My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:47 a.m. - 2008-03-12
Hair, clothing and you
My husband bought me a Betsey Johnson wristwatch on our most recent cruise. It's an acrylic with a hinged opening. It's so cute~! It is white with tiny pink rosebuds on it. I decided to wear it today to celebrate that Spring just might be on its way to Northern Indiana. We continue to have snow but the sun has actually been coming out nearly every day and the snow has melted....Except for those two hunks that are still sitting on either side of our driveway. You know..the mounds that are actually chunks of ice slowly melting as the sun shines on them.

The most recent essays in Simple Abundance have been about our appearance...the authentic one. This would be the inner and outer look we have. If you are like me, your hairstyle probably hasn't changed much and your makeup is probably whatever you have left over in your makeup bag.

In the 70's I had long hair. It was the fashion then. I loved it. I had long dark curly hair. If it were straight, it would have almost touched my waist in the back. Of course, it took forever to dry because we used those wire rollers with the brush coiled inside of the wire. They were really hard to sleep in....I learned a new appreciation for sleeping on my stomach. Then I tried the plastic ones which were the siae or frozen orange juice cans.... I know you are wondering why....if I have curly hair, I needed rollers....it was to keep some control over the curl...

After a few years, when I returned to the world of employment when my son was 6 years old, I cut my hair.

Of course, then polyester was my friend. I loved those clothes and they were so easy to wash and wear. I don't understand why the fashion is for wrinkly cotton that shrinks so badly now.

But, enough about me and the past.

Simple Abundance suggests that since we all get into a rut about our hair, our clothing, our makeup and even our home furnishings, we should gather a lot of mail-order catalogs and start tearing out pictures of clothing and hair styles and furnishings that we like. Forget about the cost or if our body can fit into the clothes...just pick out what you really are drawn to. Then make yourself a promise. "...discover your own sense of style, be willing to NOT buy another piece of clothing unless you absolutely can not live without it. No more SETTLING for something that is not YOU." "...discover the joy of surrounding yourself with things you love and ....wear clothes that make you look and feel fabulous. Let the power of simplicity begin to work in your life. If it's not authentically you..., live without it."

"Probably you have been taught that how we present ourselves to the world is important. Unfortunately our outside appearance counts for more than it really should." Often if we don't believe we live up to normal expectations. We start to dislike ourselves. As you learn to like yourself, you will feel the glow of your inner light and it will reflect to the outside world.

There has been a basic truth to fashion as long as I have had any interest in it at all. Go with the basics. Have a good pair of black slacks, a black skirt, a comfortable neutral color dress that can be dressed up. A good white blouse, a decent trench coat or raincoat that can be used in Spring or Fall. Perhaps a jacket or two to put over the basics and some jewelry. Some of us like the classic look and some of us like to have a dash of color.

Whatever you find yourself drawn to is probably what you will wear the most. I bet all of you have some items in your closet that you wear over and over. That is the type of clothing you are comfortable wearing and believe reflects the authentic you.

HAPPY HUNTING

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!