My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

1:49 p.m. - 2007-07-08
The Diary - Feb, 1926 and 1927
Sunday, July 08, 2007

OATMEAL AND KISSES -
THE DIARY CONTINUES. FEB, 1926

Feb. 28: Another Sunday. Denny came by at noon and brought a paper for me to read and then came by tonight and helped pass away the time. It�s so darn lonesome. James Leonard just called, poor kid, and wanted to know if I had talked to Arthur Craig? I wonder, would it be best to take him home with me or not? He is a good kid all right. Ike and Sam and Ora passed here this afternoon, more of the "eternal triangle".

Feb. 29: Wasn�t anything. (Leap year)

March 1: Another letter from my Bill. He does want me and I�m beginning to think he cares now as I have always. "Awfullest" day, snow, rain and everything. March came in like a lion all right. The stork was worked to death Sunday night. Charlie Devore has a daughter (just makes about 4) Everett Meyers, a son (three) and Jay Rayans a son and Lordy knew how many more. Carrie Kearns married.

March 2: Letters from Arthur and Bill both. Arthur sent me some money, paid the rent and am going to send for my trunk. He is so good. I can�t see why everything has to be like this. Lucille wrote too, said she went to see The Dark Angel". It is so cold!

March 3: I�m slighted, not a line from a soul today. Wonder if Bill is sore at the proposition I made - I hope not. And, Arthur...I don�t know what he�ll think. I sure want to get away from here. It�s so lonesome. Go to bed with the chickens, nothing else to do. Mrs. Charles Crim (married Charles a few weeks after he had divorced Alice-Josephine�s mother) is in town. Mr. Crim is sick in a hospital in Auburn, In. (probably Josephine's real father) Too bad. Haven�t got to send for my trunk yet. I do wish Denny would come by. Bud Wrenns had a son.

March 4: Letter from Arthur. He is done with me the minute I go back to Bill. I can�t have everything. Finally got my letter off to Lucille about my trunk. Sure will be glad when I get it, also my watch.

March 5: James Leonard came in today. Went to see Mr. Craig about going home with me. Mr. Craig just called out here, doesn�t want James Leonard to go. James Leonard just called. Said he found something out about Mr. Craig, wouldn�t tell it over the phone. Hope he can come in tomorrow. Poor kid, I feel so sorry for him. Heard from Lucille. Jess is still sick.

Sent Denny a note. Denny came by, been working overtime. I�m worried about James Leonard. I suppose Mr. Craig has spent his money. (I am thinking that James Leonard might have received a little money from Alice�s estate when the boarding house was sold. Mr. Craig was appointed as his guardian)

March 6: James Leonard didn�t get to come in. Rained all day and is still doing it. Well, got a letter from Arthur last night. Said I couldn�t go back to Bill as long as Arthur lived! I can�t think. Didn�t hear from Bill today. Denny came by last night, thought sure he never was going to leave. Stayed until 9 o�clock and I am always in bed by seven!

March 7: Sunday again. Just like any other day to me. Awfully cold. Tried to snow and everything. Purchased myself a Sunday paper this morning from some little boy. Just had eight cents but I got it. Do hope James Leonard gets to come in tomorrow and hope my trunk and watch arrive.

March 8: Rec�d three special delivery letters this morning before breakfast. Gee, I didn�t know I was so popular! Arthur sent me some money and Bill too. I purchased myself a new pair of blond pumps and hose and purse. Just showed myself right! Trunk hasn�t arrived yet. Do hope I can get away from this place soon. Arthur Craig and I had a "round" this morning over James Leonard. They won�t let him come to see me. "Good bye!" He has just got a dirty deal all around. Saw Jesse Honn uptown "good-lookin�" (and just as tough) as ever.

March 9: No trunk yet! Sent telegram to Arthur special delivery letter by Denny. I�m worried crazy. Head hurts so, am going to bed.

March 10: No trunk yet. Begins to look as if I am doomed here. Rec�d the dearest and sweetest letter from Bill. He�s the sweetest boy in the world. The kids have been so mean, just driving me crazy. Rec�d Arthur�s telegram but no way to get to town, no one to stay with the babies. It�s a bad old rainy night, but thank goodness, it isn�t cold.

March 11: Went to town to get money order. Got "Sporting News". Fellow over at Rogers Drugs told me where to go. Paid laundry, went to the Express office and inquired about my trunk. Herert Crowder is chief "do-la-lee" there. Am going to bed early, have a headache.

