My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

11:58 a.m. - 2007-10-10
Autumn thoughts
Wednesday, October 10, 2007

Currently Reading
Peony in Love: A Novel
By Lisa See


Good Morning! It is so cold here today. Two days ago, we had a record high of 89 degrees....in October! And today, it is in the low 50s. We didn't want to turn on our furnace yet but we may have to do that before we leave on our vacation. Bummer! The leaves have just started to turn and with the record highs; we may not have a very colorful fall season to enjoy before the leaves just turn brown and fall off the trees. Hopefully we will see some great fall foliage while we are gone. We will be in the Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky areas and possibly West Virginia before we visit some relatives in North Carolina for a day. Just a short trip.

So....what else is going on in my life? Hmmmm. Not much. Husband may have to postpone our vacation a few days due to problems in the city....with a huge claim. I know he won't be able to relax until this situation is handled so he may want to stay available until it is over. That means changing our departure from this Friday to next Tuesday.... This means I am at a standstill for now. I don't need groceries....unless we are still here until Tuesday. I don't want to pack suitcases in case we need some of the clothing over the weekend. Oh well, guess I will just have to watch TV and read until the decision is made. Poor me!

Son and DIL just celebrated their 4th wedding anniversary and spent a long weekend in upper Michigan. They are into geo-caching which I have discussed before. They found about 10 more caches during their little getaway. Geo-caching is like a high tech treasure hunt. Using coordinates and a GPS, you look for hidden boxes with a trinket. If you find one, you sign a record book with the box, take a picture (without disclosing where the treasure is), take the trinket and leave another, or rehide the trinket in the box where you found it. They have found nearly 400 caches by now. You can read about it online if you want more info. As geocachers say....You use high tech, expensive stuff to find a Tupperware container hidden in the dirt...!

Our step-granddaughter will be staying at our house while we are gone. Now, of course, we need to let her know if our departure date changes....I bought her all the food and snacks she likes so I hope she is here to eat them...otherwise.....Uh Oh! (that would be me eating it all!)

So, let's see, what else is in the news and on my mind. Oh yes...Do you think JLO is pregnant? and do you care? At least she is married.....what a concept for a celebrity!

And what can we say about Britney. That girl needs someone to tell her the truth and convince her to get some serious help before she completely destroys her career. I do feel sorry for her....she needs some really good advice from someone she respects.

Hey, Notre Dame won a game! I was happy for the home town team. This may help them get over the losing streak and at least make a better showing.

So....what else? Hmmm. Oh yes, I found out something yesterday that I didn't know. I was having my acrylic nails "filled". One of them had come loose last week and I super-glued it. That is a no-no! When she removed the false nail, there was some green on my real nail....fungus was starting to grow! Thankfully, it had just started and she was able to remove the area and treat the nail. DON'T EVER USE GLUE TO KEEP YOUR FALSE NAILS ON...according to her. She said to either put a bandaid on the top to keep the nail from being moved or get to the salon so they can repair it properly. She said the best thing is to remove the acrylic nail by clipping the end where your real nail has grown out and pulling the acrylic nail off. You can soak your nails in nailpolish remover to soften it up as well.

Ok, I guess that is enough rambling for today. Hope you are having a good day where you are.


analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!