My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:20 p.m. - 2007-12-23
It's almost here!!!
Sunday, December 23, 2007

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

The wind is blowing, snow is falling, the oven has been running for about 3 hours, I have washed dishes several times including running the dish washer, my neck aches, my legs hurt, I'm hot and I'm tired. Making food from scratch can be a really hard thing to do. Lucky, I don't do it much!

It's exhausting!

I made 2 kinds of cracker mixtures, puppy chow* See my blog of November 29th.

Today I made 2 cookie bar desserts and a chocolate cake. I "tweaked" the cookie bars so I am not sure they are all they could be but.....whatever! I tasted one of the cookie bar recipes and it is not as sweet as I wanted so I guess I will dust it with powdered sugar before serving! Hopefully, it will pass.

The other one took white chocolate chips and raspberry jam but I added regular chocolate chips and red and green chocolate chips and mini-marshmallows! I just cut a small piece and it's delicious. It looks a bit wierd with all the colors but it's CHRISTMAS!!!! Thank goodness it tastes good because I also doubled the recipe. I just have to frost the chocolate cake and I should be done....

until tomorrow!

If you need just ONE more recipe for Christmas, here's a quick and easy one to make.....

MEOW MIX SNACK CRACKERS.

3-6 oz. packages of colored Goldfish crackers (or you can buy a box of 11 oz and a bag...(whatever)

1 envelope dry ranch dressing mix

3 tsp. dried dill weed

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp lemon pepper

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper if you want it spicy

2/3 cup vegetable oil.

Mix all ingreditents in a large roasting pan. Bake at 250 degrees for 20 minutes, stirring after 10 minutes.

Cool and pack in air-tight container.

*****

Tomorrow I need to reclean the guest bathroom, move some of the things I use off the counter and neaten it up. I will also re-vacumn the living room carpet. I probably should quickly mop the kitchen floor although one of my sisters-in-law told me a long time ago that she doesn't bother because with all the company; the floor gets tracked on right away.

GOOD POINT!

I WISH YOU ALL A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR.

AND FOR 2008******

Lord, My soul is ripped with riot
incited by my wicked diet.
"We Are What We Eat," said a wise old man!
and, Lord, if that's true, I'm a garbage can.

I want to rise on Judgment Day, that's plain!
but at my present weight, I'll need a crane.
So grant me strength, that I may not fall
into the clutches of cholesterol.

May my flesh with carrot-curls be dated,
that my soul may be poly unsaturated
And show me the light, that I may bear witness
to the President's Council on Physical Fitness.

And at oleomargarine I'll never mutter,
for the road to Hell is spread with butter.
And cream is cursed; and cake is awful;
and Satan is hiding in every waffle.

Mephistopheles lurks in provolone;
the Devil is in each slice of baloney,
Beelzebub is a chocolate drop,
and Lucifer is a lollipop.

Give me this day my daily slice
but, cut it thin and toast it twice.
I beg upon my dimpled knees,
deliver me from jujubees.

And when my days of trial are done,
and my war with malted milk is won,
Let me stand with Heavenly throng,
In a shining robe--size 2 wouldn't be wrong.

I can do it Lord, If You'll show to me,
the virtues of lettuce and celery.
If You'll teach me the evil of mayonnaise,
of pasta a la Milannaise
potatoes a la Lyonnaise
and crisp-fried chicken from the South.

Lord, if you love me, shut my mouth!!!!!!!!!!!.

****

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!