March 12: Big snow here, trunk finally arrived. Sure is in bad shape. Got a box over at Dillards to express my linen and blankets, have my trunk partly packed. Guess I�ll leave sure enough Sunday. That is if Arthur sends me the money. Have a terrible headache (as usual) These kids...Lordy!

March 13: Today is Saturday. James Leonard came in. Rec�d money order from Arthur.

James Leonard kept the kids and sent my box out. I went to town, had my hair cut, and shopped some. Went home, prepared supper. Had call from Arthur E. Craig, they sure are "roarin;" because James Leonard is staying over night with me.

March 14: Sunday. Got up early, had waffles for breakfast. James Leonard helped. Then called on Mr. Craig. I had some time calling a taxi. Just rushed down there and found the train was 1 hr 40 minutes late. Arrived in Mattoon at 12:10. Ate dinner and then, the kids had had it. Met an interesting kid in the subway. Arrived in Jamesville 8 P.M. Mr. John Hill (Arthur's father) was there, drove out in a snowstorm. Trunks didn�t come. Mrs. Landrus is here. Mrs. Hill looks so bad, so does Walter. Clarence and Ruby are big. (More of Arthur�s relatives) I am so tired.

Note to dear readers:

John Hill & Florence Hill were Arthur�s parents...Josephine�s in-laws. They may not have known that Josephine had left Arthur. She probably needed a place to stay while she made her mind about what she was going to do.

Mrs. Landrus was a neighbor of the Hill family and possibly a relative. Maybe a first or second cousin.

Mrs. Hill had diabetes and Walter Hill was the oldest son. (Arthur's oldest brother). He had Parkinson�s disease and had returned from Oklahoma where he worked as a carpenter with Arthur years before. )

March 15: Kids all went to school. Mrs. Heath came over and George stopped in. Mr. Hill got my trunks and broke 10 dozen eggs on the way. Just quiet day - or quiet as it could be with these little cyclones! Rec�d Arthur�s letter, also the one from Bill that he sent Friday.

March 16: Sadie and Owen (Arthur�s sister and brother-in-law) came over. She gave me a centerpiece. Am afraid I�ll be getting fat, I sure wade in the cream. Fixed Clarence�s sweater for him. He sure is a nice kid. Ruby said he talked about me, "his Aunt Jo" all the time. He sure can blush!

March 17: Mr. Hill gets breakfast. He is a dandy cook too. St. Patrick�s Day, well, Erin go Braugh! Mr. Hill went to Mattoon today. No word from my Bill, wish he would write.

Note to dear readers....It appears that Josephine stayed with her in-laws for several weeks while she decided what she would do next. By the following entries, it appears that she was finding it hard to give Bill up.

-------

April 15: Arrived back in Okmulgee 10:00. Met Bill in Tulsa, came out to the house. Gibo was down, think Bill came with him.

April 16: did my washing, went for a drive. Ball season is on, Jimmie (age 6 yrs) hurt his arm but we won!

Note to dear readers:

Based on the following; it appears that Josephine left Arthur...once again...and got back with Bill. It also seems that she may have left her babies....with a woman named Gladys...when she was out with Bill..

-----

May 17: Well, up again. Everything is all over...poor lil� Billie will never be. (Miscarriage)

Got my trunk Saturday. Been here about six weeks. Peg was here Wednesday - same old Peg. My babies have had the chicken pox, but Gladys is good. I shouldn�t really worry. This is twice I�ve pulled the same stunt in the last year. (Had miscarriages).

May 22: Went down to see my babies...Gladys had taken them visiting but came back. Arthur came over and took Gladys and I to the depot. Acted very indifferent...Mr. Pierce still having trouble.

May 23: Bill and I went out to Sunset and danced. Bill is mad at me....wearing rouge. Saw several people from Oka-mulgee!. (This sighting, no doubt, added fuel to the fire of the marriage falling apart)


May 24: Just fooled around in the sun - burned my shoulders all-rightee!!. Had a thrilling time with the Peoria Shieks!... (baseball team?)

May 25: Peggie came up and she and Mae had been to Barlettville to the ball game Sunday.

May 26: Bill and I went down town to the show "Ramsons Folly". Came home and then back to town, just bummed around. Rec�d letter from Lucille, she moved again. Also one from James Leonard.

May 27: Bill home all day, looking for a job. Went over to Mrs. Schrantz and then with Bill out after Bibo. Went out to Sunset, just looked around. Jimmie playing at Muskogee.

