My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:41 p.m. - 2007-01-18
story of my sick life
I WROTE THIS 2 DAYS AGO AND FORGOT TO POST IT.....OK, OK. I HAVE BEEN ON PRESCRIBED MEDICATION YOU KNOW!!
***********

Tuesday, January 16, 2007

Currently Listening
Dreamgirls

What is Sinusitis?

What is Sinusitis?

Acute bacterial sinusitis is an infection of the sinus cavities caused by bacteria. It usually is preceded by a cold, allergy attack, or irritation by environmental pollutants. Unlike a cold, or allergy, bacterial sinusitis requires a physician's diagnosis and treatment with an antibiotic to cure the infection and prevent future complications.

Normally, mucus collecting in the sinuses drains into the nasal passages. When you have a cold or allergy attack, your sinuses become inflamed and are unable to drain. This can lead to congestion and infection. Diagnosis of acute sinusitis usually is based on a physical examination and a discussion of your symptoms. Your doctor also may use x-rays of your sinuses or obtain a sample of your nasal discharge to test for bacteria.

Treating Sinusitis
Bacterial sinusitis: Therapy for bacterial sinusitis should include an appropriate antibiotic. If you have three or more symptoms of sinusitis (see chart), be sure to see your doctor for diagnosis. In addition to an antibiotic, an oral or nasal spray or drop decongestant may be recommended to relieve congestion, although you should avoid prolonged use of nonprescription nasal sprays or drops. Inhaling steam or using saline nasal sprays or drops can help relieve sinus discomfort.

When to See a Doctor
Because the symptoms of sinusitis sometimes mimic those of colds and allergies, you may not realize you need to see a doctor. If you suspect you have sinusitis, review these signs and symptoms. If you suffer from three or more, you should see your doctor.


SIGN/
SYMPTOM SINUSITIS ALLERGY COLD
Facial Pressure/
Pain Yes Sometimes Sometimes
Duration of Illness Over 10-14 days Varies Under 10 days
Nasal Discharge Thick, yellow-green Clear, thin, watery Thick, whitish or thin
Fever Sometimes No Sometimes
Headache Sometimes Sometimes Sometimes
Pain in Upper Teeth Sometimes No No
Bad Breath Sometimes No No
Coughing Sometimes Sometimes Yes
Nasal Congestion Yes Sometimes Yes
Sneezing No Sometimes Yes


I have #1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10.....Guess my doctor was right!
I am on Day #2 of the medication and I can say I do feel.......a teensy weensy bit better but I had a hell of a bad night last night. I forgot that the Diet Dr Pepper Berries and Creme pop I drank had caffeine and it kept me awake most of the night.

I drink decaffeined Diet Coke all the time so any caffeine at all affects my sleep.

My nose, and teeth and body all ache terribly. But the nausea is almost gone....no...wait....

no, still there... so
I can live with the rest of the symptoms for now. I sure am sick of soup, crackers, cough drops and blowing my nose though!

OK, OK....

Let's get on another subject, shall we?

Ok, let's face it...

I got nuthin'............


OK, well, Buh Bye!!!!

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!