My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:34 p.m. - 2008-04-03
Who I am....
Currently Listening
Yes I Am
By Melissa Etheridge


WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU GROW UP??????????

According to Simple Abundance, we can still make that decision. So....what would you want to BE if you had another few lives to lead? Who would you BE if not the YOU that you are now? Think about your secret self. How would you live? What would you do? What would you dream? How would you dress?

So, now....what can you do to bring some of those dreams into reality...into the everyday existence you are living now? If you dream of being a country western singer, you might try to bring some of the dazzle of their costumes into your normal everyday dress. You could add a red pair of cowboy boots or a fancy scarf or unusual piece of jewelry. If you dream of being a doctor, you could volunteer to work at a hospital in some capacity. If you dream of having children, you could babysit for your friends. If you want to be a famous chef, you could take some cooking classes. If you want to be an actress, you could join a community theater.

Look within today and have some fun.

When I was in high school and it was time to make a decision on a path to a career, I was sure I wanted to be a librarian. I loved to read and I thought it would be a perfect fit until I found out that college was a requirement. I couldn't afford to go to college so I changed my thoughts towards what I could do with the finances I had available.

I had been "forced" by my mother to take typing in my junior year. I found out that I really liked it. I then took two years of Office Practice which were classes involving working as a secretary. I liked that too. In fact, I liked it so much that I went to the College of Commerce in our hometown. I took the shortest course which was the cheapest too. It was a stenography course which lasted for 9 months. I learned Speed Writing which was a form of shorthand.

I learned about all the "tricks" in using a manual typewriter. YES, PEOPLE....IT WAS THAT LONG AGO!

I learned to use office equipment and in the final weeks of the course, I was sent out on interviews. I got an offer and actually started my first job in May and did not have to attend the final weeks of the college. They did give me a diploma based on my grades before I left for work. And, probably, because I was hired through their job placement system, they wanted my name on the list of graduates. I worked for that company for several years.

And, in fact, after I got married and we moved....very briefly...to Florida and came back to Indiana, I was rehired a few months later at the same job but in a different position. I worked there until I had my baby.

That began my new "job" as a mother. I really enjoyed those years. I was able to stay home for 6 years. My son started afternoon kindergarten and I babysat for a baby girl. I had her nearly a year before I decided it was time to go back to a real job and get some benefits.

I went on a few interviews for office work and finally got a position as a claims secretary for an insurance company. That proved to be the beginning of a wonderful career. I started as the second secretary and worked my way up the ranks. I became the head secretary within a year, then went on to become an office claims adjuster, a outside claims adjuster and finally a Senior claims adjuster. I was with that company for 25 years.

During that time, I learned to use and operate all sorts of new equipment. Copy machines, electric typewriters, word processors and computers. It was a big change during that period of my life.

Now I am in a new life path. I have been retired for over a year and a half. I am adjusting to just being ME. I am not a career person anymore. I don't feel any identity outside of being a wife. I am my own person.

I still am wondering what I will be when I grow up. And who I am.

**Do you have any idea who I am?

**You are so Off my buddy list.


there's a big wide world out there so I am going out to find out who I am.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!