May 28: Stayed at home all day - no mail. Bill and I went to the park, came back early. Bill�s back hurt. Two girls killed at Sand Springs.

May 29: Another hot old day, 96 degrees. Went out to Sunset, had a nice time. Bill angry with me as usual. Arthur was there and also blonds from Okmulgee. Walked home.

May 30: Sunday, didn�t do anything. Bill slept all day, rained and rained. Went to the show "His People", enjoyed it immensely. And then got soaked.

May 31: Memorial Day. Bill worked... Went down to the Orpheum and enjoyed it so much. The Indian Chief sung so splendid. Peg came by this evening, went out to Sunset. Also had a flat.

June 1: Bill went to work for MacCollugh. Gibo came over and ate lunch with us. Then he and I drove to Claremor. We all went out to Sand Springs. Bill skated and his blooming skate came off. Stopped and heard some singing.

June 2: Went shopping with Mabel and Mrs. R. Seen the sweetest little dresses. Gibo came by, went for a ride and got soaked.

June 3: Mabel and I went out to Mays to have her dress fitted then drove down town to a show. Took the laundry out to the laundry woman. Bill and I called on Mr. Swartz and played "Moonlight and Roses" to my heart�s content. Came back to the caf�, met Gladys and the other girls.

June 4: Mrs. R. & Mabel went shopping. I was alone, slept all evening. Bill mad at me. Ate alone. He & Gibo went to get a drink - hope they enjoyed it. Talked to Bernice but didn�t wait for Gladys.

June 5: Went to town, purchased myself a lace dress and slip. Gibo drove me home. We went to town. Bill mad as usual. Gladys had a date. Went to the show and then home. Wish Bill would get over being mad all the time. Rec�d letter from Lucille.

June 6. 1926: Sunday. Bill slept all day. So lonesome. Went over to Sunset. Lee angry because I didn�t call him. Can�t be bothered...I love Bill but wish he was just a little different.

___

The Diary stopped and picked up again in 1927....

June 26. 1927: Lost another baby, April 18th----why? I can�t understand and a little boy too. Seven months along and he was Bill & mine. Operated on Mar. 15, terrible, know what it is like to die!

June 27: Over a year since I wrote...so much happened...came down to Okmulgee June 9th. Still here and Bill is gone again. He left today for Indianapolis with Bress..seems so lonesome. Carl took us to the train and then was over tonight telling lies. I won�t believe anything he tells on Bill. Peg came by for some beer.

(Believe Bill and Josephine have started drinking more often and it may become a problem)

June 28: Rec�d letter from Lucille, want to go home so bad. Nothing doing - so lonesome. Dick came after "old 58". Nobody but my Bill, Nobody!

June 29: "Thinking of you, feeling kind of blue, Wondering if you�re thinking of me too. Tears begin to fall, answering the Call, of Love�s old golden dreams. My heart is asking for your smile. Wanting and Loving you all of the while. Wishing you were here. I�m thinking - just thinking of you". I want you, Bill, want you so. Ed Farris and Mr. Philps out - wine. Mildren came up, she & Gladys gone to swim. Carl came over, wanted me to go to Minots - NO! - going to bed.

June 30: No letter yet. Not much of a day. Chatted with Mrs. Langwell. Jackie Jo don�t feel so good, called the doctor and talked to him. Moses came out. Carl over - we had chicken sandwiches. Peg came by for some beer. She and Eva think Troy heard everything. We all looked keen, trailing out to car with beer. I love you, my darling Bill, I do, I do!!

July 1: Received a letter from my Bill! He is at Indianapolis, seems so far away. Peg called, was with her all evening. She was mad at "Lefty". She got some "licker" down at the Maine. John and some guy from N.C. came out, drunk as usual. Had some good barbeque, out to Hi�s.

July 2: Rec�d a letter from "my Man", he is at Hamilton. I miss him so. Wrote him a letter but was so tired, I didn�t get to town to mail it. Mildred & Carl came over. I was so sleepy. The boys went to the show and the twins and I slept all evening.

July 3: Sunday - just another old day. The kiddies all went to Sunday School. Got the kids some fireworks. Carl took me to town, ate supper with him and then went to the show. I saw Johnny and Alice - and my slip showed a mile - sent a letter to my boy. I�m blue, blue, blue!! Couldn�t hardly make it home- my tummy ached so bad- walked too. Tomorrow the grand and Glorious Fourth!

