My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:48 p.m. - 2008-01-10
Kitchen reorganizing and a phone call
Thursday, January 10, 2008

Currently Reading
Real Simple: The Organized Home (Real Simple)
By Editors of Real Simple Magazine

Today I wanted to clean out some bottom cabinets in my kitchen. As most of us know, the bottom cabinets are usually not very easy to keep organized. In my case, the largest section is one side of an L-shape. Therefore, on the bottom cabinets, there is a large area that is not easy to reach and basically is useless. I think it is called the "blind corner".

The useless section is the cabinet right in the center of the "L". The upper cabinet has a circular opening for storage...not as good as having the lazy susan built in as I had in our previous house. Even the bottom cabinet in that house had 2 lazy susans...It was wonderful.

I am checking into putting one or two of the half-moon organizers in that lower cabinet. I am tired of having to pull out all the various items stacked in the bottom area to get to just one thing I want to use. Granted, I don't cook that often that I need to have access to those items, but it was a source of irritation to me. Not to mention, the pile of "stuff" that was constantly falling over or out when I opened up a door. I really liked using the lazy susan as the pantry for my canned goods instead of using an upper cabinet as I do now.

Since I am all about finding Simple Pleasures these days, I decided to look for alternatives to make my life less messy and more organized. I knew I couldn't afford a full kitchen remodel (after all, this house isn't THAT old!).

I was reading one of my magazines...coincidentally titled... REAL SIMPLE! Do we sense a "theme" here? I recommend this magazine...it gives such good ideas and suggestions. I found some things I thought could work. I didn't purchase the units that were in the magazine but I did find some less expensive ones at our local home supply store.

We bought two sliding kitchen drawers to be put in the bottom of two of the cabinets.


I think these could be helpful. I am going to try to put in items that I use most often. With the sliding drawer factor, it could make my life much easier, not to mention help me keep more organized. My husband will be installing these inserts this weekend.

If the half-moon revolving insert is compatible and affordable for the "blind corner" bottom cabinet; I will rethink the storage in the bottom of that lower cabinet. But for now, I emptied out the bottom cabinets and put a box of lesser used items in the far back corner of the "L". With a box, I should be able to grab it and pull it close enough to get out whatever I need. Things like large Tupperware containers. You know, the things you always need for one occasion a year but something you don't need falling out of the cabinet all the time?

I am aware that Tupperware makes collapsible containers now but I just can't justify buying new containers for something I "might" use once or twice a year. There are only two of us living here so having storage containers usually means some Glad containers.

After I finished with the bottom cabinets, I started on the upper cabinets. Since before the holidays, I have been buying extra flour, white sugar, brown sugar, confectioners sugar, chocolate chips and marshmallows. I don't think it would be difficult for you to understand that somehow all those 2 lb. and 5 lb. packages don't fit into the cabinets so well. So finally, I cleaned out some storage containers (yes, the big Tupperware!) and put all those items in there. I threw out a big bagful of items that were probably brought into this house when we moved in about 5 years ago! I always feel so bad about throwing away food but I sure don't want to take a chance on using some outdated staples and making anyone sick. Also, the staples don't always bake up properly after the time has expired. I do have a new appreciation for companies that put the "expiration date" in month and year form. It makes it so much easier to know if I should toss it or not.

So, for today, my simple pleasure was getting my cabinets cleaned out and partially put back together. I have the rest of the bottom cabinets items to put back once the two new sliding drawers are in place. Hopefully, this will make my life easier and more satisfying.

For any of you who want to start decluttering your home, I highly recommend www.flylady.com.

She gives you great tips on getting into a more organized way of cleaning and it doesn't take very long to get to the point where it is not a big effort any more. I have not followed her suggestions for a few months but I am going to get back into the habit of doing these little chores every day.

Another simple pleasure I had today was a phone call from a former coworker I have known for over 30 years. She started as a secretary with the company we worked for when she was about 18 years old. She had just graduated from high school. We worked together at the same company for 25 years. I watched her mature and become more confident in her working abilities. She just called because she is seriously considering making a huge change in her career. She wanted my advice. I was so flattered that she still thought enough of me to ask my opinion. Even better, she really wanted my ideas and told me she felt so much better about moving forward now that she had talked to me. I wish her the very best and I think the possible change in her work will impact her life in a very good way. Strangely enough, it may give her some simple pleasures again.

The Simple Abundance essay for today is titled UNTIL IT IS CARVED IN STONE. The message was that until we are buried and have a tombstone, our heart's desire is possible every day once we know what we need to be happy. "This is the season of Epiphany when the renewal of light and revelation is celebrated in...... the churches." "We seek everyday epiphanies ....and come to the awakening....that we cannot afford to throw away even one "unimportant" day by not noticing the wonder of it all." "We have to be willing to discover and... appreciate the.... moments of happiness available to all of us every day."

Today I discovered simple pleasures in "moments of happiness" when I cleaned out and reorganized some kitchen cabinets and also I got a phone call from an old acquaintance who valued me enough to ask for my opinion.

Life is good, really.....it is.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!