My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:46 p.m. - 2007-07-04
the diary - 1926
Wednesday, July 04, 2007

OATMEAL AND KISSES - 1926 - THE DIARY CONTINUES....

Jan. 18: Well, no word yet from Arthur. We got to get out. Think Harry (* note dear readers..landlord) has rented these rooms. Oh Lord! I�m so worried about several things - how we are going to come out? Got a card from Bill from St. Louis, said he was going to Springfield, Mo. Took the kiddies out for a walk down Clark St. to the Post Office. Went up and seen Beulah; she is so much better-guess she�ll come out of it all right now.

Jan. 19: Nothing new today. Beulah done her stuff- and - oh! I didn�t never realize just what it all meant until I looked at that. Never again will I do anything like that! Wrote Arthur a letter - poor fellow. I just know he thinks I�m terrible-he can�t think anything else hardly. Lucille is so sick-has been in bed all day today. It just doesn�t look right for women to have all the suffering during such a period and then so much of it during the "wind-up".

(Remember, dear readers, I said I thought there were attempts to end pregnancies in the last blog)

Jan. 20: No letter from anyone today. Lucille still sick, been in bed for two days. Durkin has been captured after so long a time. He has sure got nerve-I admire a man like him. Went down to Dolys Laundry on Pierson to see about our "embroidered linen" lunch cloth. Laundry man from Wilson was over collecting-coming back tomorrow for his money. I�m not in�

Jan. 21: Got a letter from Arthur and one from Bill. Arthur sent me some money and what a time I had trying to cash it. Harry had to go with around me to the drug store. Bill is in Ohio said he would see me Sunday. I sure hope so. Been such a long time since he was here. Went and had my hair cut to be-gorra! I wish I knew what was going to be. Guess we�ll leave Sat. for Charleston. What a scare I had last night! (* note dear readers...possibly signs of miscarriage?)

Jan. 22: Five below last night. Gee, but it was cold. Jackie woke up twice froze! I cooked butter beans and pork shoulder today and made a strawberry short cake. It tasted so good! Reckon we will leave tomorrow for Charleston at six. Lord, what a trip and Lucille and I like we are. Gosh, but it�s cold!

Jan. 23. Didn�t get to write in this yesterday, too much other stuff. Left Chicago yesterday at four...Six degrees, Lord, was it cold! Lucille was sick. Got in Mattoon at 10"25 and met Bill Armstrong-"Zollie" O�Hare. Laid over two hours, kids crying and everything! Met Owen Water as we stepped off, registered at Clover Leak. Andrew Sullivan was head clerk -what a room! And Bill walked in on us, put the kiddies to bed at three. Charleston is just the same.

Jan. 24: Rose at ten, took Lucille her breakfast, met Berndan and Sadie Mills. Bill and I ate and then Cindy (Lucille) and I took a stroll down to Wilsons. Learned all the latest gossip. James looks the same, met Tommy at the pool hall, stopped at Stants to phone, went over to Mrs. Tut. Agreed about room, back to the hotel. Lucille laid down. I went out to see their room, rented them. Met Bill uptown, ate, and then got Lucille to move out. Bill got Denny, he came over.

Jan. 25: Went for walk and came back. Lucille took Jackie Jo and went over to Ruth Colliep. Ought to write Arthur and would but haven�t a stamp now nor any money. Lucille is reading some of Denny�s old letters.

Jan. 26: Bill here, left for Springfield and then came back about four, changed his route. Denny came over before supper.

Jan. 27: Nothing new - Denny and Lucille went to town.

Jan. 28. Just another day, nothing new.

Jan. 29: Lucille and Jackie Jo went over to Ruth C. to spend the day. Ray brought the groceries out.

Jan. 30: No letter. Bill came over, landed a job in Mattoon. Called James Leonard but he couldn�t come in. Denny and Lucille gone to the dance. I can�t think how all of this will end.

Jan. 31: This has sure been one gloomy old day. Bill left at eleven and Lucille and Henry Lewis went for a ride. Sure was one long lonesome day. Jess sent Lucille a special delivery. Lord, but I wish I knew how everything will turn out.

Feb.1: No word from Arthur - begins to look as if he was going bad on me. The old lady here is scared to death she isn�t going to get her money. Jess wired Lucille five dollars and we owe twenty-five. Denny came by from work. Gee, I feel punk tonight, wish Bill would call.

