My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:15 p.m. - 2007-11-06
A family Thanksgiving....or not?

Tuesday, November 06, 2007

You know, I spent several minutes trying to copy and paste some cartoons about menopause...and some of them were really funny. However, the cartoonist didn't want to share.....and the cartoons wouldn't copy over.

Now ....if I were filled with menopausal symptoms, that just MIGHT MAKE ME GET UPSET!!!!

OK. I feel much better now....

So, yesterday I had a real adventure. I met and had lunch with another blogger. She write on Xanga.com. It was my first time to venture out into the world and meet another blogger face to face. It was a wonderful experience. I recognized her from the many pictures she has posted on her own site. Of course, she had no idea what I looked like. As I confessed to her, I don't post pictures of myself or my family online....probably because I used to work with the public and my husband and son still do. I just felt it was better to be unrecognizable....but if you want to know what I look like.. go to http://www.xanga.com/valreads .

So, did all of you vote today? It is the typical November voting Tuesday....very cold, windy and rainy/snow.

Since we had such a wonderful Indian Summer with warm weather and lots of sunshine; it is a real drastic change in our weather. I actually did a little Christmas shopping after I voted because it just seemed like the right season to get busy buying little gifts. And thanks to valreads....I found some great calendars at an extremely reasonable price. I bought 10!!!!! for gifts!!!!!

It looks like our usual family Thanksgiving (which has been hosted for years by a BIL and his wife) is cancelled forever. This is the same BIL that I posted about just about this time of year in 2006. He is the only sibling who refused to visit his dying sister. She passed on November 16, 2006 and his relationship with the family has changed since then. It is his choice because the rest of us, especially those who live in our area, would have been more than willing to reopen our arms if he had just made some type of welcome. About a month ago, he did call us and they stopped by our house for about an hour. I really thought they were testing the waters and trying to break the ice. I was certain they would be inviting everyone for Thanksgiving. But, it is less than 16 days away and we have not heard a word. So....I guess I will be having a small family gathering at my house for our son and DIL, and step-granddaughters.

It's sad to think those great big family celebrations may be over.
Not many of the older relatives left and we siblings are getting up in years too....

We will be extending our invitation to the family to celebrate Christmas Eve with us before long. I wonder if the BIL and his family will accept our invitation or completely cut off contact. In the past, it has not been unusual for them to take a cruise or go to Vegas over the holidays.

Ok, guess that is enough for today....

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!