My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:04 p.m. - 2007-01-21
blogettes...
Sunday, January 21, 2007

RUMOR HAS IT that I might,...just might.... be recovering from this sinus infection.

It hasn't been confirmed or documented yet but the facts are adding up....Yes, it might be a reality.

and thank you to modern medicine!!

I have 7 more magic pills to take and then....I can go on with my life.

OK, I have a few "blogettes" to share with you....

When we were on our 5 night cruise to Mexico over Thanksgiving, I attended an on-board ship Art Show and made a purchase.

It finally arrived yesterday and it is....BETTY BOOP in her kitchen.
The kitchen area is bright yellow with red accents...and the frame is black lacquer. It is hanging in our hallway between the guest bathroom and the kitchen. I don't have enough wall space to put it in the kitchen itself.

The next blogette I wanted to mention is that my sister M who lives in Texas and had the blood clots in December....had more back luck recently. About three weeks ago, her dog, Obie, who was about 14 yrs old got very sick. She took him to the vet hospital and he was diagnosed with developing catarats and possible pancreatic problems. She had him in acute care but he passed away the following Sunday.

The same day, she took a puppy, belonging to my other sister, for a walk. The puppy brought home an old steak bone found along the way. My sister was walking through the livingroom, stepped on the bone, lost her balance and fell onto her right wrist, severely spraining the wrist. She had a trip to the hospital, due to her Coumiden, to make sure the wrist wasn't broken and so on. THEN, this past Wednesday, school was out due to icy weather in her area. She went outside to get the newspaper and decided it was safer to walk on the grass because her drive way is on an incline. She slipped on the grass and fell onto her right ankle and heard the bone break. Another trip to the hospital. That makes three trips to the hospital in 2 months....plus paying for her dog's hospital care.
PLEASE SAY A LITTLE PRAYER FOR M - SO SHE CAN GET BACK HER GOOD LUCK. I suggested she sage her house for evil spirits and I hope she has done so. Thank you.

New subject and blogette.....A new Wal-Mart opened on the West side of our area. The one that is closest to us has been here a few years and it could use some improvements. We decided to check out the new store and were very impressed. The aisles are wider and of course, the store is sooooo clean. We found some things we were looking for. I wanted some flower planters for this Spring to put on our porch. We got two for $8 + each. They are the heavy poly-plastic with drain areas which will still hold the water. Hopefully, they will turn out to be just what we want.

We also made an impulse purchase. We found a refrigerated and/or heated container which can run off the car battery to carry food and/or soda. It has a divided interior so you can stack up pop cans or put in several food containers. It has outside pockets for other storage and it has a handle and wheels so you can pull it along. It was under $50 and we decided that it would save us plenty of money because we won't have to buy bags of ice on trips, we won't have the mess of the water spills and it will fit nicely into our truck and we can easily take it into our motel room at night.

So, here is the kicker.

As we went to check-out, we went to the self-checkout service. We ran the items through the code scanner. It said for the cooler to have an associate come over. We pushed the proper selections for the associate. She came over, we explained we had scanned this item and what the message said. She put in her numbers and did her thing and said we were good to go. We ran our credit card through the machine and went to our truck. We had not bagged our items because they were so bulky but no one stopped us to check our receipt against our cart full of items. We got into our truck and started talking. All of a sudden, we realized the amount we saw on the credit card receipt/store receipt didn't seem right. We checked the receipt and we saw the refrigerated item scanned on the receipt. We saw the associate had put in her codes but the total amount still didn't seem right. When we got home, we realized we were not charged for the refrigerated cooler. We are trying to contact the store or Wal-Mart to see what to do. We can't take the item back because the receipt shows it on there....we just can't find any price for it. We thought, maybe, the credit card entry will show the purchase price when it runs through our credit card company. So I guess we will wait to see what amount goes through our credit card.

Another blogette theme. I did go to Dream Dinners on Friday night with my son. We put together 8 different meals with 6 servings for about $5 each. While it sounds a bit pricey... when you think of all the ingredients that are used and that you have to purchase...just for one meal, I think it comes out very fairly priced. The franchise in our area is such a nice one. We even got a beautiful 2007 calendar (each of us) because we attended a January session. I don't go very often but so far, I have been extremely pleased with the quality, the customer service and the cleanliness of the store. They could have charged me more because I cancelled at the last minute but they didn't....So, here is my plug for Dream Dinners.....Check your area for a store and try it out. New customers get special treatment. Also, you can purchase meals with 3 servings and divide them if you don't need that much at a time.

Artistic blogette. we don't go out to movies and therefore, we don't see the current movies very quickly.
Yesterday we watched a couple of old movies.....
EIGHT BELOW which is about the dog team that was left during the winter to survive on their own. This is a Disney picture...therefore, the scenery is awesome and the dogs were so beautiful. I dare anyone to watch this movie and not have a tear running down your cheek at least once. Not to mention a smile or two. This was a wonderful movie based on fact and one that your children could watch with you. I highly recommend it.

The second movie was TAKING LIVES with Angeline Jolie.
She is a very special and hardworking FBI agent who becomes involved in a serial killer case set in Canada. There are twists and turns through out this entire move and even when you think you know what is going on....you don't. I saw this movie a couple of years ago and we re-watched it again last night. It was just as riveting the second time around. There is a lot of blood and guts but the storyline far exceeds any discomfort with the gore.

And for my final blogette. Thanks to PrincessFiveandDime.. @Xanga.com I went to the Goodwill in the better neighborhood in our area. Although I wasn't feeling very well, I did take the time to scope out the store. I was very impressed with the layout and how the items were catagorized for the most part. I was very impressed at how many items were still in the boxes they were purchased in....there were also items which came from stores because you could tell they had never been worn and there were large quantities of them.

While I have miles to go to reach the level of the "princess", I did buy the following.
2 - Sonoma 2x3 picture frames with flowers as the design for -$1.00 each
1 set Current Stationery notecards (unopened) with flower design for - $1.50
1 flower pot with drawing of chicken/bird in yellow & green to match my livingroom for - $1.50
Total with 10% discount - $4.77 with Indiana tax.
And....I got another discount coupon for 15% for the donations I made while I was there.
Not too shabby for a first-timer, I would say.

I will be back.....

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!