My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

12:06 p.m. - 2007-06-21
Life List




Tuesday, June 19, 2007

"Today, I will rediscover the part of myself that never stopped dancing among the sunflowers twinkling like stars in the ocean of a cloudless sky. This is the day I stop taking life so seriously. The day I learn to let go, working at my own pace, releasing my attachment to results, and trusting entirely in the perfect rhythm of a perfect universe. No longer attached to the frantic opinions of others, I realize my life is my creation, and so I shall take the time each day to sit among the sunflowers, listening to their gentle wisdom, creating a life of love, happiness and play."

I ONLY WISH I WOULD DO THAT.....

and here is KWEEN OF THE QUEENS LATEST CHALLENGE....from Xanga.com

This is a LIFE LIST, so that's what we'll call this challenge.

You should do this as a list of things you want to accomplish, experience or do before you either no longer can, or no longer should!

Let's say that you must list 5 or more items (I don't want to hold back anyone, and I think we can all come up with at least 5!)

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

My first thought was to post the list of things to do that I made when I was planning my retirement nearly one year ago. I thought it would be interesting to see what I had listed and what I had actually accomplished.

1. Learn American Sign Language.....well, I bought the book, Sign Language for Dummies but I didn't learn the signs....yet.

2. Exercise on a regular basis....well, I renewed my membership card and I actually went to the place about 12 times but I haven't done anything since I returned from my cruise.

3. Go back on low carbohydrate lifestyle....well, I have purchased salad fixings, mushrooms, and fruit but often, I throw them out because they have spoiled before I eat them.

4. Continue writing book about my female relatives...well, I haven't continued but I did "think" about it.

5. Put all the book chapters into Word.....well....nope, still haven't done that.

6. Change the names in the book so all are consistent...well, my sisters thought it was alright if I use the real names so I still need to do that.

7. Put poetry by my relatives and pictures I have with the chapters I have written...well, nope, still haven't done that either.

8. Send the book to the publisher...well, can't do that...until I finish numbers 4 through 7.

9. Clean out the master bedroom closet.... YES! Yes! I did do that. Of course, now it is a year later and I need to do that again.

10. Clean out Master Bedroom. Yes! Yes! yes! I did do that too. but....it needs it again.

11. Clean out Master bathroom. Yes! Yes!..see above

12. Clean out my office...Yep, did that too but ....see above

13. Clean out guestroom.....Yes, been in there and did that.

14. Clean out guest closet...Yes, been in there and did that...very well, I might add.

15. Clean out guest bath....yes, been in there, did that and it needs it again.

16. Clean out kitchen cupboards. Yes, did that, needs it again, and so on and so on

17. Clean downstairs in finished basement. Yep, I have done that but it..needs...it...again.

18. Clean Livingroom. see # 10 through 17.

19. Read Anne Rice books. Nope, still haven't done that. I have been reading lots of books but never checked hers out.

20. Finish using online gift card. I did do that but now I have a Sears, a Spa card and a Barnes and Noble that I need to use up before the year is over.

21. Go to Lunch with Pat. Ok, now you're talking! I have had lunch with her a few times in the past year.

22. Go to Lunch with Chris. Yes, Yes, I did....As a matter of fact, we just had another lunch last Wednesday.

Good times, good talks and good friends.

23. Clean out livingroom side table drawers. Ok, I did that and they are still good to go.

24. Clean dining area. Yes, yeah, I did that and it is ok too.

25. Clean out magazines. Yes, I did that but I have accumulated another 3 stacks since then.

SO...MAYBE MY LIST ISN'T FILLED WITH THE MOST INTERESTING GOALS TO HAVE BUT THEY WILL DO FOR NOW.

BESIDES, 2 YEARS AGO, MY GOAL WAS TO TAKE A CRUISE AND NOW I HAVE BEEN ON 4 CRUISES AND HAVE ANOTHER ONE PLANNED FOR JANUARY, 2008!

######

When I Am an Old Woman

When I Am an Old Woman, I shall wear purple

With a red hat which doesn't go and doesn't suit me.

And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves

And satin sandals and say we've no money for butter.

I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired

And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells

And run my stick along public railings

And make up for the sobriety of my youth.

I shall go out in my slippers in the rain

And pick flowers in other people's gardens

And learn to spit.

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat

And eat three pounds of sausages at a go

Or only bread and a pickle for a week

And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry

And pay our rent and not swear in the street

And set a good example for the children.

We will have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?

So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised

When suddenly I am old and start to wear purple.

By Jenny Joseph, Trenton NJ



analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!