My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

4:20 p.m. - 2007-02-28
disillustionment again
Wednesday, February 28, 2007

Currently Listening
Take This Job & Shove It
By Johnny Paycheck
see related

Last Friday we had a 2002 Chev. Avalanche.... in a dark blue color and we traded it in for a 2007 Chev. Avalanche in Gold Mist Metallic....it has dark accents and reminds me of a buckskin horse in color.

This past Monday, I went to our insurance agent (who was my former employer before I retired last July) to change the information on the old truck to the new one. The agency has recently moved into a brand new building.

The exterior and interior of the business agency have changed immensely and the place is beautiful.

BUT.....the internal toxic back-stabbing atmosphere within the employee community inside is even worse than before I left. I was shocked! I really thought the agency owner and his management staff was finally going to get it together and make the employees who work hard and have such loyalty, feel appreciated. Instead, the ones who screw up and take advantage continue to rule the "kingdom". The few who do their jobs and really try to be productive and customer service oriented are being slapped in the face and kicked in the guts on a regular basis. The demands he makes on their time to do unneeded and timewasting chores is foolish.He treats them like they have no experience and at least three of them have worked in insurance for over 20 years.

I talked to those few employees and even had lunch with one of them yesterday. I am so disgusted. I feel like I still work there as I see how they are treated and I can't do anything about it.

I used to talk to the owner about the problems and he even asked me for my honest input. But he never follows through. He is too busy and has no patience for the internal workings.
He thinks if he yells and verbally abuses his employees but give them a token "I'm sorry" every few months or so - that it is ok.

The person he has in charge of handling the employees doesn't have a good rapport with most of the employees. She gets angry and will not listen to any other opinions but her own.

The ones who screw around get away with it, for the most part. because the owner won't do anything about it. It...is...such....a....shame.

I know this isn't any of my concern but I do care about the owner and the agency, even if I don't work there anymore. The agency is still holding its own but the word has been getting out for a long time. They will be losing customers if these few good employees finally get their fill and move on. I hate to see what will happen. He has a huge new building with plenty of room for additional employees and growth but he isn't handling it.

You can't keep putting "crap" into a bag and expect it to smell sweet!!

When and if the customer service gets bad - even for me - we will definitely find another agency.

That is an easy fix for me but not for the mess that the agency is in.....

%%%%

Here's some witty insults in case you are in the mood to get after someone.

"He has all the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire." -- Winston Churchill

"I have never killed a man, but I have read many obituaries with great pleasure." -- Clarence Darrow

"He has never been known to use a word that might send a reader to the dictionary." -- William Faulkner (about Ernest Hemingway)

"I've had a perfectly wonderful evening. But this wasn't it." -- Groucho Marx

"I didn't attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it." -- Mark Twain

"He has no enemies, but is intensely disliked by his friends." -- Oscar Wilde

"I am enclosing two tickets to the first night of my new play, bring a friend... if you have one." --
George Bernard Shaw to Winston Churchill...followed by Churchill's response:
..."Cannot possibly attend first night, will attend second, if there is one." -- Winston Churchill

"I feel so miserable without you, it's almost like having you here." -- Stephen Bishop

"He is a self-made man and worships his creator." -- John Bright

"I've just learned about his illness. Let's hope it's nothing trivial." -- Irvin S. Cobb

"He is not only dull himself, he is the cause of dullness in others." -- Samuel Johnson

"He is simply a shiver looking for a spine to run up." -- Paul Keating

"He had delusions of adequacy." -- Walter Kerr

"Why do you sit there looking like an envelope without any address on it?" -- Mark Twain

"His mother should have thrown him away and kept the stork." -- Mae West

"Some cause happiness wherever they go; others, whenever they go." -- Oscar WildeW

***************

At The Truckstop

A trucker came into a truck stop cafe and placed his order He said, "I want three flat tires, a pair of headlights and a pair of running boards."

The brand new blonde waitress, not wanting to appear stupid, went to the kitchen and said to the cook, "This guy out there just ordered three flat tires, a pair of headlights and a pair of running boards. What does he think this place is .. an auto parts store?"

"No," the cook said. "Three flat tires mean three pancakes, a pair of headlights is two eggs sunny side up, and running boards are 2 slices of crisp bacon."

