My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:55 p.m. - 2007-07-09
Imaginary Thoughts of an Inanimate object
Here's a little change of pace....sort of...well...you be the judge.
Monday, July 09, 2007

Here is THE KWEEN OF THE QUEENS CURRANT WRITING ASSIGNMENT on Xanga.com...

Here's the challenge. . .choose any inanimate object. . . such as your front door, your floor, your closet, your toothbrush! Anything you want, and no, it doesn't have to be connected with your house. . .any object you want! Give it a personality or thought process. . .then tell us what's going on in it's head!

This challenge is called:

IMAGINARY THOUGHTS

I was purchased to be used as a diary of sorts. I am actually an old ledger, about 4 inches by 8 inches. I didn't cost very much in those days....probably just a few pennies in 1920 or so. I had a very attractive red leather cover which has faded to a darker red now. I think my cover stayed intact because it was leather and wore so well. I was certainly handled often and sometimes carelessly thrown into a dresser drawer or an old box over the years. I never dreamed I could become such a source of good information so many years after the fact.

I was purchased by Josephine Hill while she was married. I held her dreams, fantasies, thoughts, poems, tears, sadnesses, joys, delights, flirtations, desires, sensitivities and loneliness. She used me often to unburden her head and heart of those things that made up her daily life. She might have been a noted poet if she had lived in a different time. She certainly did express herself in many different ways!

She was born Josephine Louise Crim on October 22, 1901 in Charleston, Il. She married on August 31, 1919 and moved to Okmulgee, Ok. She had her first child in 1920 and went on to have 11 pregnancies through out her life. Three of those pregnancies ended in miscarriages. She mourned those babies that were never to be. She loved all her children. She had her first child on July 11, 1920 when she was 18 years old and her last child on May 5, 1936. She was 34 years old when her last child was born. She had 5 sons and 3 daughters who lived.

She met the true love of her life when she was already married. She left her marriage and her first two sons with her first husband when he filed for divorce in 1928. She took her young daughter and went to the man she deeply loved and they lived together for the rest of her life.

I know this because she poured out her anguish and her tears, her sorrows, her regrets, her wishing for what might have been, her loss of her first two sons whom she never saw again......to me. I carried the burden for her. I allowed her to look for joy again. I encouraged her to write her thoughts, her dreams, her happy days, her hopes for the future, her desire to be happy and her realizations that not all things come just because you wish them to be so.

Later, after her death on January 2, 1945, I was passed on to her oldest daughter, Patricia Jean. I was treasured and kept safe and continued to do my job and hide so many old secrets. Later, Patricia's oldest daughter, Terri Jeanne, obtained me.

Terri thought at first that the poems and limericks were written by her mother, Patricia. Later on, after Patricia's death on July 12, 1993, Terri started to read me again and then realized, with a joy and much surprise, that the writings were actually by her grandmother. Her grandmother had died about 3 weeks after Terri was born so Terri never knew her at all. Terri is now writing a story about her ancestors and many of the facts and poems are being copied out of me.....Yes...ME!

I have more than fulfilled my purpose. I have guarded the poems and writings of my author for over 87 years and they can be shared with more of the descendants of Josephine Louise Dawson Hill Drain than she ever imagined.

It has been an honor to hold these words intact. Some of my pages have been ripped and lost, some of the words have faded, and my job has been completed. If you wish to read some of my words, please read the blogs prescending this entry for the beginning of the whole story. I think you will enjoy it!

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!