My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

11:24 a.m. - 2007-07-11
Chicago, Il. - 1943
Wednesday, July 11, 2007

OATMEAL AND KISSES - 1943

Chicago, Il. - 1943

Patty Jean started her new job working at the defense plant. She liked the work and was occasionally asked to work nights so the timekeeper could have an extra evening off. She enjoyed dating. She had many gentlemen callers. They often went to the movies or rollerskating. She liked to copy the hair styles of the movie stars and decided that she was too old to be called Patty Jean. After all, she was 18 years of age! She preferred Patricia but mostly was addressed as Pat. She had one special boyfriend who wanted to get married. Patricia felt she was too young and wasn�t really sure she wanted to be married right now. The boyfriend, Bob Peltz, was in the Navy and leaving for parts unknown.

"May 9, 1943

Dear Lucille:

Happy Mother�s Day - it�s raining "cats and dogs" here - I am alone. The kids are at the show and Bill is drunk. Been drunk since Thursday. My morale is down to rock bottom right now.

Haven�t heard from your friend, Frank, yet and you forgot to give me his new address. Did you send him my letter? I bet you and Norma are having a nice time in San Diego. Bob likes the Navy very much. The shots made him feel pretty bad for a few days, otherwise he is fine. He sent me two lovely pillow tops for Mother�s Day, similar to the one Frank sent me. I like them, but I need pillows for them before I put them out.

I put the "Dunkard" program in my scrapbook. I would like to see something like that. I went to see "Random Harvest" last night. Ronald Coleman was outstanding in his part. He is really a gentleman in every sense of the word.

I hear Eddie Cantor�s program on the radio but not the rest that you spoke of. Haven�t heard from James Leonard for ages and how is Aunt Susan? I never received an answer to my letter and birthday card.

Your letter worried me. The part about the lady being operated on - but what can I do? There is no one to watch the children - Bill wasn�t home three nights last week. I can�t depend one bit on him for anything. I have come to the conclusion that he just doesn�t give a d...m.

I carry all the oil for the stove even so I can�t ask him to do anything. I do intend to see a doctor but I keep bleeding - a little or all the time. I feel embarrassed going like that.

Where is Lee now? Is she still married or what? Pat is working all right. She worked nights last week to relieve the night timekeeper. She has registered at the University of Chicago for a summer course in Office Management. It�s free, of course. She is entitled to raise now but hasn�t heard anything for sure. She hasn�t been anywhere since Bob left with the Navy, only to work.

I sent that clipping, thought you might remember them. Kathleen was seven last Thursday. Pat gave her a little dollhouse and Bill got her a little doll. This week is Mike�s birthday and the following week is Bettie�s, with Bob�s in-between. May is really a birthday month for us.

Well, Lucille, I hope you can read this and will be looking for an answer soon.

With Love

Jo

____

........part of letter written to Frank.

"Lucille seems to like California, everything about it. The subway was opened here for a limited number of passengers - only those that bought $1000 War Bonds were eligible. (I didn�t ride!)

All of Pat�s boyfriends are gone - I mean her school friends - are scattered over America.

Steve, the boy that took her to the class prom is in Kansas City training in radio work. Bob Peltz is on a ship with the Navy. Robert May is in Florida in the Air Corps. Bob Proctor is in Florida, Max at Camp Roberts, Russell in N. Dakota, so you can see how far away they all are.

Glad you liked the poetry, here is something more to read.

"My fear, my only regret

Is the thought of leaving you.

I�ll brave the reign of death

That comes from a darkened sky.

But I cannot brave the thought

Of whispering "Good bye".

If by chance I�m beckoned

to a heavenly land of blue

My soul may leave this earth

But my heart, I�ll leave with you.

Well, Frank, I think I have told you all the news so will sign off for this time and again, let me thank you for everything. You�re a grand person and I am mighty proud to have you as a friend. Bless you and answer soon.

Jo

___

Kathleen�s Trip

You could hear the clang of the train

See the bustle at the station

And Kathleen garbed in pink and blue

Was an unthought of, big sensation.

And all the Redcaps stared

They hoped to carry the bags

that were filled with gowns for Dolly

Tho� in truth, they were only rags.

And when the train drew out

Taking her far away

We knew that many people

Would guard her night and day.

She sat on a young man�s lap that trip;

When he kissed her; she gave back two

Now, you mustn�t look shocked or even surprised,

For Kathleen is only two.

By Patricia Drain

_____

Time passed slowly, the brothers and sisters were growing up. Bettie was taking over more and more of the housework, cooking and laundry. Mama seemed to be aging, she was sick more often with pain in her stomach and headaches. She was too embarrassed to see the local doctor. Sometimes, her body seemed to have a mind of its own. She was bleeding a little every day and she felt like she wasn't clean enough. After all those pregnancies, home births, working hard around the apartment caring for her family; she was just worn out.

