My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:12 p.m. - 2007-08-14
The later years
Tuesday, August 14, 2007

OATMEAL & KISSES - THE LATER YEARS

As many years passed; life had changed for all of Patricia�s daughters.

Terri and Dean got married when they were 20 years old. A few years later, Dean began his 20 year career as a police officer. They had one child, a son named Daniel. They are still married and their son is also married. His wife is like a daughter to Dean and Terri and they couldn�t have picked a better daughter-in-law. They have two step-granddaughters too. Terri worked for many years in the insurance claims industry and retired in July, 2006. Dean is retired from the police department and now works for the City government.

Ginny went to college. She taught elementary school for a couple of years in her home town. She married a teacher who then went on to medical school and became a doctor of internal medicine. They adopted a daughter and had a son. Their son died early in life due to cancer. Ginny does not communicate with her sisters. She lives in downtown Chicago, Il.

Bonnie left school early in her life. She moved around the country, got married, had 3 daughters and got divorced. She currently lives alone in Texas.

Mary went to college in Texas, got a Masters in Math, married, had two children, moved from Kansas to Connecticut to Texas, got a job teaching, got a divorce and is currently living with her children in Texas.

In early 1990, Patricia had been living alone. Her husband, Raymond, had passed away. Patricia had gone back to work when Raymond retired. She had a job as a proofreader for Ava Maria Press in South Bend, In. She also took some art classes at the Art Center, learning about the various types of art and many artists. In return for this free education, she became a docent for the Art Center. She had an opportunity to give tours and to attend the various showings throughout the year. Additionally, she also took up a new passion... Ballroom dancing. She loved it. I am sure she fantacized that she was dancing in Paris when she attended the classes. She also joined a dance group that performed for some of the Senior Homes around the area.

She finally resumed writing poems and they were published in the local newspaper. She often entered poetry contests and would use a pen name in order to try for various prizes. And she did. She often won in more than one catagory under more than one pen name within the same contest.

*****

Blue Birthday

It�s my birthday and no one remembered

No birthday cards, no ringing of the phone

No one is sending their best wishes

No one at all, Indeed I�m quite alone.

But I have memories of sweeter times

When there were gifts and kisses by the score

Yes, I remember all the lovely yesterdays

And how I wish they could be mine once more.

Oh how I�d treasure every moment

When flowers bloomed and skies were blue

But here again, it is my birthday

And I�m alone and missing you.

******

NEW CAR BLUES

I�m feeling like a princess

Or a well-known TV star

As I buzz along the highway

In my brand-new, shiny car.

I�m breaking in the feeling

Of a high that�s unexpected

People show their warm approval

Of the color I�ve selected.

They discuss my car�s efficency

And the mileage I�ll enjoy

I know that I�m the envy

Of every girl and boy.

Yes, it�s great to be the owner

Of a car so bright and new

My only day of sorrow

Is the day a payment�s due.

*****

TWO WEEKS WITH PAY

Whether you go to the seashore

Or climb a mountain or two

Getting away for a brief holiday

Is bound to be good for you.

Whether you drive cross-country

Or take a ship for a cruise

When you suddenly fly 'neath a soft summer sky

You�re sure to lose the blues.

So pack your bag for a journey

Hurry and don�t delay

You can give the slip to your troubles on a trip

Especially with two weeks with PAY.

****

TO A YOUNGER LOVE

When I look at you, I see the fact

that I am older in my years.

That I was growing and going to school

Before you�d shed your baby tears.

The things that you�re discovering

Are all old hat to me

And I cannot act as youthful

As you�d often like me to be.

And so I fear one day our love

Like winter snow will melt.

And you will find another

Who�ll know the love I�ve felt.

But remember the sweet days we�ve shared

When time stood still for a while

And I will keep you in my heart

And wrap my love in a smile.

****

MOTHER�S DAY AT MCDONALDS

There�s a woman who comes to McDonalds

About 10 o�clock each day

And she quietly watches the children

As they gaily romp and play.

There�s a tender smile that hovers

Over lips now pale and old

And she gently dreams of the past again

While her cup of coffee grows cold

She remembers her children laughing

And how quickly they were grown

How silently the years flew by

Til now she is alone.

So if you see this lady

Just nod and say "hello"

She�ll appreciate your kindness

She�s a mother still, you know.

*****

RIP James Leonard Dawson - Died 5-22-67

TO JIM

May twenty-second, nineteen sixty seven

God called my uncle Jim to heaven

God said:

"Your work on earth is through,

I�ve got a bigger job for you in Heaven, Jim"

Jim wasn�t a man to quote poetry

Or the latest trend in Art.

But he liked the feel of the earth in his hands

And to know that he�d done his part.....

to make this world a better place.

His heart was as big as all outdoors

Whatever he had to give was yours.....

If you needed it.

So, when God said

"Jim, I need a man who�s not afraid of hard work

Can you come?"

Jim said "I can!

Now the world�s a little lonelier without him

But I�m sure, the Lord is happy to have a man....

Like Jim

***

As Patricia�s life went on, she felt content. She did the things she loved. She lived alone but had her daughters involved with her still. Bonnie came home to live with Patricia for a few months. Terri and Dean bought a house on the same street. Their son visited his Grandma nearly every day. When Raymond was still living, Daniel used to knock to see if Grandpa would "come out to play". If Raymond was too tired, there were still a few cookies to enjoy while Daniel talked about his busy day at school.

In the early 1970's, Terri told her mother that she always had wanted to be the mother of twins. Terri had read a book in the 5th grade and fell in love with the names of the twin girls....Tricia and Tracy. She had always planned to name her twin daughters the same names. Her father, Donald, had twin brothers and Dean�s side of family had twins also. Terri was shocked when Patricia told her that she, herself, was a twin. She was even more astonished when Patricia revealed she had no idea where her father or her twin brother were. And even more sad was that Patricia had not seen her twin since she was a very small child. It seemed like the saddest story that Terri had ever heard.

Terri, Daniel and Patricia used to go to the library on Saturday together. Afterward, they would stop for lunch. Many times, Dean would take a lunch break from his job on the Police Dept to meet them for a few minutes to talk.

Then came a day that changed everyone�s life forever. Patricia had seemed a bit anxious that day. She didn�t talk very much and just seemed to be thinking of something else. Finally, she pulled out a piece of stationery and gave it to Terri.

This is what it said....

July 12, 1990.

Dear Mrs. Gregg:

Mr. Jack J. Hill, address xxxxxxxxx, Cityxxxxxx, New York, telephone number xxxxx, would like to get in touch with you.

Because of the circumstances, we agreed to send this letter. However, we have not revealed your address, and we will not tell Mr. Hill whether the letter is delivered. You are free to reply or not, as you choose. In any event, you need not notify us of your decision.

Sincerely

xxxxx

Office of Public Inquiries

Dept of Health & Human Services

Social Security Administration.

**********

Jack J. Hill was Patricia�s twin brother. They were 66 years of age, separated when they were about 4 years old. And now, Patricia had a chance to find out about her other family...and.....meet her twin brother.

What would she do?

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!