My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:21 p.m. - 2008-02-29
Leap Year 2008
I'm sure someone will post about the reason for Leap Year and all the various customs connected to this special day in February. Lots of people get married on Leap Year Day or are born on February 29th...so I am not going to mention it - other to acknowledge this 29th day only comes every 4 years.

According to Simple Abundance, this extra day gives us another day of grace. We are to ask for a day of grace as always and hope that our "spiritual daily bread" is requested. But if it is not, or we don't recognize what we have received; the hope is that we will be content and ask for another day of grace tomorrow.

Another suggestion is to create a sacred place. It doesn't have to be an altar for worship or even take much space. It is just an area where you have placed objects that are special to you. Maybe you have a little plastic table that your children don't use any more. Or something you used outside for plants that you can spare. You can cover it with wallpaper or a piece of fabric and create a little "nook"

A scented candle, a pretty remmant of fabric, perhaps a picture of yourself as a child, pictures of your loved ones, little items that bring back good memories or are representative of things you would like to have or places you would like to visit. You can use the top of a dresser or a corner in your kitchen, a shelf in a bookcase. Just some area which is YOURS and only yours.... This area will be a place where you can focus your thoughts, lose yourself in possibilities or just dream for a moment or two each day about the life you want.

"Don't think it might work for other women but not for you. ....be open to allowing a creative, sacred space to come into your world. If you are open....Spirit will do the rest." Just trust in your authentic self and believe it will happen and you may be very pleasantly surprised.

Today one of my simple pleasures was changing the decor of the grapevine wreath I hang on my front door.

You may remember that my husband painted the door a beautiful rich red last year. I usually change the decor of the grapevine wreath a few times during the 4 seasons. I had last had some poinsettia flowers and red ribbons on the wreath. I decided, today, that it was time to think about Spring. I removed the red flowers and ribbons and replaced them with white and yellow daisy-like flowers. It really made an impact against the red background. I love it and it cheers me up everytime I open the door.

Another simple pleasure was changing the bathroom towels, changing the sheets on our bed, removing one of the quilts and doing the laundry. I always feel like I have accomplished something when these tasks are done. And removing the quilt is my belief that Spring is really going to come soon.

And another simple pleasure was receiving the last of the birthday gifts we have selected for our daughter in law. We are really looking forward to seeing her face when she receives the gifts. Especially since she gave us a list of what she would like but she doesn't know what we really purchased. (She reads this blog so it should give her something to think about for another week!)

And if you have a place, this would be the time to plant some seeds inside the house and start watching them grow. By the time they are ready to be transplanted outside, the earth may be warm enough and you will have a great start on a flower garden.

So sayth my wise daughter-in-law! Now go forth and plant some beauty~!.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!