Papa worked less regularly even though he was still employed by Sears and Roebuck. Patricia helped out with what she could but there was less money coming in. And Papa spent more time at the neighborhood tavern, so he spent quite a bit of what he did earn.

Finally Mama went into the hospital and Papa decided to send the boys to live with Mama's half brother, James Leonard. He had married. He and his wife Vernice lived in the country and worked on a small farm. They didn't have any children. They were trying to adopt a little boy in the area. They had plenty of farm work for the boys to do and maybe even little Kathleen could help with the house and the little boy. At least they would have plenty of food to eat and a warm place to sleep.


Lucille invited Bettie and Kathleen to come live with her and her daughter, Norma. Bettie was eager to go but Kathleen was afraid. She was only 8 years old and she wanted to see her Mama every week. She asked if California was close enough that she could visit her Mama.

When she was told it was far away, she decided she would go to the farm with her brothers.

Patricia was still working hard and she had received a small raise. She still dreamed of moving out, especially to California. She was giving most of her pay to Mama to buy food and pay the rent when Papa didn't come home with enough money. With the other children gone to California and to the farm with James Leonard, they were getting by.

Aunt Lucille wrote to Mama every week and talked about how beautiful it was there. Lucille had learned to love her new location especially having Bettie there to keep Norma company.

It was warm and sunny and everything sounded so wonderful. Mama said they couldn't afford to move to California. Besides, Mama wouldn't leave her children, even if they were still living with Uncle James Leonard and his wife, Cookie. The kids said Vernice was such a good cook that they nicknamed her Aunt Cookie and she went by that name for the rest of her life.

One day, Patricia decided to treat her Mama with a special gift. She was going to stop at the Fanny Mae Candy Store and buy her a piece of chocolate with the pretty little paper wrapper and have it put in a Fanny Mae Candy Store bag.

She waited until payday and then walked to the candy store. It was late, nearly 6:00 P.M. As she was walking to the front door, she bumped into a young man who was also trying to enter. Patricia stopped quickly, smiled and said, "I'm sorry, I wasn't looking. I hope I didn't step on your foot."

The young man looked at her and replied, "No, I'm fine. Please let me get the door for you."

"Oh, Thank you." Patricia said, blushing all over her face. She was so embarrassed. "Thank Goodness", she said to herself that she had a fresh white blouse on today and her best black skirt. She had even tied a white ribbon in her hair because this was a special purchase.

As she entered the Fanny Mae Candy Store, she stopped to look at the white wicker baskets of candy. Each white basket had a different pastel color of ribbon tied to the handle. Every color and shape of candy she could imagine was there. The store smelled so good, she wanted to stay there forever. Finally she saw a chocolate fudge piece that looked so beautiful she couldn't believe it was really candy.

As the clerk approached her, Patricia said softly, "How much is that piece, please?"

The clerk was dressed in a sparkling white uniform with a white apron. She was a sweet faced, soft spoken woman. She said, "why, it is 25 cents, Dear."

"Oh My", Patricia replied, "I don't have enough for that piece. It was going to be a surprise for my Mama. She has not been feeling well for a long time and I wanted to cheer her up." I guess I will have to save more money and come back later."

She turned away and started towards the door.

"Wait, please!" It was the young man she had bumped into at the door. He turned to the clerk and said, "Mother, can we afford to buy that piece of candy for this young lady's mother?"

Smiling, the clerk said, "of course, we can. Every Mama would like to get a piece of candy from a beautiful daughter like this one."

With that, she scooped up the candy, wrapped it in tissue and put it in a special little Fanny Mae bag and tied it up with a ribbon, just like the pastel ribbons on the candy baskets in the display area. She handed the bag to her son, who turned to Patricia.

"I hope your Mama likes the candy." My name is Donald and this is my mother, Leonetta."

I came to walk Mother home tonight." May we walk you home as well? It is getting very dark outside."

Patricia stuttered, "Oh, I don't know if that is proper." And I just live a few blocks from here. "

Leonetta said to Patricia. "Please, Dear, let us walk you home. We live on Clark St. and I am sure you don't live much farther. You work in the neighborhood, don't you? I think I have seen you pass by a few times." "What is your name?"

Patricia smiled and said, "Yes, I do work nearby. My name is Patty Jean...I mean Patricia Jean and it would be very nice to walk with you."

Patricia hoped they didn't notice her hesitation in saying her name, she thought Patricia Jean sounded much more grown up than Patty Jean.



analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!