, informed choice from what they say. So far, I am not impressed with either of them. I want to know HOW they are going to make changes...not words about "what" they claim they are going to do to fix our country. The need we have is to find out HOW and WHEN we can hope for better things. Also, the choices for Vice President are going to be a huge factor in which person I vote for this time.

*****

Our step great-grandson is due on August 24th. We are all anxiously awaiting the birth of Michael Alexander and hoping for a healthy baby boy.

*****

RH and I watched a great movie over the weekend. THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL. It reawakened an interest in history for me and I will be looking for the book at the library.

Speaking of books, please check the title on the one at the top of my blog. I am only halfway through it and I love it so far. I also put in a request for 3 books at the library that I have been told are excellent. I will talk about them when I have read them.

*****

If you haven't ever tried it, go to flylady.com - it's really good.

*****

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!