My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

3:23 p.m. - 2007-01-06
DeClutter
Saturday, January 06, 2007

Currently Reading
The Handmaid and the Carpenter: A Novel
By Elizabeth Berg


My husband was right! He told me that we needed to get rid of some of the clutter that has accumulated in our house. Fortunately, over our 41 plus years of marriage, we have moved many, many times. This forced us to get rid of a lot of things that seem to get attached to us.

But we have been in this house for about 4 years now and the clutter is getting ahead of us. There must be Clutter Birth Control somewhere that we could use. But in the meantime,....

DECLUTTER is the word of the day or week or month...however long it takes.

I just spent over 3 hours in the basement trying to put all the Christmas and other occasion gift wrap, bags, boxes, ribbons, bows, labels, tape and other stuff together....my husband was right....!! I am exhausted and I could still break it down better. I finally gave up and put the last two boxes away without sorting because I will open those boxes first next Christmas to start wrapping. I don't think I will have to buy anything for several years!!!

I even found three boxes of unopened Christmas cards and a huge stack of leftover ones....I had just bought 5 boxes of cards last week on sale, not to mention some rolls of gift wrap!!!

Just call me Martha Stewart because I could make a gift-wrap room without much more to add.

#####

Then, since I was down in the basement, I decided to clear out some clothes...Oh my God!!!! I am so ashamed of how many things I have. I had told DIL I would give her some of my working clothes and if she didn't want them, she could give them to Goodwill. I even found a couple of blouses from my really skinny days that my grand-daughters might want and some tops I bought on sale and some t-shirts I will never wear that they might like.

I have 2 humongous bags and a big shopping bag full of clothes....and there are more downstairs that I just can't quite give up yet....just in case I want to wear something nicer than jeans and a top....LOL

My husband even told me to stop and rest because I was so sweaty...!

Decluttering is one of my resolutions and I think I have started out well. I just need to go through ALL the closets, ALL the cupboards, ALL the dressers AND ALL the rest of the stuff and give it to Goodwill or the Women's Shelter or the Homeless Shelter...

I KNOW I WILL FEEL SO MUCH BETTER ONCE I HAVE ACCOMPLISHED THIS GOAL!!!

"Being clear of clutter is one of the greatest aids I know to discovering and manifesting the life you want."

"Many people hold on to things and also hold their emotions in check. Holding on is a particular vibration that shuts down the flow of energy."

There is a wonderful, art-filled Decluttering Diary you can read on on-line....

http://www.aisling.net/gallery/journals/declutter03/declutter03.htm

Or....try this out.. Flylady.com. It is a daily e-mail and on line program that WILL get you motivated and show you how easy it is to be organized.....the best part is that it doesn't really take that long at all....and it doesn't cost you a cent!

Soon you will be filled with peace and tranquility....and you will have room for more stuff.

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!