My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:43 p.m. - 2008-06-10
It's Tuesday, we must be in Indiana
Tuesday, June 10, 2008

Currently Reading
Bright Shiny Morning
By James Frey


To those of you who live in the area where the recent heavy rains and flooding have occurred.....I wish you the best of luck. Indiana has over 23 countries which have been declared a disaster area.

Our ex-brother-in-law was renting a small house there in Franklin, which is south of Indianapolis. He was working in Ohio when his neighbors called to tell him over 10 inches of rain had fallen and that his truck was submerged up to its hood. They were being evacuated. They had been caring for his old golden retriever but couldn't take the dog. Our BIL starting driving back home. Fortunately, his Harley was his mode of transportation in Ohio so he could travel quickly. It's probably his most valuable possession...besides the dog.

When he got there the next day, the neighbors had gotten the dog out and he was safe. But the house's basement walls had collapsed and there was over 3 feet of water in the house. He said the whole neighborhood smelled like sewage. There were a few other houses on that street with collapsed basements and it all is going to be condemned. He probably won't have any insurance available for his personal possessions in the house. I don't know if he had comprehensive coverage on the truck which might cover the water damage. He lost everything he had in the house. And there is nothing we can do to help him out.

Since he has been working in Ohio and he is also in the Army Reserves out of Ohio, perhaps he will decide to relocate there. He had been talking about it but just had not made the move. He also could move to Texas where my sister lives. He does heavy equipment work so he might be able to get a job out there. It will be difficult for him to cut his ties to Indiana. He was born here, not too far from where we live. His only remaining relatives live in Michigan. Of course, we wish him the very best and hope that he can find some peace and happiness in another place.

RH (retired husband) is making the changes into retirement mode. He still feels like he needs to do something productive every day but he is taking plenty of breaks and sitting on the front porch. He reads the morning paper and drinks his Diet Pepsi and smokes his cigarettes. He is still working on the yard and it is getting into shape now. He has a huge pile of debris in the backyard that he wants to chip...but we have had rain nearly every day so it remains too wet to run through the chipper for now.

Our current project is to clean out our closets and the basement. We want to give anything that is good enough to Goodwill. I cleaned out my closet this morning. I have 2 huge bags for my DIL to try on and another huge bag for Goodwill. I also have a big box of misc. stuff to take. Once we go through the basement, we should have enough to make the run to Goodwill worth while. I also threw out about 20 shoe boxes of various sizes. I don't know why I kept them. I guess I thought they could make good shipping boxes but now I decided to just be wild and crazy and threw them in the trash. Of course, you know next week, I will need a box just their size for something. LOL.

I only wish the shoes that came in those boxes fit as comfortably as I had thought they would.

So, ok, I cleaned out my closet and color codes all my clothes. Boy, I have a lot of yellow, pink, red, green, turquoise, blue, purple and a few brown and black tops to wear. I really wouldn't need to buy anything new for years but you know how that goes.....

Hope you have a good day.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!