Feb. 2: Rec�d letter from Bill on his way to Parsons, Kansas. Wind up at Tulsa. Denny took me down to the Post Office. Two letters from Arthur. No wonder I didn�t hear from him -sent them Special. Denny brought some books down, had a nice evening reading. Lucille gone and kids all asleep!

Feb. 3: Lucille sick all day, called Dr. Craig tonight, he came out twice and gave her a hypo. Denny came past, going to town. I�m so tired.

Feb. 4: Lucille not any better, called Doctor again tonight. Rec�d such a nice letter from Arthur. He is a man. Denny came by, Lucille has been after me all day to buy ice over at the store. Wonder if Bill is at Parsons?

Feb.5: Seemed like Spring today. Rec�d a letter from Arthur, but none from my Bill. I do wish he was here. If it�s a girl, I think it shall be called "Billie". I read a story about a girl named that! (* note dear readers..see, told you...pregnant!)

This passion is but an ember of a sun

Of a fire that has been set.

I could not live and remember

And so I love and forget.

(Shall I do that some day?) I love you, Bill..

Feb. 6: No letter from anyone today. Jess wired-Lucille ten dollars. Ruth Covley came over. She and Lucille went to town. And now Lucille is going to the dance. Been in bed for three days - now going up there. Denny gone to take his wife over to her Mother�s. (* note dear reader - he's a married man....)

Called James Leonard, he talks so funny. Said he would try and come in tomorrow. The roads are so bad. I�m so tired - but - wish I was going to a dance. Haven�t been to one since I left Oklahoma. "I want to go where he goes, do what he does, Love when he loves....then I�ll be happy"

Feb. 7: Bill has been gone a week. I miss him so. Went down town this evening for a "Smart Set". Saw Cy Wallers and Mr. Craig. Mr Craig walked out on Sixth with me. Wish Bill was here. I want him. Jackie Jo wants to sleep in his new overalls!

Feb. 8: Letter from Arthur - but - Oh what a letter! Doesn�t think much of my proposition of Tulsa and wants me to come back on certain conditions. Haven�t heard a line from Bill yet. Don�t know where he is. Just wish he was with me. Things would seem a little brighter anyway. My head hurts so I reckon I have the flu.

Feb. 9: Rec�d the money from Arthur, also his letter. Wrote and told him "YES", no other way I can see. Been so cold, snowing all day. Denny came past. He and Lucille drove to town to get me a Photoplay.

Feb. 10: Nothing new, nearly froze all day, no heat. Old man got two ton of coal this afternoon so reckon we all will get thawed out sometime. Can�t imagine why I don�t hear from Bill. Lucille all dressed, waiting for Denny to go to the dance. Me, bed for mine.

Feb. 11: James Leonard came down today about 12:30. He is so big but still the same old James Leonard for all that. Hadn�t seen him for three months. He is staying all night, poor kid hates to go back to the old woman out there. He is so cranky. I wish I could take him home with me. He is going to make a fine man!

Feb. 12: No mail. I do wish I knew - lots of things. I reckon Bill has decided not to write, perhaps it is best now that I have decided to go back to Okmulgee but....oh! James Leonard went back out this afternoon, he hated to go so bad. He sure is a good kid. Denny came over. These days and nights...if something don�t change very shortly, I am going to pass out.

Feb. 13: Bill in Tulsa, wonders why I don�t write and I have wondered the same. Wrote him tonight, Denny will mail it out. He and Lucille going to the dance. It�s raining, lonesome old night, how I long for my Bill. Don�t look as if things will ever be right. I have done all I can do, I have no regrets along that line. (This is Bill�s pencil I write with - bless his heart!)

Feb. 14. Sunday and gloomy one at that. Lucille rec�d a money order from Jess. Went to town to purchase some powder and rouge - first, we have had for a century! I went down to the College Inn for some sandwiches. Arthur Reis (one of the boys from around here) waits tables there. Came back and went to town for a book. Talked to Mickey David - wondered when I�ll get my pumps (*note dear readers...high heeled shoes) out? Ted was here about three months ago, sure wish I could have seen him.

Feb. 15: Lucille went over to Ruth�s. Arthur Baker seriously hurt in a hold-up. Received a letter from Bill. He is back in Tulsa. Gibb working there too. I feel so bad, going to bed.

