My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:07 p.m. - 2008-04-15
Blahs and Munchies
Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Currently Listening
I'm Alright
By Jo Dee Messina

I've got the blahs!!!!!! It's still not quite Spring here in northern Indiana and I am sick of my winter coat. I am sick of grey skies and damp cold weather. I am sick of gloom and doom and "poor me" and "woe is me" and all that other stuff that is floating around my head.

I have no reason to feel this way. I just do! So There!

So, I turned to my Simple Abundance book and the last few essays are about LEARNING TO LOVE AND HONOR YOUR BODY...

Just kill me now!

It goes on to say that we need to really LOOK at ourselves and honor who we are. Breathe out stress and negativity, breathe in oxygen and positive energy. Pamper ourselves with comfortable clothes, quiet moments and soothing beauty rituals. "Today, instead of hating your body, make peace with it."

The next essay is THE ONLY WEIGHT LOSS AID YOU WILL EVER NEED....

Ok, let's see what it says. "Don't fight your hunger...respect it and honor it with good and nutritious food that appeals to all your senses." Ok, that makes sense but "trusting our bodies to tell us what it needs is scary to most women. We're afraid that if we throw out all the diets and eat when we are hungry, we'll never stop...."

"The more we starve ourselves, the more we end up eating, the more weight we eventually gain and we end up hating ourselves all over and the cycle repeats and repeats. The only way to stop this cycle is to stop dieting and use common sense. Eat when you are hungry...drink when you are thirsty, sleep when you're tired, get in harmony with your body with exercise and nourish your soul."

The next essay is WHEN YOU HUNGER AND THIRST... "We women wallow in our lives. We think this keeps it manageable. Whenever we are troubled, anxious, worried, nervous, depressed...what do we usually do?


We swallow our life. We stuff down our fears, doubts, worries, scary thoughts with all the food we can cram down our throats. We feel miserable anyway. We need to figure out what we are really hungry for....

"Many of us are not underfed but spiritually undernourished. We need to ask our authentic self - what do I NEED? How can I care for myself at this moment? The next time you start to put something in your mouth, stop for a moment and focus. Are you really hungry for food or just anxious? If you are anxious, try to do something else...walk around the block, listen to music, read a few chapters of a book, do something creative"

The next essay is DISCOVERING THE MOMENTUM OF CREATIVE MOVEMENT.

Ok, it's a fancy word for EXERCISE! Don't call it exercise. Most of us don't want to do it and have a million excuses why we don't do it. So, Simple Abundance suggests calling it by another name. Creative Movement...

It could be roller skating, swimming, yoga, riding a bike, walking, Tai Chi or simply dancing. Just Do Something.

That really makes sense....so....hmmmm.
Ok....as soon as I finish off this bag of Tostitoes with Lime, I'm out of here!

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!