My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:33 p.m. - 2008-01-16
lost innocence
I'm feeling blue today. I want to find some simple pleasures and I know that I can but....for right now, I am just feeling B.L.U.E.

I got some information about two members of my family circle that really have made me so sad.

One very young member of our family just told her mother that over Christmas Break, a boy that is old enough to drive a car, took her to get some ice cream. She has been in the car with this boy before. This time, he took her to a parking lot and tried to molest her.... Well, I guess he DID molest her.....but he didn't rape her. She said she tried to get away from him and she told him NO! several times. This little jerk told her that all "women say NO but they really mean Yes!". Someone pulled into the parking lot and he stopped....Thank God!

She finally told a couple of her girlfriends when school was back in session and went to a school counselor. The counselor told her to tell her mother which she did....last night. So she has been suffering with what happened for about 3 weeks.

Apparently she has been taken to a police station and talked with an officer. He said if she doesn't want to prosecute (she is under the age of 16) that he can make out a report, give it a number and the boy's name will be on file. We suspect this boy has done this before to other girls and may be working up to a full rape before long.

The officer also said he could call the boy's parents and the girl can make a statement at the police station in front of his parents and the boy. Of course, I can well imagine that she would have a difficult time doing that and the boy is going to deny everything.

She and her mother will be talking to the police officer again this week and make a decision what they want to do next. I feel so bad for her. I know what it is like to be molested. I know how it can impact your life forever. She has lost her innocence, her trust and maybe some of her self worth and her confidence over this... And all because of some jerk of a young man.

The other sad situation involves another female family member who is not quite as young. But still she has lost her innocence too. She may be pregnant. She will find out for sure next week when she sees her doctor. In the meantime, she is trying to figure out what to do. She wants to continue her education, she will have to get more hours at her part-time job and she will forever be changed by this event. If she is pregnant; I am sure she will be a very loving mother. I just feel bad for her that she is going to have to grow up so quickly.

So my simple pleasures for today include the fact that both of these girls told their parents, they are being fully supported in love by family members. I hope they will regain their trust in others and in themselves for choices that were made. I hope these two events will turn into lessons well learned and that both of them continue on to become the fine young ladies that they are.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!