July 4: Celebrated by washing. Went to town to the show tonight. Saw "Rolled Stocking" not "sox" as Jackie Jo says. Came back and talked to Mrs. Self a long time. Peg & Jerry came by after some beer. Lefty staying with Mae. Peg better mind her "P�s and Q�s".

July 5: Went to town this evening to buy Jimmie�s underwear. Rec�d a letter telling of Arthur�s mother�s death. She was so sweet and nice. Gladys got her a portable radio-she�s playing "Blue Skies". Rec�d letter from my homme (man), I�m missing him oodles.

July 6: Just another old hot day. Went to see "The Music Master". Saw Carl and Mrs. Beam. Came home early. Sent mon cherie (my love) a letter. Vera came after Patty Jean, kept her all day.

July 7: Rec�d letter from my Bill. Sure is good about writing. Frank came over to mail letter to Lucille. Went down town to mail my letter. Carl stewed.

July 8: Mr. Barber went back to Muskogee. Clyde came by tonight, working in Henryettea, said he was talking to Harry. Rec�d my letter from Bill, think he is missing "someone" mighty bad.

July 9. Saturday and no letter. Mr. Collette came out and we went after some peanuts. Peg and Lefty came past. Washed all the kids hair.

July 10: Seems as if this was the most blue Sunday I ever saw. Kiddies all went to Sunday School. Patty Jean looked so sweet in the little dress I made her. Mr. B. & Gladys took me down to the show and saw "Reservation".

July 11: Today Jimmie was seven! Baked him a cake and got him a bathing suit. Got the sweetest letters from Bill. Wish - oh, but what�s the use of wishing.

July 12: Got letters from Bill and James Leonard. Mrs. Mont for lunch and went to the show. Some guy stopped me. - these men!

July 13: No letter. Made Patty Jean a combination suit (think this is underwear - like the "onesie" of today.) Jimmie went swimming, sunburned so bad. Went to bed early.

July 14: Had a fuss with G. Rec�d a letter from Lucille and Bill. Went to show, "Heart of Salome". Came home and went to bed.

July 15: Rec�d another letter - perhaps he is - hope so. Trying to fix Patty Jean another dress. Just washed my face and think I�ll go to bed. I love you, Bill!

July 16: Saturday. Rec�d card from Bill, wish he were here. Went to town with Flo and Mr. B. Came home and went to bed. These "monotomus" craps!

July 17: Sunday - kiddies all went to Sunday School. Patty Jean stayed with Vera. Arthur drove up about 1 o�clock. Took a ride with him in his Ford roadster, drove to Morris and had a flat. Gladys took Patty Jean and Jackie Jo to Holdenville. (Arthur is working in Holdenville)

Seems so lonesome without them. Went to see "Children of Divorce".

July 18: Washed and scrubbed today and then went to the show this evening. Ronald C. "One Night of Love". It sure was a good one. He is just the kind of man women love. Gathered the clothes in, it looks like rain. I miss Bill. There is something nice about every man but there is everything nice about him. Boys have gone to church down on the corner. Jimmie got a haircut. Wonder how my babies are? Bless their sweet baby hearts. I miss them so, and miss hearing that......"Do-do cook supper". Come back soon, Bill.

July 19: No letter, ironed this morning. Been so warm all day. Jimmie has gone on a picnic. Have been reading some old letters of Bill�s. Am going to bed, Jimmie has come home.

July 20: Well, Bill came back. Just gone three weeks exactly. Called me about five - had me fooled for awhile - was so glad to see him. Mr. Barker called.

July 21: Bill and I walked over to Greenwood. Saw Mildred go in, Ye Gods! Roy Scott came by and stayed. .

July 22: Gladys came back with the babies. Patty Jean hurt her finger. Was so glad to see them. Boys went to Rotary Park.

Sept 14, 1927: Rec�d letter from Lucille. Her baby was born Sunday.

Note to dear readers...
That is the end of the diary. Arthur started divorce proceedings in the fall of 1928, stating that Josephine, his wife, had left him in 1925 with the three children. He made every attempt and effort to have her return but she did not. Sometime after September, 1927, and up to the fall of 1928, Jimmie and Jackie Jo were living with him. Patty Jean was still living with Josephine. The Judge ruled Josephine was at fault in the marriage and Arthur could have custody of all three children. Arthur was not involved with anyone at that time. He decided to leave Patty Jean with her mother.

What would become of them all?

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!