"Oh, OK!" said the blonde. She thought about it for a moment and then spooned up a bowl of beans and gave it to the customer.

The trucker asked, "What are the beans for, Blondie?"

She replied, "I thought while you were waiting for the flat tires, headlights and running boards, you might as well gas up!"


For once, the blonde gets even! Hehehe!


^^^^^^^^^
Humorous sayings

1. When I die, I want to die like my grandfather--who died Peacefully in his sleep. Not screaming like all the Passengers in his car."
--Author Unknown


2) Advice for the day: If you have a lot of tension and you Get a headache, do what it says on the aspirin bottle: "Take two aspirin" and "Keep away from children."
--Author Unknown


3) "Oh, you hate your job? Why didn't you say so? There's a support group for that. It's called EVERYBODY, and they meet at the bar."
--Drew Carey


4) "The problem with the designated driver program, it's Not a desirable job, but if you ever get sucked into Doing it, have fun with it. At the end of the night, Drop them off at the wrong house."
--Jeff Foxworthy


5) "If a woman has to choose between catching a fly ball And saving an infant's life, she will choose to save the Infant's' life without even considering if there is a man on base."
--Dave Barry

6) "Relationships are hard. It's like a full time job, and We should treat it like one. If your boyfriend or girlfriend Wants to leave you, they should give you two weeks' notice.
There should be severance pay, the day before they leave You, they should have to find you a temp."
--Bob Ettinger


7) "My Mom said she learned how to swim when someone took Her out in the lake and threw her off the boat. I said, 'Mom, they weren't trying to teach you how to swim.'"
--Paula Poundstone

8) "A study in the Washington Post says that women have Better verbal skills than men I just want to say to the Authors of that study: "Duh."
--Conan O'Brien

9) "Why does Sea World have a seafood restaurant?? I'm Halfway through my fish burger and I realize, Oh my God.... I could be eating a slow learner."
--Lynda Montgomery


10) "I think that's how Chicago got started. Bunch of People in New York said, 'Gee, I'm enjoying the crime And the poverty, but it just isn't cold enough. Let's go west.'"
--Richard Jeni


11) "If life were fair, Elvis would be alive and all the Impersonators would be dead."
--Johnny Carson

12) "My parents didn't want to move to Florida, But they turned sixty and that's the law."
--Jerry Seinfeld


13) "Remember in elementary school, you were told that in Case of fire you have to line up quietly in a single file line From smallest to tallest. What is the logic in that?
What, do tall people burn slower?"
--Warren Hutcherson


14) "Bigamy is having one wife/husband too many. Monogamy is the same."
--Oscar Wilde


15) "Suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a Member of Congress.. But I repeat myself."
--Mark Twain

16) "Our bombs are smarter than the average high school student.
At least they can find Afghanistan."
--A. Whitney Brown


17) "You can say any foolish thing to a dog, And the dog will give you a look that says, 'My God, you're right! I never would've thought of that!'"
--Dave Barry


18) Do you know why they call it "PMS"?
Because "Mad Cow Disease" was taken.
--Unknown, presumed deceased


19) "Everybody's got to believe in something. I believe I'll have another beer." - W. C. Fields

20) "And again: Why in Hell should I have to Press 1 for English
**********

An 80-year-old man went to his doctor for his quarterly check-up.
> The doctor asked him how he was feeling. He responds, "Things are great and I've never felt better. I have a 20 year-old bride who is pregnant with my child. So what do you think about that?"
> The doctor responds, "I have an older friend, much like you, who is an Avid hunter. One day when he was in a bit of a hurry he picked up his walking cane instead of his gun. As he neared a lake he came across a very large male beaver sitting at the water's edge. He realized he'd left his gun at home but out of habit he raised his cane, aimed it at the animal and went 'bang, bang'.
> Miraculously, two shots rang out and the beaver fell over dead.
> Now, what do you think of that?" asked the doctor.
> The 80-year-old said, "If you ask me, I'd say somebody else pumped a Couple of rounds into that beaver."
> "My point exactly," replied the doctor

@@@@@@@@@@

My wish and hope for you is that you do work in a place where you feel valued and appreciated. I hope your job is fulfilling and that you enjoy going to work. If you don't, take my advice.....LEAVE!

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!