Feb. 16: Heard from Arthur. Sent me $17.00 - owed nearly all of it! Purchased myself some ink. Denny came past and took Lucille to town. Jimmie was sick, sure hope he is alright now. Didn�t get to get my pumps out.

Feb. 17: Lucille gone to the dance. Nothing happened much today. Rufus Crim died at Kankakee and Arthur Baker at Decatur. Am going to bed now, don�t feel so good. (* note dear readers -Rufus Crim was probably her grandfather)

Feb. 18: Got a letter from Bill. Wonders why I don�t write: - I did. Answered with a long letter. Rained all day and is still at it..trying to sleet now. "This dreary weather makes me feel blue." (I can hear Bill singing that yet.)

Feb. 19: Got a letter from Arthur, bawling me out. I don�t know what to do - don�t believe we would stick long from the way he talked. Nothing new.

Feb. 20: Rec�d Special Delivery from Arthur. Also one from Bill. What a mess we all are in! How will it all end? Hensel Kackley married again, Eunice got left out again. Lucille is going to the dance, trying to slip away from Denny. She�s got a date with Paul Jones.

Feb. 21: Sunday-just another one. Lucille rec�d Special Delivery from Jess. Said he nearly burned himself up yesterday and was sick. Then a telegram came, she went to town, bought some sandwiches home and is gone again. I wrote Arthur, Gosh...these kids are driving me nuts.

Feb. 22: Lucille left today on the 10:29. Buelah called Mary Hammonds at 1 :00 Monday morning. I don�t� think Jess is anyway near dangerous but perhaps he is. Delphia came out. Didn�t know her. She is so big. Awfully nice girl though. The kids and I are going to bed. I�m tired out and it�s so lonesome. Hope I get "stacks" of mail tomorrow.

Feb. 23: Ok, rec�d a letter from Bill. It�s the beginning of the end. I reckon he thinks or he is trying to make himself believe that Jimmy D. is the same to me as he, when he knows better. There is no one but him but I can�t convince him if he wants to believe otherwise.

Oh, My God ...to have it end like this. Tears are supposed to help one, I�ve wept barrels but where am I? And the woman pays! (*note dear readers...being pregnant ). Denny came by, he is a good fellow. Said he would bring me a book tomorrow. Arthur wrote and said he had purchased himself a Stud car. The Dark Angel movie is playing here. Bill and I saw that in Tulsa last fall, but those days are gone forever.

Feb. 24: Everything seems a little brighter - rec�d another letter from my Bill. I�m going to think he was drunk when he wrote the first one. He still is my Bill for all that. If Arthur will now only see it�s best for me to go to Tulsa, the sun will be shining purty. I hope he does. Rec�d the laundry Jess from Chicago. James Leonard called, hope he gets to come in on Saturday.

Feb. 25: Another letter from Bill, he has seen his mistake but where are we? And what am I to do?

Feb. 26: A letter from Bill. Wants me to get a divorce and leave my babies in Okmulgee. Wish I knew what would be best? I�ve worried over it all �till I am about cooked.

Feb. 27: Heard from Arthur and Bill both. Arthur expects me there and Bill wants me with him. I don�t know.

It�s my babies or Bill......

#####

NOTES TO DEAR READERS....

Please keep in mind that Josephine is 24 years old and Lucille is 20 years of age.

I think you can see what I am reading into these words. It appears that Lucille has an man who truly cares for her in Jess. But, apparently she is having fun with Denny (who sounds like a married man) and other old friends from the area. Lucille is probably pregnant too and sounds like the "morning sickness" got to her for a few weeks. She has gone back to Chicago to visit Jess after he got burned. Jess Woodward worked at (and possible owned) a carpet company.

Also, it appears that Josephine is in the "family way" and the baby is certain to be Bill�s. Josephine is still trying to have her romantic life by keeping Arthur hanging on in Oklahoma but not living with him. She adores her Bill and apparently has not told him of the pregnancy either. So, there she is - away from her husband and not with her Bill and trying to take care of her children with another baby on the way. She is trying to convince Arthur that she would be happier living in Tulsa because it is a bigger town...when in reality; she thinks she could see Bill more often when he is working there.

So....what will Josephine decide to do...?

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!