My 5 Cents - Just ask me!
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2:49 p.m. - 2007-01-01
First day of the New Year
Sunday, December 31, 2006

In keeping with my last blog, Here's another way to celebrate the New Year. Roses, the ocean and a bikini.....if only I could!

New Year's Eve rituals on Copa beach! In honor of Lemanja, the Goddess of Sea !
At the New Year�s Eve celebration at Copacabana people participate in an African ritual ceremony to honor deity Lemanja, the Goddess of Sea. Boats of varied sizes are prepared with the images of deity Lemanja, which are later put in the sea. Everyone comes with white flowers, which are thrown into the sea as an offering to the Goddess Lemanja . The deity Lemanja is also offered numerous gifts on the New Year�s eve.

People arrange their gifts on the beach sand along with candles. The gifts consist of a variety of items ranging from cosmetics, food items to Champagne. People then proceed to the priestess Mae de Santo for blessings. After the blessings people find a new vigor in themselves to start the New Year afresh.

New Years Colours on Copacabana ! White for luck, green for money and blue for peace !

Colors play a very significant role in the New Year�s Eve celebration at Copacabana beach.

People believe the white is the color of good luck so everyone comes in white dress for the party. This helps them to start the New Year afresh. In addition to white, people are also adorn themselves in red accessories as a symbol of romance. The colors yellow and gold bring prosperity while green brings good health. Black is considered a bad omen in such festivities and finds no place amongst the vivid colors of this celebration.

I have some great links for you to check out....the first one is awesome...

This is something else to see. Can't understand the intro because I don't do French!
It is amazing what this guy does. Takes about 8 minutes to run , quite interesting.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xf9oo_jerome-murat>

then for even MORE fun., try these...

http://www.toilette-humor.com/christmas/elves/farting_elves/farting_elves.shtml

http://www.toilette-humor.com/monkey.html........ think about this one if you are drinking over the holidays!

http://www.toilette-humor.com/NewMouse.html

http://www.toilette-humor.com/computers/computer_software.html

and now for a few more funnies...

HERE IS THE NEW ALPHABET FOR THOSE OF US WHO HAVE CELEBRATED FOR A FEW YEARS......

A is for apple, and B is for boat,
That used to be right, but now it won't float!
Age before beauty is what we once said,
But let's be a bit more realistic instead.

Now...
The Alphabet

A's for arthritis;
B's the bad back,
C's the chest pains,
perhaps car-d-iac?

D is for dental decay and decline,
E is for eyesight, can't read that top line!
F is for fissures and fluid retention,
G is for gas which I'd rather not mention.

H is high blood pressure--I'd rather it low;
I is for incisions with scars you can show.
J is for joints, out of socket, won't mend,
K is for knees that crack when they bend.

L is for libido, what happened to sex?
M is for memory, I forget what comes next.
N is neuralgia, in nerves way down low;
O is for osteo, the bones that don't grow!

P is for prescriptions, I have quite a few,
just give me a pill and I'll be good as new!
Q is for queasy, is it fatal or flu?
R is for reflux, one meal turns to two.

S is for sleepless nights, counting my fears,
T is for Tinnitus; there's bells in my ears!
U is for urinary; big troubles with flow;
V is for vertigo, that's "dizzy," you know.

W is for worry, NOW what's going 'round?
X is for X ray, and what might be found.
Y is another year I'm left here behind,
Z is for zest that I still have-- in my mind.

I've survived all the symptoms, my body's deployed,
And I am keeping twenty-six doctors fully employed!!!

#######
Subject: Fwd: Edna And Her Radio

Just when you have lost faith in human kindness, someone who teaches at middle school in Safety Harbor, Florida, forwarded the following letter. The letter was sent to the principal's office after the school had sponsored a luncheon for the elderly. An old lady received a new radio at the lunch as a door prize and was writing to say thank you.
This story is a credit to all humankind. Forward to anyone you know who might need a lift today.

Dear Safety Harbor Middle School:

God bless you for the beautiful radio I won at your recent senior Citizens luncheon. I am 84 years old and live at the Safety Harbor Assisted Home for the Aged. All of my family has passed away. I am all alone now and it's nice to know that someone is thinking of me.
God bless you for your kindness to an old forgotten lady. My roommate is 95 and has always had her own radio, but before I received one, she would never let me listen to hers, even when she was napping.
The other day her radio fell off the nightstand and broke into a lot of pieces. It was awful and she was in tears. She asked if she could listen to mine,

and I told her to kiss my ass. Thank you for that opportunity.

Sincerely, Edna

####

Kitty Litter Cake Recipe

This is a Real Cake and Frosting Recipe
It is completely edible but your friends and family may not think so.

CAKE INGREDIENTS:

1 box spice or German Chocolate cake mix
1 box of white cake mix
1 package white sandwich cookies
1 large package vanilla instant pudding mix
A few drops green food coloring
12 small Tootsie Rolls or equivalent

SERVING "DISHES AND UTENSILS"

1 NEW cat-litter box
1 NEW cat-litter box liner
1 NEW cat pooper scooper

***
1) Prepare and bake cake mixes, according to directions, in any size pan. Prepare pudding and chill. Crumble cookies in small batches in blender or food processor. Add a few drops of green food coloring to 1 cup of cookie crumbs. Mix with a fork or shake in a jar. Set aside.

2) When cakes are at room temperature, crumble them into a large bowl. Toss with half of the remaining cookie crumbs and enough pudding to make the mixture moist but not soggy. Place liner in litter box and pour in mixture.

3) Unwrap 3 Tootsie Rolls and heat in a microwave until soft and pliable. Shape the blunt ends into slightly curved point "s". Repeat with three more rolls. Bury the rolls decoratively in the cake mixture. Sprinkle remaining white cookie crumbs over the mixture, then scatter green crumbs lightly over top.

4) Heat 5 more Tootsie Rolls until almost melted. Scrape them on top of the cake and sprinkle with crumbs from the litter box. Heat the remaining Tootsie Roll until pliable and hang it over the edge of the box. Place box on a sheet of newspaper and serve with scooper. Enjoy!

YES, I KNOW IT LOOKS DISGUSTING BUT IT REALLY TASTES GREAT!!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

analysis - new appointment

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!