My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:28 p.m. - 2007-09-21
September thoughts
Friday, September 21, 2007

GOOD AFTERNOON....isn't it a beautiful day?

My husband just yelled for me to hurry outside. I knew it had to be something important in the sky because I could hear a loud drone. When I got outside, he pointed up past the trees.

IT WAS THE GOODYEAR BLIMP! Actually, it isn't that unusual to see the blimp around our area this time of year. It often comes over a weekend. It is parked at an airport a few miles away. The pilots take the blimp out and about to practice their moves. Since we live on the East side of one town, we can often watch it during the Saturday flight. But, today it was very low and very close to our area. We think the blimp was probably taking some passengers on a short flight.

The reason it is in our area this time of year is....football!!!

Yes, it is that time of year and we do live near a college town. Neither my husband nor myself are real sports fans. He doesn't watch the games, he doesn't want to attend the games, he just doesn't have a real interest in sports and especially not our local college games.

This year, I have to admit, that it is hard to watch. I don't care much for sports either but I have been known to turn on the tv on a Saturday to just see how our boys are doing. And it is a bit thrilling to tell people where we live and who the team is. But not so far, this year!

Our team has lost the first 3 games of their season. I don't follow the stories much but I do know that the team is apparently a "young" team. Lots of the good players graduated after the last season and the coach is starting over. The coach has been here a couple of years. He has purchased a home, set up a wonderful charity foundation and has said he is committed to living here. He has two children and said this is a great town for his family. The only problem is....the new team. Lots of freshmen, lots of learning to do, lots of training and working and meshing to be completed.

I hope he can get them into a good, aggressive and hard working team before long. It is time....

The university library has a beautiful mosaic on the entire side of the building facing the stadium. It is called TOUCHDOWN JESUS....It can be seen looking over the goalposts and it is famous in our area.

Another famous sight here is Regis Philbin, graduate and big fan of our local university.

Yes, I am talking about Notre Dame University in Notre Dame, Indiana

It is beautiful this time of year when the leaves have changed color and the air is crisp, the sky is blue and there is a feeling of something special in the air.

I hope Victory is soon in the air as well.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!