My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

11:16 a.m. - 2008-04-08
Galveston, oh Galveston......
The Kween of the Queens most recent writing challenge

What's the most romantic gift you've ever received?

The Parameters:

Gift can also mean a verbal / or written,anything that comes unexpected, a gift which is not for a special occasion like birthday xmas etc. Something that's totally out of the blue!

Specifics are up to you!

***************************

I have been with my husband for several years. We have exchanged gifts on many occasions besides the usual birthdays, Christmas and anniversaries. In thinking back over the years, there have been a number of very nice gifts that took a lot of creative thought.

I once bought my husband a saddle from the riding stable where he went on Saturday. I bought it over the phone, asked the seller to tell him that it had been sold and asked her to keep it until after the holiday so I could completely surprise my husband. Once I purchased a huge tool chest from Sears and even convinced my husband to pick it up and store it in our garage telling him it was a surprise that my mother was getting for my father. Once I bought him a huge bright green wheelbarrow and hide it in my closet for over a month.

But this entry is about the most romantic gift "I" ever received......

My husband was equally as creative. For our 25th wedding anniversary, he once had a chicken stuffed by a taxidermist because I collect hen and roosters figurines. He and his best friend even built a "chicken coop", covered it with plexiglass on top and painted it so I could use it as an end table. I still have that stuffed chicken but it is in our basement area now.

He once replaced my wedding band and engagement ring when the prong kept breaking. He chose a new band and used the original diamond. He has sent me flowers over the years. He bought me my first Vera Bradley purse because it had hen and chicks on it because I was having a lot of stress at work.

But the best and probably the gift that touched me the most was just over a year ago. It was a few days after his sister had passed away. We were driving to Texas because we had a cruise that had been planned for several months. We were still very upset about losing his sister. As we got to the area in the highway where we had to turn South to get to Galveston, he remarked that if he turned North, I could be at my sister's home in a few hours. It really made me sad. When we got to Galveston, he handed me his cell phone and told me to call my sister. He said after the cruise was over in a week, he would drive me to my sister's house and I could stay for another week and fly home. That was probably the best gift I ever had. I got to see both of my sisters and I will never forget it.

I am a lucky woman.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!