My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

11:13 a.m. - 2008-07-26
Chocholate soda and Evening In Paris

Saturday, July 26, 2008


I was thinking today about the first time I tasted an ice cream soda. It came in a glass like the picture above and even had the metal holder. I was probably about 10 years old. My two younger sisters and I were living with our mother. She had been divorced about 3 years and was working to support us. There was a small drug store with a soda fountain about 2 blocks from our home.

I know money was tight. It wasn't often that we got a treat. But, on occasion, if our mother had a few extra pennies left over; we would walk to the drug store and look at all the wonderful items for sale. There was a news stand with magazines and comic books there too. The pharmacist and other employees were extremely nice to us and we always felt welcome, even if we didn't buy anything.

So, anyway, one day, I asked for a chocolate soda. It seemed to have a sharp taste but the chocolate and the ice cream more than made up for any of that and I soon learned to love the drink. We sometimes ordered vanilla phosphates which was probably comparable to a Coke. There was another drink called Green River but I don't think I ever tasted that one.

...and of course, there was Root Beer, Cherry, Orange and so on.

Another memory of that old pharmacy was the time I wanted to buy my mother a Christmas gift. I saved up my allowance and walked the two blocks to the drug store. I knew EXACTLY what I wanted to buy. I had been standing at the perfume counter for weeks and probably had left my fingerprints on the glass case every time I lingered there. Finally, I made the decision.

BOURJOIS "EVENING IN PARIS"
MINI PERFUME BOTTLE
"Evening in Paris" classic cobalt blue lay-down bottle. Bakelite cap with tassel. Silver and blue foil label.

I imagine it cost about $1 at the time. I thought it was the most beautiful perfume container I had ever seen and the little tassel with cobalt blue and silver threads made it heavenly.

Oh my!...I was in love. It was perfect for my mother. I remember the pharmacist, himself, came to the counter and asked if he could help me. I told him I wanted to buy that little bottle of perfume and it was a Christmas gift for my mother. He asked me how much money I had and I carefully counted out my coins...saved from my allowance. I think I had about 54 cents.

"That's exactly what it costs!", he said with a big smile. Then he asked if I wanted it giftwrapped! What could make a little girl happier than that....

Looking back, that was one of the best memories I had. I was so proud that I bought my mother a wonderful gift and she was probably very surprised when she opened the package. I think she asked where I got it and I told the story about our friend, the pharmacist, at the neighborhood store.

I just found a replica of that bottle on the Internet and the bottle is now worth $28 in perfect condition. But, you know, if I still had that bottle, it would be priceless to me.

....

And coincidentally, that same pharmacy is where I drank my first Coca Cola too!.

#####

And, by the way, if you have seen MAMMA MIA in the movie theater, do you still have those ABBA songs running through your head too?

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!