My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:36 p.m. - 2008-08-14
Old doors, old friends, old memories

Thursday, August 14, 2008

Currently Reading
Comfort Food
By Kate Jacobs

Today started off with a ......

BANG!!!!!!

I was sitting at the table, cutting out coupons and working on my grocery list when I heard this loud noise. I looked up and saw the lower half of our one piece glass storm door had little marks all over it. I was just thinking..."I wonder why RH (retired husband) is running the sprinklers now?" Then I realized the glass was broken.... Then I thought..."It can't be THAT hot out this early in the morning that the cold water would have shattered the glass".

As I got up to go look at the door; it continued to crack and make noises. RH was standing in the yard in front of the porch with his lawn edger in his hands. Just as he said ...."it was a rock"; I saw the hole in the upper part of the glass and then the rest of the glass cracked into tiny pieces.

I heard more crackling and I said "I think I am going to shut the front door" about the same time RH said "SHUT THE DOOR!". As I quickly shut the door, I heard the glass start to fall out of the frame. I only had about 6 pieces to pick up off the carpet and I ran the sweeper over the carpet to get any loose pieces.

Now RH has a new project. He has used the outside vacumn to sweep up all the glass from the front porch. He will be checking the local Home Depot, Lowe's or Menard's store for a replacement door. We decided it would be easier and probably cheaper to replace the entire storm door than to try to get the glass replaced.

And yes, we did still have the glass insert in the door instead of the screen insert because we could open the door for the light....and so our cats could see out but we could still have the AC on. We also occasionally have stray cats come around and it is better to keep our housecats inside the house and hitting the glass insert than clawing their way up the screen trying to get to the stray cats.....

*******

We had a busy week last week. We went to a funeral home visitation and the funeral for one of RH's older aunts. We did see some relatives that we haven't seen since the last funeral....it's so sad that funerals seem to be the only time we get together anymore. All of us are getting older now and I guess those visits will become more frequent.....sad to say. It is also a constant reminder that WE are getting to be the older generation in the families now.

On Saturday, we also visited some friends who have a place by a lake in Michigan. There were a few other old friends there and we spent over 10 hours together talking and reminiscing.

On Sunday, I attended a baby shower for our step-granddaughter. She got a lot of nice gifts and I don't think the baby will need clothes for at least 6 months! The baby boy is due on August 24th.

This week RH and I each had lunch with a friend. RH lunches with his best friend every week. I lunched with a good friend and we try to see each other every few months.

On Saturday, we are driving out of town to visit another couple that we have known for years. Unfortunately, since our children have grown up, we don't see each other as often as we used to. It was so easy years ago to visit because their 6 children and our one child would play together. We adults would talk and play cards and have a cookout.

I haven't been blogging as much as I would like. I just don't seem to have much to say these days. Life is good for RH and me.

I read so many blogs that seem to be filled with difficulties. Some have serious health issues, many are going through martial problems or separations or divorce. Some have moved and are trying to get a better job. Times are tough in our country and it is very sad that so many are struggling to get by. I guess I feel like my life is going well and that I don't want to "brag" about it when other people are having such a hard time.

Maybe it is just the time of the year. School is starting again, people are getting busier with their families and daily jobs. Since RH and I have retired, our lives are very simple. We sleep until we want to get up, we can do most anything during the day. We don't have big expenditures to worry about (except for that new storm door!). We like our simple life and are very grateful for what we have.

I hope your week goes well and that you have a pleasant weekend too.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!