My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:25 p.m. - 2008-05-14
The Redneck Wedding Show
Wednesday, May 14, 2008

Currently Reading
The Redneck Wedding Planner
By Ophelia Bernice Peterson, Buck Peterson

Let me start out with a warning.....

I have been sick for over a week and a half and I haven't been sleeping well due to this creeping crud of a cold so my brain is not working as well as I could hope it would. Maybe it was the 15 minute coughing jag that caused me to become so confused.

Last night, I was bored with TV. I had an hour before watching Dancing With the Stars.....so I was channel surfing and I stopped on CMT.....OMG!

You won't believe what I watched....two episodes of reality tv with two different couples and their families. It was amazing and unbelievable and yet......they had so many similar expectations.

THE REDNECK WEDDING

Each couple wanted a special one-of-a-kind wedding with their friends and family. Each wanted to have an unusual ceremony and a nice reception. And based on the results; they got just what they wanted.

Our first couple is Amber and John.

Amber was taken to the local hall for the ceremony in a John Deere garden tractor with a cart. I "think" they
hosed the cart out before she got inside of it.

Here they are lighting the serenity candle. Note the camo veil on Amber's head and the matching tablecloth....

AND John's shirt for the special occasion.

This couple met in high school when Amber was 14 and John was 19. They have a 15 month old baby girl who goes mud bogging with them on a regular basis.

How they found a camo baby dress, I just don't know!!!!

What bride would not be wearing camo garters???

Here's the archway that John made.....he stopped the pet goat from eating it before the ceremony.

and....the cake...

Here's the wedding party. Note the camo theme through out the group's ensemble.

Amber's Maid of Honor also dressed to "kill"....

The Hall where the ceremony took place was also in a outdoor hunting theme decor. They had bales of hay all over the floor, with several stuffed animals brought in by the various members of the wedding party to show off their gun skills.

The men's bachelor party consists of the men going out hunting for a wild pig which they brought back to the trailer and roasted for the reception. They also went mud bogging after the ceremony. The highlight of their evening was the greased pig race. Not to worry, the groom washed the pig in the trailer bathtub before the reception, then greased it up with lard. And Amber was delighted when she caught the pig and put it in a t-shirt winning the contest. This woman can really bring home the bacon and fry it up in a pan.

The couple gave meaningful gifts to each other too. Amber traded her old couch to a guy who had a rack for a pickup that John wanted. She also bought him a set of fog lights to complete her gift. And John was a real romantic guy; he got her a set of butchering knives for the next hog he shoots and bring home.

It has to be true love......

The second couple was Tami and Brad. She was married before and has a 6 year old son. They actually had a decent looking house with a finished basement that Brad calls the Man Cave complete with a Kegger!

He took his "boys" out to the woods to fire off as many shotgun shells as possible to make up the table centerpieces.

Here's the lovely couple in their wedding apparel. Note the camouflage insert in her dress...and I know you can't see it but she is also wearing a braided camouflage hairband and....brand new brown hunting boots too.

Here's what they will be riding off into the sunset in....along with her sweet little boy who made a beautiful speech about loving his new Daddy and wanting to be "just like Brad".

The common theme seemed to be drinking beer, wearing camo, shooting off shotguns and mud bogging.....

Ok, I think I need to lie down down. I am not feeling well at all.

If you can go on http://www.xanga.com/myseniormoments...
that is my other blogsite and there are pictures. Sorry I never figured out how to do pictures on Diaryland.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!